We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Holland Avenue, Albany, NY 12209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Carthage, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I were at Albany Medical while our daughter gave birth. We tried to book a room at the Hilton Garden attached to the medical center but they were full. We located TownePlace Suites through Tripadvisor and made a phone reservation. We arrived at 11 p.m. and our check-in was super easy. The night staff is as friendly and helpful as the day staff. The suite was great-comfy bed, huge bathroom, great kitchen and all very clean. If you are visiting at Albany Medical, ask for the hospital rate. The breakfast was super - fresh fruit, juice, waffles, muffins, bagels, cereal, etc. My only complaint the whole time - the coffee was pretty bad. There is a Starbucks right across from Albany Medical so that was an easy fix.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Congratulations on the birth of your grandchild! Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center. We are extremely happy that you chose to stay at our property and that you had such a nice experience with our staff as well as your suite. We appreciate your feedback on our coffee, this is definitely an aspect of our property that we will look into enhancing! Hope you have a wonderful holiday season with the new addition to your family! Thank you for choosing the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    47
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
27
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I spent 17 nights at this hotel and while I wish that I was in Albany for a better reason I couldn't have asked for a better hotel stay.

Every morning they have a breakfast that includes Oatmeal, cereal, bagels, breakfast bars, milk, juice, coffee etc. There are grab and go bags and containers if you are in a hurry. My favorite part of breakfast was the waffle maker. The breakfast area is very clean and well stocked.

My one bedroom unit was HUGE. Lots of storage and my daughter had a big area to play in.

The hotel is SUPER clean. I have never seen a hotel that was cleaner. The staff were always cleaning and restocking supplies.

My room was always cleaned and my things were never touched.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. All of the staff, no matter the hour were always smiling and were very helpful if you needed information.

The hotel has a shuttle bus that takes you around the local area. It was so nice being able to take a shuttle to the grocery store or into downtown Albany.

Complaints
My biggest complaint about the hotel is the fact that it is in Albany and I will most likely never go back. This hotel is very well run and is an example of how things should be done.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor and it was nice and quiet the whole time I was there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
On behalf of the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, we would like to express our sincere appreciation for the review that you have posted on our property. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection and had the opportunity to utilize our other amenities such as our shuttle! We certainly take great pride in our customer service and your kind words make it all worth while. Thank you for choosing the Marriott TownePlace Suites and sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you back if you do happen to visit Albany in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

While Marriott may consider its TownPlace Suites as a lesser brand as compared to its signature Marriott hotels, I was pleasantly surprised by the spacious suite and amenities at this downtown Albany hotel. When you see the minimal lobby, you may wonder why you chose this newish property. However, the rooms, designed for longer stays, feature a small kitchen, a rather large living room space with desk work area, comfy couch, easy chair, ottoman and flat screen TV. The good-sized bedroom has a king size bed and another flat screen TV. I found the small bathroom rather awkward and poorly designed. You cannot open the door all the way as it brushed up against the cabinetry under the sink, so a door stop was put in to keep it from marring it. You also won't get fluffy towels. The bathroom is the only room reminder that you are paying more for functionality than luxury.

The small breakfast room was never overcrowded and served a variety of hot and cold cereals, bagels, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee and tea. There is a small workout area with a couple of treadmills and an elliptical machine, as well as a small pool and whirlpool. The staff were all very pleasant.

While not located in one of Albany's better neighborhoods and facing difficulty getting into and out of the property because of traffic volume blocking the entrance/exit, it is a convenient location for the city's hospitals and a short drive to the area's colleges and the Capitol, with its nearby state office buildings and State Museum, which is quite nice. There are no restaurants in the immediate neighborhood, but you can to several by a short ride and there is a take-out menu in the room.

I used Marriott points to stay here - only 10,000 -- which to me was a much better deal than the $179 room rate that was listed for the room that night. It must have been a busy week in Albany, because many hotels, including the Marriott on Wolf Road in Colonie, were booked solid. For the number of points needed for a free night's stay, this hotel was a bargain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with a thorough review of our property! We certainly appreciate your feedback and are extremely delighted that you would stay with us again in the future. In regards to your comments on our bathroom area, I do apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you throughout your stay with us. This is definitely an area that we will look into to make the necessary changes so that there is enough space for the door to open all the way. I am glad that you were able to experience the amenities that we offer and that they fulfilled your needs. On behalf of the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, thank you for choosing our property and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my first stay at a TownePlace property, so i am not sure if all similar brand hotels have the same size room, but i was surprised how large my one bedroom suite was. I had a king bed, and plenty of room in bedroom, plus living/kitchen area was size able as well.

Hotel is very convenient to Medical Center area and Capital District in general. Relatively easy to get to off Rt 87, and close to restaurants that were mostly local type in the area.

I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're very happy that you found our suite so spacious and that you had plenty of room. We look forward to accommodating your future stays in Albany are glad to hear that we will be seeing you again! Thank you for choosing the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Impressed. First time at TownePlace and would stay again. Suite is good quality and well appointed. Only exception, not enough storage---need something outside the bathroom (plenty of room for a storage area). And, breakfast was very average--actually, below average. Bump up the breakfast (better healthy selection), dramatically improve coffee quality, and the hotel would deserve a 5 rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your response! That's great to hear that you were impressed by our property and that you finally experienced the TownePlace Suites Brand. We certainly appreciate your feedback and will do our best to make the necessary changes so that next time you stay with us we will earn a 5. Thank you for choosing the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, we look forward to accommodating your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had stayed here for a business conference in October with a coworker. While I was there only one night I wished I could stay for more. Was pleasantly surprised with how big and clean the room was. We were in a 2 bedroom suite. The beds were very comfortable and everything was so clean. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly always ready to give us a hand with whatever was needed. The morning breakfast that was included was also very nice. From cold cereal to freshly made waffels it was delish and nice to not have to leave the hotel to get breakfast.

Would stay or recommend in a heart beat

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your suite as well as our breakfast! Hopefully the next time you are in Albany you will be able to stay with us for a longer period to be able to experience our additional amenities. We look forward to accommodating your future stays in Albany! Thank you for choosing the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

If this hotel's idea of being "friendly" to my pet is to charge me a 100 bucks a night for the "privilege" then this hotel ain't no friend of my pet, and never will be. Sorry, you lose. We'll snooze elsewhere. We recently stayed in a 4-star, pet friendly hotel near LaGuardia in NYC that charged us nix/nada/nothing (as in zero dollars) for our pet. Now that's pet-friendly! Needless to say, we'll be staying there again. Have a nice day :)

Room Tip: Non-smoking bylaw apparently not enforced. Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
On behalf of the TownePlace Suites we would like to express our sincere apologies for our unexpected pet fee. We try to do our best at informing our guests at time of booking as well as on our websites that there is a pet fee which is for the cleaning processes that take place once the pet departs from our property. We certainly hope that the rest of your stay was pleasant and that you choose to try us out again in the future. Thank you for staying at the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Address: 22 Holland Avenue, Albany, NY 12209
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albany
#9 Family Hotel in Albany
#14 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Hotel Albany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.