We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but improvement needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CrestHill Suites Albany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added CrestHill Suites Albany to your Saves list
CrestHill Suites Albany
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1415 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Albany
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good, but improvement needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked this hotel through a third party, and when we arrived, there was no record of our booking. The clerk on the desk did not inspire confidence. His appearance was unacceptable for anyone in a customer facing role - filthy shirt, stained tie and trousers (the next morning, he was wearing the same outfit - completely off-putting). Although we understood that our contract was with the third party, the reaction to the issue in hand was confusion and a lot of dithering. We had travelled all the way from the UK with my elderly parents, and were left standing in reception for around 30 minutes while the desk clerk tried to work out what to do. In the end, we were put in a two bedroom suite, rather than the two one bedrooms that we had booked.

First impressions aside, this place was great. The room was homely and well equipped, as well as clean. The air-con in the room was a bit noisy, but nothing to complain about.

The wine and food downstairs was a really nice touch, and for the price, a real bonus.

We enjoyed our short stay at Cresthill, but would re-iterate that front of house staff are the ambassadors for any company or business, and in this respect, Cresthill have a lot of work to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    104
    35
    22
    26
See reviews for
107
66
14
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We just pent one night as a stop over, but The Cresthill is a warm, cozy place with courteous staff. The rooms were very accomodating, extremely comfortable beds/pillows. Room could easily be lived in short term. In fact the true acid test... we ran into a young family of four who had been there for two weeks. They are relocating to the area waiting for their house closing. They loved it as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Firstly, I'd like to explain the purpose of our stay in Albany - cross-border shopping. We wanted to be closer to the 2 shopping centers - which this hotel was great for! It was only a 5-7 minute drive to both Crossgate and Colonie Center and since we weren't looking for nightlife, we didn't mind that the hotel was only surrounded by the University.
The staff was courteous and our room was very clean and spacious. It had a full kitchenette (overn, fridge, dishwasher & microwave) - it wasn't something we needed, but definitely came in handy. There was a problem when we first arrived with the lock on our door, but they promptly fixed it, and we went about our day.
We were very satisfied!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel has very well appointed and spacious rooms with a small kitchenette. It also has a very well maintained swimming pool. Complimentary Breakfast buffet is tasty and offers good choices. I would strongly recommend for a business stay though I saw many families also staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I would like you to know that my stay at Cresthill Suites august 9th through the 12th was the best stay I've ever had at any hotel(i travel a lot!).
The room service was excellent (room was very clean and fully functional) and the customer service at the front desk was very informative and helpful! I believe the man, Dominic, was his name? Well he was so kind! He went the extra mile for my sweetheart and I. He told us what places were open late ( we didn't check in until almost 11pm and were starved!) and contact information for ordering! He was a breath of fresh air! I hope you never lose him that man deserves a raise big time! You just don't find people like that anymore. Generally speaking, I've had grumpy attendants, teenagers on their cell phones (adults too!), or someone who just doesn't want to be bothered to go the extra distance to help you in a town you have no knowledge of!
I'm a very avid traveler so I know good service when I see it! This guy is the real deal that more people should strive to be like!

Room Tip: When choosing a good room, I always review the comments. I don't want to get stuck somewhere I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had to stay in a motel one night due to work being done in our house.
After reading about bedbugs in some hotels in the area, our first priority was a hotel free of bedbugs and clean. We went on the bedbug registry, and noticed quite a few motels/hotels, some even upscale, had bedbugs reported. CrestHill Suites had no reports of bedbugs and most of the reviews liked the cleanliness of the hotel.
We shopped around and got a very good deal at CrestHill Suites, about $50 less than other equivalent rated hotels.
We had a nice size suite with a full kitchen. It was very clean. Nice size bathroom with a very good shower. They had a free buffet dinner, ziti and salad and a free continental breakfast. Both were not very good, but it was a nice convenience. The staff was very friendly.
Although not walkable to markets and restaurants, except for a Dunkin Doughnuts, it is a very convenient location with easy access to major highways and only about a 5 minute drive to restaurants and shops.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Dominic at the front desk is a very carasmatic guy. He has been nothing short of amazing on helping us with dinning locations as well as guidence for downtown Albany. The rest of the staff is very helpful and extremely nice. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. We had a three night stay and were very well rested every morning for our work day. All in all if you are going to go to Albany for one night or an extended stay this is the place to go. Dont forget to tell Dominic we say hi. -Joel and Logan Daytona Beach FL

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CrestHill Suites Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CrestHill Suites Albany

Address: 1415 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CrestHill Suites Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CrestHill Suites Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cresthill Suites Albany Hotel Albany
Cresthill Hotel Albany
Albany Cresthill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CrestHill Suites Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.