We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two hotel areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport to your Saves list
Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205 (Formerly Travelodge )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Two hotel areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

There are interior and exterior rooms. I booked 3 rooms using a travel site. When we arrived, they had lost a "king" reservation. They were printed on a single sheet with res. #'s. Luckily they had an open room.
The interior rooms required a $100 deposit added to each room. This was returned. The interior rooms are new, very clean and very nice. Great value! The exterior rooms maybe not so much.
PS. Bring a roll of TP! In your mind think of the world worst TP then double the image.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn12110, Public Relations Manager at Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Sent the following E-mail to the guest:

September 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciated your “Four Star” TripAdvisor review pertaining to your recent stay at Cocca’s Inn & Suites, Albany Airport. Our Owner was especially pleased to read your comment that it was a “Great Value” and extends his thanks.

We were very pleased to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of your guest room and that it was newly renovated. We have not yet renovated the exterior rooms.

I apologize that we had only reserved two rooms and not the three that you requested. I agree . . we were ALL “lucky” that we had another room available.

Your comment re the TP was noted. We will check this out. We may have to switch vendors.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to the Capital District area.


Sincerely,

Marilyn Seidner
Director - Guest Relations
Cocca's Hotels / Cocca’s Inn & Suites, Albany Airport
518-785-6626, Ext. 174
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    15
    14
    22
See reviews for
11
28
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HAMILTON
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were given an interior room, on presenting a 'Hotelcoupons.com' coupon. Lovely room! Obviously renovated, it was large and spacious, as was the bathroom.

Breakfast a little skimpy, but as we were in a hurry, it didn't really matter.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room. They've been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn12110, Guest Relations Manager at Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Sent the following E-mail to the Guest:


September 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciated your very positive, “Four Star” TripAdvisor review pertaining to your recent stay at Cocca’s Inn & Suites, Albany Airport.

We were very pleased to read your comments regarding the spaciousness of your guest room and that it was newly renovated. Our entire Cocca’s Team extends their thanks.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to the Capital District area.


Sincerely,

Marilyn Seidner
Director - Guest Relations
Cocca's Hotels / Cocca’s Inn & Suites, Albany Airport
518-785-6626, Ext. 174
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The previous reviews concerned us but we needed an inexpensive place to stay for a night so we took a chance.Our room was fine-large room with a King size bed, couch, desk. It was clean and quiet. Breakfast was picked over but we had enough. The desk clerk did add to the breakfast items while we were eating. We were surprised that they wanted a security deposit of $100 in addition to the cost of the room. They said it was because they had some trouble with guests trashing the rooms, smoking and drugs. The person at the desk took the charge off the next day, no problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn12110, Guest Relations Manager at Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Sent the following E-mail to the guest:

August 21, 2013

Dear Value Guest

We appreciated your very “POSITIVE” August 18th TripAdvisor review regarding your recent stay at Cocca’s Inn & Suites, Albany Airport.

We were very pleased to read your comments regarding the spaciousness and cleanliness of your room. Our entire Cocca’s Team extends their thanks.

Thank you for “ignoring” some of the reviews and giving us an opportunity to serve your lodging requirements. We are looking forward to seeing you during your next visit to the Albany/Colonie area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Seidner
Guest - Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Upon arriving at Cocca's Inn & Suites, we had to wait for the two women at the front desk to stop their conversation long enough to check us in. Once they did check us in, they were not particularly friendly. The room we got was facing the on-ramp to the Thruway exit, but once we closed the heavy curtains, it was okay. The beds however, were not. Neither bed had a dust ruffle, and one of the box springs had what looked like feces smeared on it. Also, the sheets were wrinkled and did not look clean. However, because we knew that there were no other rooms available in town because of the NYS Bar Exam, we sucked it up and went to dinner.

Upon arriving back at the hotel, our room key card did not work. One of the women at the front desk tried the master key, and that also did not work, so she summoned the other woman to help us. We could immediately tell that this woman was bothered by having to stop her private phone conversation to help us. Once she stopped yelling at the person on the phone, she followed us to our room and accused us of messing up the lock by using a credit card in it instead of the room key, which we of course did not do. They ended up having to make another room key for us, which they should've just done in the first place.

After finally getting back into the room, I decided to take a shower before bed. The water pressure was terrible, and by the end of my five minute shower, the water was up to my knees. They had a serious clog in there.

The next day, we checked out early. We were supposed to stay two nights in this place, but we couldn't take it any longer. When we turned in our room keys, we told the woman at the front desk about the problems with the room and her response was "I'll let maintenance know." No apologies for the feces or anything.

Overall, staying here was a mistake. We should've went with a name brand hotel like Marriott or Hilton. Cocca's had very unprofessional staff and this was not a good experience at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn12110, Guest Relations Manager at Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Sent the following E-mail to the guest:

August 9, 2013


Dear Valued Guest:

In response to your August 7th TripAdvisor Review regarding your stay at our Cocca’s Inn & Suites, Albany Airport, we are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and our standards. We appreciate your feedback and will most certainly investigate the housekeeping issue.

I apologize if you misinterpreted our Front Desk Staff person when she mentioned the “credit card” / room key" incident. I think what she was saying is that if a room key is near a credit card, the credit card could possibly desensitize the room key.

We sincerely hope you will stay at our Cocca’s Inn & Suites, Albany Airport the next time you are in our area, as I would like to have the opportunity to show you that we do care for our guests' comfort and satisfaction duirng their stay with us.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Seidner
Director - Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Admittedly, I did not do a whole lot of research on this, went with one of the lowest prices I could find for Albany (hotels.com), just needed a place to rest and break up a long car trip.
Booked non-smoking room with late check-in. Got there just before 11pm with kid in tow, so I had no energy left to complain once I saw the room: It was one of the outside/corner ones. Very noisy. Definitely strong old smoke smell, though the clerk confirmed the next morning that our room was indeed a "non-smoking" one. Room was run-down, bathroom not clean. The kind of room where you don't want to touch things...
Continental breakfast did not look like anything worth staying for (except for bananas in fresh fruit basket), not sure which "Continent" this one gets blamed on. Even PB&J were presented in smeary tubs, so we just moved on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn12110, Guest Relations Manager at Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Sent the following E-mail to the guest:

July 31, 2013


Dear Ms. Guenthers:

In response to your TripAdvisor Review regarding your recent stay at our Cocca’s Inn & Suites, Albany Airport, we are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Your guest room is a NON-smoking room; however, the previous guest(s) may have “illegally” smoked during their stay. Due to the time span between your stay and your review, it was difficult to investigate why your room was not cleaned properly.

I am sorry that you did not stay for the Continental Breakfast. If you like waffles, our New York Golden Malted Waffles are excellent.

For future reference, all our interior rooms have been recently renovated with new carpeting, TV’s and drapes. The interior area is completely non-smoking. I am confident that if you gave us another opportunity to serve your lodging requirements that you would be pleasantly surprised with the interior guest rooms. .

Sincerely,

Marilyn Seidner
Director – Guest Relations
(518)785-6626, Ext. 174
mar@coccas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you plan on staying here, insist on an interior room. The exterior room in the motel section (the cheaper ones) are disgusting. Holes in the walls, full of cigarette smoke smells, dark and dank. We "upgraded" to an interior room when we saw the exterior rooms for $20 extra a night. The upgraded room was perfectly fine. It was clean, well-maintained and even with the extra fee a bargain in the area.

The clerk who arrange the upgrade was professional and cared about our needs. The desk clerk when we checked out was the opposite. She spent 10 minutes on her cell phone talking to her son I believe. We had a question about directions and she was put off that we interrupted her. We ended up tossing out room keys on the counter. She never got off the phone to give us directions or a receipt.

The location is tough. A barrier blocks the entrance when trying to make a left turn from Central Avenue. You have to make a U-turn to enter the hotel. To get to the IHop that's 500 feet away you need to get onto I-87, drive two miles to the next exit, and circle back. It's literally a two-mile drive to get to anything on Central Avenue.

Room Tip: Make sure you demand an interior room. do not even bother with the motel type exterior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn12110, Guest Relations Manager at Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Sent the following E-mail to the Guest:

June 17, 2013


Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your June 13th TripAdvisor review regarding your recent stay at Cocca’s Inn & Suites, Albany Airport.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding our Front Desk Staff person who arranged for your upgrade; and we apologize in behalf of the person who checked you out.

We were pleased to see that you enjoyed our upgraded interior room during your stay. Our exterior rooms have not yet been upgraded. However, that is not an excuse for the hole in the wall. We will have our Maintenance and Housekeeping staff check our exterior rooms for the room with the issues you mentioned. The exterior room may possibly have been a smoking room. All our upgraded interior rooms are non-smoking rooms.

We hope to see you again at our Cocca’s Inn & Suites, Albany Airport the next time you have a trip in this area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Seidner
Director - Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

After a long day of driving all we wanted to do was get to the inn and relax. When we arrived to the Inn my husband stood at the front desk for 10 minutes and watched the front desk agent talk in the phone and just ignore him. He came back out to tell me this and we discussed just going to a different hotel but since we booked online we would be charged anyway. We both went back in and stood for another 5 minutes watching the lady at the front desk talk on the phone. She obviously knew we were there since she was right behind the desk and obviously wasn't talking to a customer by the way she was talking. Once we finally got to the room we weren't too impressed but just needed a place to sleep. There was urine on the sides of the toilet and socks under the dressers with dust bunnies. The cleanliness was poor and we won't be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport

Address: 2 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205 (Formerly Travelodge )
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exit 24 off I-90 & Exit 2E off I-87, Hot Waffles for Breakfast,AAA Approved & walking distance to Colonie Center Mall, Sears,Macy's, Barnes & Noble, LL Bean, Regal Theaters, CheeseCake Factory, PF Chang's & much more. 5 minutes to Albany Airport, 10 minutes to State Capital, 20 minutes to Saratoga Race Track & 50 minutes to Lake George & Cooperstown Baseball Hall of Fame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocca`s Inns And Suites Albany Airport
Cocca`s Inns & Suites Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Coccas Hotel Latham
Coccas Inn And Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.