We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a Basic Hotel in Albany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Holland Avenue, Albany, NY 12209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 50 hotels in Albany
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“More than a Basic Hotel in Albany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

While Marriott may consider its TownPlace Suites as a lesser brand as compared to its signature Marriott hotels, I was pleasantly surprised by the spacious suite and amenities at this downtown Albany hotel. When you see the minimal lobby, you may wonder why you chose this newish property. However, the rooms, designed for longer stays, feature a small kitchen, a rather large living room space with desk work area, comfy couch, easy chair, ottoman and flat screen TV. The good-sized bedroom has a king size bed and another flat screen TV. I found the small bathroom rather awkward and poorly designed. You cannot open the door all the way as it brushed up against the cabinetry under the sink, so a door stop was put in to keep it from marring it. You also won't get fluffy towels. The bathroom is the only room reminder that you are paying more for functionality than luxury.

The small breakfast room was never overcrowded and served a variety of hot and cold cereals, bagels, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee and tea. There is a small workout area with a couple of treadmills and an elliptical machine, as well as a small pool and whirlpool. The staff were all very pleasant.

While not located in one of Albany's better neighborhoods and facing difficulty getting into and out of the property because of traffic volume blocking the entrance/exit, it is a convenient location for the city's hospitals and a short drive to the area's colleges and the Capitol, with its nearby state office buildings and State Museum, which is quite nice. There are no restaurants in the immediate neighborhood, but you can to several by a short ride and there is a take-out menu in the room.

I used Marriott points to stay here - only 10,000 -- which to me was a much better deal than the $179 room rate that was listed for the room that night. It must have been a busy week in Albany, because many hotels, including the Marriott on Wolf Road in Colonie, were booked solid. For the number of points needed for a free night's stay, this hotel was a bargain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with a thorough review of our property! We certainly appreciate your feedback and are extremely delighted that you would stay with us again in the future. In regards to your comments on our bathroom area, I do apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you throughout your stay with us. This is definitely an area that we will look into to make the necessary changes so that there is enough space for the door to open all the way. I am glad that you were able to experience the amenities that we offer and that they fulfilled your needs. On behalf of the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, thank you for choosing our property and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    35
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
22
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my first stay at a TownePlace property, so i am not sure if all similar brand hotels have the same size room, but i was surprised how large my one bedroom suite was. I had a king bed, and plenty of room in bedroom, plus living/kitchen area was size able as well.

Hotel is very convenient to Medical Center area and Capital District in general. Relatively easy to get to off Rt 87, and close to restaurants that were mostly local type in the area.

I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're very happy that you found our suite so spacious and that you had plenty of room. We look forward to accommodating your future stays in Albany are glad to hear that we will be seeing you again! Thank you for choosing the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Impressed. First time at TownePlace and would stay again. Suite is good quality and well appointed. Only exception, not enough storage---need something outside the bathroom (plenty of room for a storage area). And, breakfast was very average--actually, below average. Bump up the breakfast (better healthy selection), dramatically improve coffee quality, and the hotel would deserve a 5 rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your response! That's great to hear that you were impressed by our property and that you finally experienced the TownePlace Suites Brand. We certainly appreciate your feedback and will do our best to make the necessary changes so that next time you stay with us we will earn a 5. Thank you for choosing the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center, we look forward to accommodating your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had stayed here for a business conference in October with a coworker. While I was there only one night I wished I could stay for more. Was pleasantly surprised with how big and clean the room was. We were in a 2 bedroom suite. The beds were very comfortable and everything was so clean. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly always ready to give us a hand with whatever was needed. The morning breakfast that was included was also very nice. From cold cereal to freshly made waffels it was delish and nice to not have to leave the hotel to get breakfast.

Would stay or recommend in a heart beat

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your suite as well as our breakfast! Hopefully the next time you are in Albany you will be able to stay with us for a longer period to be able to experience our additional amenities. We look forward to accommodating your future stays in Albany! Thank you for choosing the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

If this hotel's idea of being "friendly" to my pet is to charge me a 100 bucks a night for the "privilege" then this hotel ain't no friend of my pet, and never will be. Sorry, you lose. We'll snooze elsewhere. We recently stayed in a 4-star, pet friendly hotel near LaGuardia in NYC that charged us nix/nada/nothing (as in zero dollars) for our pet. Now that's pet-friendly! Needless to say, we'll be staying there again. Have a nice day :)

Room Tip: Non-smoking bylaw apparently not enforced. Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
On behalf of the TownePlace Suites we would like to express our sincere apologies for our unexpected pet fee. We try to do our best at informing our guests at time of booking as well as on our websites that there is a pet fee which is for the cleaning processes that take place once the pet departs from our property. We certainly hope that the rest of your stay was pleasant and that you choose to try us out again in the future. Thank you for staying at the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of October with our 2.5 year old.

The staff was wonderful, from the desk attendant who was there at midnight when we arrived to the daytime desk and housekeeping staff. We had a few complicated questions (like dealing with nearby road closures due to a breast cancer event) while we stayed and the desk staff were able to provide informative responses immediately or very quickly.

The room was spacious and bed was comfortable. Having the kitchen was great for keeping food for our little one. The room was a true suite with a door that can be closed between the living room/kitchen/office (which has a sleep sofa) and the bedroom (we've stayed in "suites" at other hotels that just had a partition between the areas.

The breakfasts were also good, including options like fresh fruit and parfaits that I haven't seen at other hotels. I took our daughter to the indoor pool for a couple of hours and it was maintained at a comfortable temperature.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We certainly appreciate your feedback and are glad you and your daughter were able to enjoy our amenities! On behalf of the Marriott TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center thank you for choosing our property and we look forward to accommodating your future stays in Albany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this Marriott for 1 night. Check in was very easy and fast. Upon entering my room I found it to be very clean, very comfortable, and very spacious. I had the queen studio with a king size bed. Most hotel beds are either rock hard or soft and springy. In all my years of traveling for work or pleasure this bed is THE MOST comfortable bed I've ever slept on. I inquired about the mattress and it is a Marriott line with memory type foam. The free breakfast is your typical extended continental breakfast. While I didn't use the pool or jacuzzi they too looked very appealing. One downside is that places to eat are quite limited due to very close proximity to SUNY Albany campus; lots of pizza, Chinese food, bar type places. You'll have to spend 15-20 minutes for an Applebees or some place like that. I would definitely come back if only for the beds!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsee B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for your feedback! I love the enthusiasm about our beds! We are very fortunate to have such comfortable beds as we do receive this great compliment frequently. I hope with your next stay you are able to utilize our shuttle service to be taken to various restaurants other than the remote pizza places, chinese, etc. Thank you for choosing the TownePlace Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center

Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Hotel
Towneplace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Hotel Albany
Address: 22 Holland Avenue, Albany, NY 12209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Albany
#18 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown / Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.