We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art in the middle of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albany Institute of History & Art

Albany Institute of History & Art
125 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12210
518-463-4478
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 28 Attractions in Albany
Type: History Museums, Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step inside one of the oldest museums in North America for a glimpse of what life was like in old Albany and the Upper Hudson Valley through an amazing collection of furniture, clothing, paintings, silver and photographs, all celebrating the importance of this region in American history.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Art in the middle of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This local museum has a good selection of art (especially Hudson River School) and displays of local historical interest.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waverly, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A potluck of historical displays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We visited the museum to see work of Hudson River Valley artists and was pleased with the 20 or so paintings of that region. There were other examples of fine art as well but other exhibits were unremarkable. However, I think children would enjoy their visit due to the wide variety of items. A visit of 90 minutes would be sufficient for most. The gift shop has a very nice assortment and we purchased several Christmas gifts there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Another wonderful Albany museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My kids and I love this museum. It's got plenty of exhibits to keep everyone happy (we especially love the mummies and the Hudson River artists), but it's not so big that you get worn out exploring. I've taken classes and Girl Scout troops and my family and it's always wonderful. This is one of the first places my children learned to appreciate art. There is an entrance fee, but it's not too steep.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Treasure in Albany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you want to get out of the heat of summer, take the kids to the Albany Institute. Whether you view the permanent or changing exhibits, this museum is a delight for the entire family. What child wouldn't enjoy a visit with two mummies?

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Easton, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“GREAT, STRANGE, AND RARELY SEEN:”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

So visit before August 26th to see this special exhibit, but if you miss this eclectic exhibit the regular galaries are also worth the visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albany Institute of History & Art also viewed

 

Been to Albany Institute of History & Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany Institute of History & Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.