We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scallops were out of this World!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Bar and Bistro On Lark

The Wine Bar and Bistro On Lark
200-202 Lark St., Albany, NY 12210
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 609 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cohoes, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Scallops were out of this World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Grilled diver scallops were out of this world! One of my favorite restaurants in the Capital District. Cozy atmosphere, great food. You also must try the braised lamb shank... excellent!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A cozy respite on a brisk, winter night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Wine Bar and Bistro is a gem. The staff is very friendly and attentive, and a neat function of their wait staff is that no single server 'owns' a table; rather everyone helps one another out. Some patrons may find this style less appealing as it may not allow for a more intimate relationship with their server, but I can attest that each staff member treated us with respect and gusto. The wine list is extensive, although not all wines are available by the glass. The food is magical. Fans of desert must try the challah bread dessert which is one of the chef's specialties. The fireplaces, exposed wood beams and cellar atmosphere coupled with fantastic food and serve make for one of Albany's coziest bars. Those coming in a group be warned! It's not a big place. Groups of 5 or more may struggle for space! It's a venue best suited for couples and small parties up to 4 patrons. All in all, highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A charming little place, warm and friendly, with excellent food. The pork cheeks served over garlic lentils and chard were wonderful as was the free range chicken main followed by the Barbarone dessert (so good!). We only had 2 nights in Albany and let so lucky to find this restaurant. The wine list was also excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exciting Experience in Unique Space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Masterful food and wine pairings. Everything is reasonably priced, and an extreme value proposition given the quality. A creative, ever changing menu with a kitchen that employs exciting cutting edge techniques means that none of my frequent visits have been alike. In my opinion the best dining in Albany, a perfect "regular" dining spot for locals and a true "find" for Albany business travelers - who should note that Lark Street is only a ten minute walk from downtown hotels. Just walk up the hill toward the Capitol. Places like this are what make our city such a wonderful place to live.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Bistro, excellent food and wine..romantic date, waitress was annoying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

5 stars for this bistro! One huge problem. I was on a romantic first date and the waitress kept coming over to our table and flirting with my date. She was cute and of course he didnt want to be rude. She was attentive but to the point where it was annoying.

In the future, you dont need to check in every 2minutes and swirl around our table making eye contact with someones date and saying is everyone ok? ....give a couple some privacy. I know you pride yourselves on excellent service. clearly she was flirting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Bar and Bistro On Lark also viewed

 

Been to The Wine Bar and Bistro On Lark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Bar and Bistro On Lark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.