We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean, rude, infested and dangerous” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Inn Albany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scottish Inn Albany to your Saves list
Scottish Inn Albany
1384 Central Ave., Albany, NY 12205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unclean, rude, infested and dangerous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Scottish Inn Albany last night.
Staff insisted that we paid more than quoted price. (Not tax) Room really smelt of vinegar for some reason. Room had been cleaned at a glance, but not with any enthusiasm. Corners had build up of dust, toe nails and hair. Bedsheets were clean, but they smelt a little of smoke. Other customers were in parking lot all night long smoking weed. The manager (I think) joined them in the morning. Did not feel safe here. Woke up with bites on my legs and arms which were not their yesterday. Same with girlfriend. No breakfast as advertised, no gym as advertised. Wifi did not work. Disgraceful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    1
    8
See reviews for
2
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was very upset after I pressed the Button on Hotwire and read the reviews of the Scottish Inn.
I called Hotwire to complain and they told me that Hotwire Guarantees a clean room within a clean environment.
Next I called the location and the manager assured me that the reviews were incorrect.
He was right.
Except for lack of promised morning coffee this was a very Acceptable 5 nite stay.
The bathroom was clean & properly cleaned daily. They even replaced the extra towel each day..
This place has been given a bad Rap.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Staying in this hotel was a nightmare. When I booked a room I asked for non smoking, but when we arrived a manager in very rude manner told us “take it or live it, we don’t have non smokers here”. There was a smell of urine coming from dirty carpet and AC unit, also half empty bottle of soda on the table from previous guest . The bathroom was a disaster, we afraid to use a shower and used a toilet after intensive cleaning. Guests next room been very loud, manager was very rude and obnoxious. Avoid this place, will not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Seems most others shared the same experiences---wish I knew beforehand. Not like pictures I have seen advertised.
Needed a place last minute for one night.
Only nice thing was linens seemed clean, although not high quality and not mended well-but didn't expect the best. TV worked ok. Noise in room upstairs most of stay-even could hear talking in shower!
Dirt on walls-massive amounts of fingerprints and brown substance(s) smudged on bathroom walls--(opted not to shower there), mold/mildew on shower curtain and tub surround. Cobwebs on all lights-difficulty communicating with man behind desk in english--he kept getting louder when I didn't understand (not helpful), repairs to walls amatuer at best-furniture old and tattered. Signs were there, but was willing to try--only couple cars in lot, buzz in for service, abandoned looking vehicle (snow covered and no tracks) around, pull behind camper in edge of lot (probably better option than room)
WORST OF ALL-woke to ants - hundreds of them - crawling all over nightstand--inches from my head!!! I quickly left---
No fridge/microwave or coffee availalbe as stated on their website--gym area and breakfast-where? not even mentioned at checkin--Not a chain I will use/recommend--so much for truth in advertising, eh?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I could not fathom the question the manager asked of me when I asked to view the quality of the room first. He asked me, "Please don't destroy the room"? Now mind you "I" have never stayed at this motel before, and I should have chosen a much better place to stay for a night. I room was atroshous to say the least. Paint peeling of the bathroom door, grime on the shower walls. This is a welfare motel, I could get a sense of criminal activity here.

Room Tip: Enough said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I basically concur with the past few reviews though I've seen worse. It was listed as a two-star but didn't even have shampoo. Tissue holder apparently had been empty since 1983. The bottom step of the stairwell leading to second floor was propped up with wood and bricks. I wish I had a camera for that one. I forget the rest of the problems. Hotwire downgraded them and gave me a future credit. That satisfied me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Dirty, smelly..do not go here. Booked through discount Hotwire "secret deal" which mentioned name brand hotels...ended up with this and they would not refund. Hotwire told us to go and check it out and if not acceptable to call them then. They did not stand up to their word. Wanted us to try another room in same place. Spider webs, cigarette butts...trash on the steps. Yuk!
I have photos, but you wouldn't want to see them!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottish Inn Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn Albany

Address: 1384 Central Ave., Albany, NY 12205
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Scottish Inn Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Inn Albany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.