We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Hot Water on my room/floor at 3 a.m. before long trip” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Albany Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get up to 10%
Ranked #4 of 50 hotels in Albany
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
“No Hot Water on my room/floor at 3 a.m. before long trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The room and hotel seemed very nice until I was shocked to learn that there was no hot water available for a shower at 3 a.m. before a long flight from the Albany Airport. The hotel staff did nothing but acknowledged there was a problem and offered no compensation or stood behind their Hilton guarantee. Very disappointed, I am a Hiltons Honor member and will now stay elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-

I am sorry your last stay with us was not satisfactory. A cold shower first thing in the morning is not pleasant at all! I can assure you we do take each guest comment very seriously which is why a manager reached out to you after your stay. While I understand your frustration I do hope you'll give us another chance to exceed your expectations if you return to the area.

Sincerely-Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    100
    23
    9
    8
See reviews for
90
63
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

...Bridget and Alesia (the "twins") who work at the front desk and drive the airport shuttle. They did an exceptional job making our stay pleasant and convenient. It's employees such as these two who make a difference. The lobby and rooms are nicely furnished, the breakfast buffet is excellent and the convenient location for catching a flight are unbeatable. The HGI is an excellent choice because of its staff and amenities including nice landscaping.

Carol & Kay Cox

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-
Thank you so much for recognizing the exceptional service Alisia and Bridget provide-we're very lucky to have them. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again.
Sincerely-Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a very quick stay on points. We were in late and left on a 5:30 AM flight the next morning. It was a weekend night, and there seemed to be a big group of sports teams at the hotel (maybe hockey judging from the smell of the equipment piled in one of the function rooms I passed. There were also a couple of boys playing hockey in the hallway when I went up to the room. I didn’t make an issue of it as I didn’t hear anything from my room.

The check-in was quick, my Diamond VIP status was recognized, and the amenity was quickly switched when they became aware that my flight the next morning was before the breakfast even started. They also nicely accommodated us with two beds and a low floor at the last minute in complete contradiction to my profile preferences (son and wife had other ideas).

All-in-all a pleasant stay. I would stay here again if I still had HHonors points. I have moved all my business travel to Marriott due to the complete gutting of the HHonors program a few months ago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear you weren't disturbed during your stay and that your requests were met. Though you may have switched to another brand for your business travel, I do hope you keep us in mind should you ever return to the area.
Sincerely-Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here for a night recently.
The proximity to airport was a great blessing. The check in experience was good. They had good bed and I had a good nights rest.
The only inconvenience was had to wait two minutes for the hot water after turning on the shower.
I did not use the restaurant or other facilities so I cannot comment on them. I waould certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I'm glad you found the accommodations to be convenient and satisfactory. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely-Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

my wife and I vacation in New England regularly and we value our stop at HGI in Albany each year. We break up our trip and have ALWAYS had a great time and service at HGI Albany. We rest well, enjoy the surrounding opportunities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-
Thank you for stopping by each year on your way to New England. We're so glad you enjoy your stays enough to continue coming. We look forward to seeing you next year!
Sincerely-Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip to Vermont. The room was great and very quiet (which surprised me being next to an airport). We were greeted and taken care of immediately upon our arrival. There was a large parking lot and was well lit. Breakfast was excellent. Also had a relaxing shower. Internet worked well. The room was large and very clean. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest--
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a nice trip to Vermont. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We hope to see you again.
Sincerely--Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Flying in and out of Albany, our trip plan was to find a hotel that was convenient, nice quality and clean, near the airport (to make our arrival, departure and rental car needs efficient). Staff was extremely helpful, room was very nice, and shuttle service made for a really pleasant experience. Just as planned...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-
I'm happy to hear our hotel lived up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope to see you again.
Sincerely-Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Albany
Hilton Albany
Albany Hilton
Address: 800 Albany Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the exceptional service of the redesigned Hilton Garden Inn® Albany Airport. Our first class New York hotel is surrounded by the Adirondack Mountains and is just a half mile from the Albany International Airport. We offer our valued guests complimentary airport shuttle service and onsite parking. Whether you’re here for business, a wedding or a leisurely New York getaway, you’ll appreciate our ideal Albany location near area universities and New York youth sports venues. Guests staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport Hotel also enjoy easy access to downtown Albany, the National Baseball Hall of Fame, Saratoga Race Course and Times Union Center.Our Albany airport hotel offers refreshed accommodations, warm hospitality and thoughtful amenities. The modern concept at our beautifully remodeled hotel includes private seating areas equipped with LCD TV's, an outdoor patio featuring a fire pit, a chic new restaurant with a one of a kind menu and a trendy lobby perfect for gathering with colleagues, friends and family. The Albany, New York Hilton Garden Inn creates an atmosphere perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.