We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience... some trouble with heating/cooling.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Albany SUNY

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Albany SUNY to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Albany SUNY
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1230 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #26 of 50 hotels in Albany
SE Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good experience... some trouble with heating/cooling.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

This hotel served our purposes well. We knew we were getting in late and leaving early... so we wanted something low cost, but clean and well run. I think our bill was about $70. The staff is very friendly and room was clean and up to date. They did seem to be having some trouble with the AC the night we were there... it was too cold. Our room was probably 60 degrees. We turned on the heat and it never warmed up. It was late Sept and the weather seemed to be going from hot to cold in Albany. We did see maintenance working on the problem in the morning. Hopefully it was an isolated incident.

The free continental breakfast was no frills. But it was well maintained. Good enough to us back on the road until lunch.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Low cost, cleanliness
  • Disliked — trouble with the heating, cooling
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    89
    68
    24
    16
See reviews for
75
46
44
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

Came into town looking for apartments and wanted the cheapest (yet quality) place to lay my head. The room was clean as was the rest of the property. You know, for about $70 it was no frills, but the basics were there. The continental breakfast was a great start of the next day.

The motel is right across from SUNY Albany and on the # 10 bus line which takes you right into downtown or the Crossgates Mall the other way.

Here's a tip...there is a pub/restaurant called "Across the Street" next door that has cheap beers and great wings. The other food smelled good too.

Hope this helped.

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — ???
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2007

Our room was relatively close to the road on which the hotel is located, and traffic and other outside noise resulted in some difficulty in falling and staying asleep. I presume this could be mitigated by staying in a room on the opposite end of the building, furthest from the street, assuming that one is available.

In virtually every other respect, however, this lodging perfectly suited our needs, i.e., as an economical place to sleep and grab a quick, decent breakfast. We didn't avail ourselves of, or for that matter have any need for, other amenities, and therefore appreciate not having the cost of such features built into the room rate. Our overnight stay in Albany was immediately followed by driving to Saratoga Springs, where hotel rates were vastly inflated due to it being horse racing season at the Saratoga track. Spending the previous night at the Days Inn in Albany instead of a pricey place in Saratoga Springs therefore saved us a substantial amount of money.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newburgh,new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Great Place For the money! Newly renovated rooms, the best shower i have ever had in a hotel. Great water pressure. Breakfast was good(continental). Dunkin Donuts connected to building a plus for me. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I went alone to visit my husband in Academy in Albany and felt very safe. They even supplied printed maps to the Academy. Planning to stay again next week. Convenient to restaurants and shopping.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

Based on previous reviews, we decided to try this hotel. It was the best decision we could have made. Having stayed at other hotels in Albany, this was by far the best accomodations that we had. The room was large and extremely clean. The staff was friendly and helpful; polite and happy to help. You will have nothing to complain about when you stay here. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Large, clean rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

This is an absolutely wonderful hotel. Friendly front desk staff, clean spacious room, clean bathroom, great location, great price! I honestly can't say enough good things about this place - I received better service here than in hotels that cost twice as much!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing was missing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

One of the best deals in Albany! Exceptionally clean and comfortable. Great access to SUNY Albany (across the street), Govt Offices, Downtown Albany (5 miles), Shopping (2 large Malls and several strip malls within 3 mile radius), close (under a mile) Interstate access (I-87/I-90/NY Thruway),Airport (6 miles) and eating (cheap eats, major chains and some great local fare). Wonderful place for repeat customers...friendly, upbeat staff, always attentive to guests' needs. Free continental breakfast included. I've become a regular due to business visits to Albany...it can't be beat!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff attention, fantastic location
  • Disliked — heavy curtains the only option for privacy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Albany SUNY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Albany SUNY

Address: 1230 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Albany SUNY 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Days Inn Albany SUNY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Albany Guilderland Hotel Albany
Albany Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Albany SUNY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.