We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Albany Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points!
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Novato, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed here one night before leaving early the next morning for home...dropped off the rental car on Friday night, picked up the airport phone, dialed #20 (to get the hotel shuttle to pick us up)...they said they'd be there in 10 minutes...they were there in four. Only took about 2-4 minutes to drive to hotel...pretty building, nice lobby/entryway w/ quiet places to sit, quick check-in service...right to the front desk and to our room within about 2 or 3 minutes. Used the fitness room...nice equipment...used the pool...about four strokes long...used the hot tub...perfect. Slept well. Easy check out. They said to be down for the shuttle about 10 minutes before we'd like to go...waited about 4 or 5 minutes in the lobby & shuttle was off to the airport. Never heard one plane fly overhead.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    153
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
125
93
35
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The hotel was very nice, and a great value for the $. It has a nice courtyard outside, the staff is super friendly, the room wa nothng special but cute and clean. The breakfast buffett was excelent.
The restaurnt for dinner wasn't great, limited menu, slow service I'd rather go out to eat.
BUT THE POOL, WHILE NICE IS NOT FOR A FAMILY WHERE THE KIDS WANT TO SWIM ALL DAY AND THE PARENTS WANT TO SIT BY AND WATCH, THERE'S NO SPACE FOR A TABLE AND CHAIRS! ALL THEY HAVE IS A BENCH!
It was good overall, but wouldn't stay there again if I were expecting to spend much time at the pool with the kids.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I haven't stayed at a HGI in the Hilton chain for a while and I really must say that I like the retooling of the brand. The rooms were clean and modern. Not overly comfortable bed and furnishings but new, clean and stylish. The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby was modern with cool corner partitions where you can have a private conversation. Two large flat-screen monitors to print boarding passes. Evening room service and cook to order breakfast buffet for $10.95 (this is not a buffet in the usual sense).

The hotel was not built with recreation in mind, so not a good fit for families. The fitness center was really small but they had a very well maintained Precor with a personal flat panel TV. I don't see the purpose of having a swimming pool that is only 4ft deep and cannot accommodate any surrounding tables and chairs because the pool area is too small by NY building codes. Truly is a place for business travelers staying a night before they catch a flight.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel was a scheduled stop on our family road trip to Boston MA. The amenities at the Hilton Garden Inn were immaculate and The hotels staff were very considerate.

Good Experiences:
The greeting at the front desk was a very warm and welcoming environment, which made the long ride in the car seem not as terrible as it was. The bed was fantastic! Having the option of setting your own firmness was one that I have not come across in a long long time. I personally like my bed to be soft and comfortable. The hotel parking was all on site and in reasonable walking distance to load and unload the car.

Bad Experiences:
The housecleaning service gave us a somewhat "rude awakening" at around 9:30. Which was not what we expected.

All together, the stay at this hotel was very good! At $104 USD a night, it was a good buy in the area. If you are in need of a hotel to stop for the night, or can find something to do in Albany, but don't want to be in the city center. The Hilton Garden Inn at Albany Airport would be a great decision for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAlbanyAir, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the special Garden Sleep System beds. Many of our guests love being able to adjust the bed to their firm/soft preference.

I apologize that housekeeping knocked on your door at 9:30 and woke you up. They do start cleaning around 9:30am on the weekends with the hope that a later start on the weekends won't wake anyone. On the back of the door is a "Do No Disturb" sign which you can put on the outside of your door and it is their sign to skip a room. I hope you were able to still have a relaxing morning before heading off to Boston.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope you'll stay again the next time you are in Albany.

Cassie Cramer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The service was pleasant and accommodating. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Very close to airport and major highways. Up a driveway from the road, near a golf-course. Quiet night's sleep. Workout room has large glass wall, overlooking indoor pool, so not as claustrophobic as many I've seen. Equipment in good shape. Breakfast was no bargain, and wasn't included in our rate, so we passed; therefore, can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAlbanyAir, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm glad you were were able to experience much of what our hotel has to offer including our fitness center.

As is standard with Hilton Garden Inns, our full, cooked to order breakfast is not included in the regular rate. However, our hotel does offer packages, such as the "Bed & Breakfast" package, that include breakfast at a discounted cost from the normal $10.95.

If you do choose to stay with us again, and I certainly hope that you will, I encourage you to check out the variety of packages we offer by booking through our website.

Thank you again and I hope we'll see you the next time you are in Albany.

Cassie Cramer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Despite being relatively familiar with the region, the location of this Hilton Garden Inn came as a bit of a surprise. There are a number of airport hotels and they are pretty clustered along the Wolf Road corridor. This one, despite being literally across the street from the airport, was actually remote in terms of its proximity to activity and other hotels. But it is an attractive property; both inside and out. The room and common areas were modern and comfortable. And quiet? I was shocked NOT hear the sound of a plane in 2 nights in my room. The rooms are bright and well appointed and include a fridge and microwave. I can't even complain about an uncomfortable desk chair since this one was ergonomic and easy on the sacrum!
It's always nice to have an indoor pool and fitness center, even when each is as small as those at this hotel. There is a hot tub and outside there is an adjacent bike/walking path that enhanced the experience of our stay. The staff at the front desk was terrific and welcoming with each trip in and out of the lobby area and the employees at the breakfast area, from the grill to the table servers, amazed me with their good nature and ability to remember our requests from the day before!
Wolf Road, with its overload of shopping and restaurants is about a 5 minute drive and Saratoga is under 30 minutes north. It was another positive Hilton experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAlbanyAir, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed our property and I hope we will see you again soon.

Cassie Cramer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for a business meeting. Good location minutes from the airport, free shuttle. Restaurant on site, which I think is always great. Very clearn, nice looking hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful, from the driver, front desk, room service, and meeting coordinators.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAlbanyAir, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm glad you were able to experience many different parts of our hotel and enjoyed them all. I hope we'll see you again.

Cassie Cramer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport

Address: 800 Albany Shaker Road, Albany, NY 12211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Albany
#4 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the exceptional service of the redesigned Hilton Garden Inn® Albany Airport. Our first class New York hotel is surrounded by the Adirondack Mountains and is just a half mile from the Albany International Airport. We offer our valued guests complimentary airport shuttle service and onsite parking. Whether you’re here for business, a wedding or a leisurely New York getaway, you’ll appreciate our ideal Albany location near area universities and New York youth sports venues. Guests staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport Hotel also enjoy easy access to downtown Albany, the National Baseball Hall of Fame, Saratoga Race Course and Times Union Center.Our Albany airport hotel offers refreshed accommodations, warm hospitality and thoughtful amenities. The modern concept at our beautifully remodeled hotel includes private seating areas equipped with LCD TV's, an outdoor patio featuring a fire pit, a chic new restaurant with a one of a kind menu and a trendy lobby perfect for gathering with colleagues, friends and family. The Albany, New York Hilton Garden Inn creates an atmosphere perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Hilton Albany
Albany Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.