We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital City Gastropub

Capital City Gastropub
261 New Scotland Ave, Albany, NY 12208
(518) 459-5077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 609 Restaurants in Albany
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Albany, New York, United States
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been here several times and always love the food. The menu is always changing but I'd recommend the fries and fish tacos, but the specials are always good. Great beer menu too. The prices are reasonable and friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
albany, ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, Hip and really great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Places like Capital City Gastropub don't exist in the Albany area, it's the kind of place I expect to find in much larger metropolitan area (boston, new york, montreal). The staff is very good, laid back, knowledgeable and personable. What I like about this place is the combination of really good cooking with an unique brew house beer selection on tap which are rotated frequently. The fries with foie gras and gravy are awesome!! This is the kind of place that is anti "hi-brow" - attire is dressy casual, but you could walk in there with a suit or with a jeans and tshirt and not feel out of place. The menu is interesting and unique without being "out there". I have every intention of being a regular at this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I tried this place for the first time Friday night. We went early, 5:00 or so, and it was empty. I was initially concerned but by the time we left a couple hours later it was packed with a wait. We waited to try this place so they could work out the kinks and I could give them a fair shake. The menu is great, they have a great variety of dishes and options. It wasn't too big and it wasn't too small. I would say it was just right. We each had two flights of beers, a choice of 4 5oz pours for $9. The beer menu was very well rounded and had some real winners. it was dominated by local, northeast, beers. Fine by me. We started with an order of three cheeses. The Ouray, Hudson Red, and Eclipse. All were excellent. Then we had an order of the turnips and almonds, it was very different and very delicious. We also had to try the pickled fresh farm eggs. I will get these every time I go there. We decided to share a meat pizza to top off the night. They offer a meat pizza and a vegetable pizza, who needs more choice than that? Every bite of every dish was great. I have no complaints. The service slowed a little as they filled up but I didn't mind because the staff was very friendly and the food was fantastic. If you want good beer and a selection of interesting menu items go here. I will be back to try more and hit the wine list which looked great. In all we had 3 appetizers, 2 flights of beer, 2 pints of beer, and 1 large meat pizza. The bill for all of that was $98, totally fair and worth every penny. I will be back soon. Glad to have another interesting new restaurant to add to the rotation in my neighborhood. Well done Gastropub, well done.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, New York
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Ok if you like a casual place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We took our daughter and her family there this weekend. The food was average, the service good, and the atmosphere predictable for a pub.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Went out to dinner on a hot Friday night. So many choices on the menu - decided upon fish tacos and a hamburger with fries. The fish tacos were out of this world yummy. The homemade red cabbage on the tacos was delicious. Hamburger was perfectly cooked with grilled onions and cheese.

Tried a dry reisling from Australia, very crisp and dry. Good service, lovely evening ..this is a do again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital City Gastropub also viewed

 

Been to Capital City Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital City Gastropub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.