We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only one could pick their room neighboors...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Albany Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points!
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“If only one could pick their room neighboors...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

As stated in some previous reviews, the hotel is very clean and modern, with spacious rooms and friendly staff.

The main downside of course is sound insulation, however not from the airport nearby, of which we heard not a single plane, but from the other rooms. Both nights we spent there we were awakened by the room next door for various reasons. The walls are so badly insulated that it was like having our neighboors in our bed with us all night! Next time we would request a corner room so as to minimize the chance of having noisy neighboors. The other downer was the pool/spa area. Although a fair size, clean and well situated, they lacked changing rooms, which is a problem if one expects to be able to chnage into dry clothes before walking back to their room.

Now onto the positives. Breakfast is very good, varied and very reasonably priced. The grounds are well kept and offer many nice easting areas both indoors and out. Check-in was a breeze, especially for Hilton Honors members as we had a separate check-in counter. The room was vast, with a king bed, big desk and lounge chair and the bathroom stocked with Neutrogena products. The Business center is small, with only two computers but fills its purpose well.

Overall our stay was great and allowed us to relax after a long day of shopping at the Woodbury Commons Outlets, have a nice dinner at the very popular Olive garden nearby on our last night and really make the most of our weekend getaway. Also the $79 promotional price we booked directly on the hotel website made it a great deal!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    153
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
125
93
35
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Front desk person wasn't one for friendly greetings but check in was fast.
The room really looked nice which shows all the upgrades they've done. Very tastefully decorated. We had a King bed and a couch--very nice!
Here's where they could have thought about when they did the upgrades--insulation. We could hear all the noise next door. We tried to ignore it at first but by midnight,we had no choice but to call front desk and complain about it. Thankfully, they acted on it and the noise next door quieted down.
I expected noise from the airport but that wasn't a factor at all.
It was also a nice location, surrounded by trees and all that greenery. We noticed there was a golf course beside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

I really liked this hotel; it is above average for a Hilton Garden Inn in terms of rooms and hotel features, but the service has serious issues. I arrived very early--11AM when checkin is mid-afternoon. I didn't expect to get a room that early, and was pleased that they let me. Unfortunately, their housekeeping doesn't communicate with the front desk well, and I was given three different rooms before finding one that was actually ready. The room was nice, clean, large, and well appointed. Wireless internet access was fast and easy to setup. The TV was a nice 32 inch LCD, but the content was not HD and looked terrible on it.

I had the whole afternoon to relax, so I tried out the pool and hot tub; they have just finished renovating and did a great job. The lack of pool chairs is amusing--there is a nice new sign explaining it was a state law, and I overheard the hotel manager complaining about it to someone he was giving a tour to.

I'd have given the hotel top ratings if not for my post-stay experience. I accidentally left a keychain behind, and have called the hotel many times to try to arrange it to be mailed to me. Every time I call, they tell me they are busy and will have to call me back. Every time I leave my number, and never receive a call. The keychain was very important, I have been forced by security policies to change locks as a result of the loss. Even if the hotel didn't find it (I know exactly where I left it), is a simple return call too much to ask? Terrible service!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

This hotel was under renovations of their lobby but it did not affect our stay at all. Very friendly staff, clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Beds and pillows were great. Really great value. We loved the pool and it was at a really great temperature. Hot tub was excellent and it was fun to watch planes land while relaxing in the hot tub. Very convenient to great shopping and lots of restaurant choices. Eventhough we were across the street from the airport we were never disturbed with airport noise. On the morning of our departure, I left our cooler plugged in our car and it drained the battery. I went back into the hotel and asked if someone could call AAA to give us a boost and Matt , from the kitchen, was at the front desk and he immediately offered to boost us. Thank you very much Matt for going the extra mile and exceeding our expectations. It is great customer service that sets hotels a part from the competition and gives us the desire to return. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

I would recommend this hotel if you are spending the night near the airport in Albany. The rooms are comfortable as was the bed. The staff is friendly and helpful. The work out room is also nice and clean, but relatively small. There is also an indoor pool that I didn't use, but the other guests seemed to enjoy a lot. I spent one night here, so I didn't fully explore the hotel, or try the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Was visiting with some family and friends, and found it easy to sit in the lobby by the fireplace as we spent time catching up. Comfortable rooms and great beds. We ate in the restaurant and had a great experience. Definitely the right hotel if you have to fly out of Albany International Airport.


Great JOB!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Hilton Garden Inns nationwide are all the same, like McDonald's, so you know you will always get a consistent product, unlike other hotel chains like Radisson, Red Lion, Crowne Plaza. This Hilton property is near the beautiful Albany Airport. Lobby is warm, friendly, and inviting with a warm fireplace.
Every room has fridge and microwave. Snacks, sundries, toiletries, and beverages can be purchased affordably in the lobby pantry. Clean indoor pool & spa, well appointed workout area helps you forget the cold winter weather. Although breakfast is not included like Hilton's Hampton Inns chain, a full hot breakfast buffet is only $10.95.
Front desk staff were very friendly, cheerful and helpful. Complimentary hotel van service is available to a nearby mall and restaurants, don't forget to tip the drivers for their services.
I highly recommend Hilton Garden Inn properties.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport

Address: 800 Albany Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Albany
#4 Family Hotel in Albany
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the exceptional service of the redesigned Hilton Garden Inn® Albany Airport. Our first class New York hotel is surrounded by the Adirondack Mountains and is just a half mile from the Albany International Airport. We offer our valued guests complimentary airport shuttle service and onsite parking. Whether you’re here for business, a wedding or a leisurely New York getaway, you’ll appreciate our ideal Albany location near area universities and New York youth sports venues. Guests staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport Hotel also enjoy easy access to downtown Albany, the National Baseball Hall of Fame, Saratoga Race Course and Times Union Center.Our Albany airport hotel offers refreshed accommodations, warm hospitality and thoughtful amenities. The modern concept at our beautifully remodeled hotel includes private seating areas equipped with LCD TV's, an outdoor patio featuring a fire pit, a chic new restaurant with a one of a kind menu and a trendy lobby perfect for gathering with colleagues, friends and family. The Albany, New York Hilton Garden Inn creates an atmosphere perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany
Albany Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.