We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CrestHill Suites Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added CrestHill Suites Albany to your Saves list
CrestHill Suites Albany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great room for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I chose CrestHill Suites online, and was very happy with the room when I arrived--kitchenette, living room area, bedroom and bathroom were spacious and clean. My only gripe was that the room was very cold, possibly because I was at the end of the first floor hallway farthest from the "core" of the hotel. But I turned the heater up and the room became comfortable fast.

It's hard to beat the price (including tax, my room was around $93). I've been in really scary hotel rooms which cost $40+ more than what I paid here.

The hotel does suffer from two very common problems: no handy electrical outlet by the bed (to charge phone), and bright lights outside which make the bedroom hard to darken enough for great sleep. I may follow one traveler's recommendation and start packing alligator clips to hold hotel room curtains together tightly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresthill, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Albany, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are glad to hear your comments and even suggestions for improvements so we can best suit our guests needs. There are outlets on both sides of the bed behind the end tables however I do know they can be tricky to reach! We hope you return to our hotel the next time your travels bring you to Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    104
    35
    22
    26
See reviews for
107
66
14
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwood, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on December 20 after dropping my young adult kids at the airport. I have become a picky traveler as I grow older. Little things can gross me out. I read many reviews for this hotel, and some were so bad I almost turned away. A few complaints regarded smoking. I do not smoke, and could not tolerate getting stuck near a smoking area. I called ahead, and was promised I would be placed far away; that promise was kept. I arrived to find a smart lay out, and everything was perfect. The little kitchen, attached to a neat little living room, all clean and welcoming. Attached was a bedroom, with a door, and inside, a bathroom and closet. Two televisions, wifi, two heat zones. Honestly, a cute little apartment. All for $96.00, which had actually scared me, seemed to good to be true.Two things I hated- the lumpy blanket- it was like a comforter that had been washed and the filling did not redistribute, which I solved by requesting an extra blanket from housekeeping ( got it fast)and a small stain on the couch (so I sat on the other end), which a quick scrubbing could have taken care of. These were tiny problems though. The bathroom and kitchen and bedding were spotless. The bed was very comfortable, and water pressure in the shower was fantastic. I had tentatively reserved a 2 bedroom to stay in with my kids when I got them back on the 30 th. ( I figured if I hated it, I would cancel). We are definitely staying there. Finally...I did not eat the offered continental breakfast, or the surprise offering of a lite fare dinner, with beer and wine ( no extra charge) because I wanted to check out the area. I got lost, of course. The front desk clerk talked me through the directions, and was very kind. I would recommend this place to a friend. Make sure you book it through the hotel itself, and the smoking issues won't effect you.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresthill, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Albany, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review and I am so happy you felt at home at our hotel. We consider each guest family and would be glad to welcome you home again the next time your travels bring you to Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was my second time staying at CrestHill Suites. This hotel is an exceptional value. Front desk staff was very friendly. Compared to other chain hotels, the breakfast offered was above par. Always something hot...pancakes...waffles, eggs/bacon etc. During the week they offer evening options too. Room was clean, very spacious and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable too. I highly recommend staying at this hotel...can't beat the value!

Room Tip: Have stayed in both second and third floor rooms, both were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Many times, something takes place that strikes a nerve in you, that something must be done about it. This is one of those times. In fact, I have never been down this road before.
I need to tell you about a property called Cresthill Suites, in Albany, NY. It is located across from SUNY- Albany on Washington Avenue. I have had the pleasure of spending an extended amount of time at this hotel, during a training program I was attending. One of the main reasons a person chooses a hotel is cleanliness. Upon arriving I noticed a kept parking lot and a cozy, welcoming entrance. The main lobby and dining area were neat and orderly, as patrons moved about. My suite was quite comfortable, well-stocked and very clean. The most impressive thing was the staff. Everyone was warm and accommodating, especially Galla. She drives the hotel shuttle and maintains the lobby. But more than that, she makes her guests feel right at home. I have stayed at hotels in the past and have never received the level of personal service Galla provided. Cresthill Suites is an excellent choice for price, comfort and exceptional service. You should consider this hotel, if you ever visit Albany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresthill, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Albany, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and I am glad to hear that Galla and the rest of the staff are taking good care of you. We are happy you felt right at home here at Cresthill and hope to see you again should your travels ever bring you back to Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a revolving door hotel to the tenth degree. Still have smoking rooms and floor - really??? Lobby seemed warm and inviting, with free food and coffee, however once I got to my room smelled heavy cigarette smoke from hallway and previous guest. Asked to change rooms since I don’t smoke and was told - sorry sold out - have to stay. There is wear and tear everywhere - carpet, walls, floors, bathroom, towels, furniture, closets, iron, too many to list. Left all my clothes in the bag as the smell permeated everything. Hotwire hotel booking.
I sucked it up and stayed the night, however opened all windows so i could breath (was Mid October and nighttime temp hit 47 degrees- tells you how desperate I was for clean air).
Will never stay again – find nicer, cleaner and newer hotel- avoid hotwire if you need to.

Room Tip: Non Smoking floor or rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresthill, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Albany, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am truly sorry you were disappointed with your accommodations. We try to honor all of our requests for non-smoking or smoking no matter where they book their reservation however sometimes it is not possible. We are also in the process of renovating our rooms. We have put brand new beds and bed coverings, new chairs at the breakfast bar, new bathroom floors and cabinet tops as well as flat screen tvs. We are awaiting even more new items like couches,new living room chairs, new carpet and new kitchen floors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed on this property over the last year and a half. It is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, it is well located and price comparable to its neighbors. I would only give it a couple of recommended improvements if they wish.
1) Water pressure- like many hotels with large numbers of rooms this was weaker than my shower at home but acceptable
2) The breakfast is a bit chinsy but in line with what I have found at other hotels in this range

Room Tip: avoid the rooms facing the NY thruway if possibe, the traffic noice can be a bit loud during the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresthill, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Albany, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay. We are so glad you returned to our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. Also thank you for your suggestions and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Bathroom had mole. Dirty towels. Pretzels left behind by previous costumers in room. No fixed rates, surprised taxes of over $30 beside rate of room. They charged my card when checked in although I chose to pay cash. Now I have to wait for my money to be placed back on card. Horrible hotel, ill never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresthill, General Manager at CrestHill Suites Albany, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We did inspect the room and found no sign of the mold that you suggested so if you could call me direct I would like to speak with you so I can be sure I have the right room. Also all of our guests must present a credit card upon check in and that credit card is authorized for the amount of your stay plus incidentals. If you pay cash upon checkout the authorization is released back to your credit card and this can take several days to occur depending on the bank. I am sure by now that has been released. If not please call me and I will see what I can do to speed up the process. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CrestHill Suites Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CrestHill Suites Albany

Address: 1415 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CrestHill Suites Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CrestHill Suites Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cresthill Suites Albany Hotel Albany
Cresthill Hotel Albany
Albany Cresthill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CrestHill Suites Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.