We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Age and Lack of Concern Showing...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan State House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Morgan State House to your Saves list
Morgan State House
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   393 State St., Albany, NY 12210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Albany B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old Age and Lack of Concern Showing...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

Stayed over one Saturday night. As a header, the B&B does have beautiful woodwork through out and a reflection of the by gone era of luxury and style.

The room, 4B, was a very large room overlooking the garden. Their were two large windows as well as 3 tilted windows/skylights over the main part of the room. The bathroom also had its own large skylight. The shower and bathtub were seperated with the bathtub part of the main room. We did not get a chance to use the bathtub although it looked comfortable for two adults to share.

There was only an inside lock (deadbolt) to the room, and no way to lock the doors when you leave, such as when you visit the city, so you are unable to leave much in the room, without some remote fear of theft, although the attendant did say they never had a theft problem before.

The room offered a gas fireplace, well more like a gas radiant stove rather then a true fireplace. In either case, the fireplace was non-operational. However being the fact the room stayed a chilly 62 degrees the whole day/night, regardless of what the thermostat was set at, possibly the main heat in the building was not turned on yet. It was a dissapointment and seemed as maybe a way to save on utility costs, although the temperature deserved heat.

Many of the lights did not work in the room (desk, shower or outside track lighting). The lighting on the two nightstands, the back light, remaining bathroom lights and chandlier did work though without incident and did provide sufficient lighting.

A call to the "Operator" to address the fireplace and lights was left unanswered with just an answering machine available.

The next morning, breakfast that was served, however it was Continental only, such a dissappointment. We decided to checkout a little early (10:00 - normal time is 11:00) and drive to another local hotel known for quality dining for a warm, cooked to order brunch. Considering this is a bed and breakfast, you would think more then Continental would have been offered.

Otherwise, the ambience was very pleasing, the bed was to die for and the location was very desirable for the local scene. This place does receive its fair share of visitors, and I can only hope that this place has just recently stumbled and is not a reflection of it's overall decline.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room problems
  • Tips/Secrets — Hope the problems experienced are not a continued decline of the location.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganStateHouse, Owner at Morgan State House, responded to this review, December 27, 2006
Unfortunately during your stay at The Morgan State House we did not receive any comment or complaint from you and we did not have the opportunity to resolve your complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    63
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
128
43
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, QC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

The main building (the Morgan State House) is a lovely brownstone, though we ended up staying in the adjacent Washington Park State House. This is really just an apartment building where the hotel has a few rooms. This arrangement is not quite clear from the website and it was rather disconcerting when we checked in after hours and found ourselves alone in the lobby of the building. The "suite," though, was fine, quite large, but really the room is probably more appropriate for a longer term stay. The beds are indeed fantastically comfortable.

The drive to the building goes through a dicey neighborhood and it seems that the immediate area around the park is a small oasis of safety. We used the enclosed parking lot suggested by the hotel and were glad we did.

Dinner at Jack's Oyster House is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2006

We stayed for 2 nights. We decided to try their "Romance Special" and we were overly delighted with everything. Champagne was chilling in our room upon our arrival and we felt very pampered from the moment we arrived. We had our own parking spot in a private, gated lot just behind the inn. We had dinner at Jack's Oyster house and that too, was incredible. Be sure to mention that you are coming for the Romance Special and you will have complimentary champagne waiting for you. We were in heaven the entire 2 days. The beds are fantastic (i hear that the owner actually makes them). My husband bought a Morgan State House robe for me as a gift, I can't wait to receive it. They even gave a discount for being a guest. The only complaint of mine is that I wished that the 2 days could have lasted longer. Time flies when you are having fun. The breakfast was great as well.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

I invited a nationally acclaimed singer songwriter to do a fundraiser in Albany, and I wanted to make a good impression for her accommodations. The Morgan State House exceeded my expectations, and completely delighted my celebrity guest. The room was first class with every attention to detail, and in a wonderful historic building. The staff make you feel like you are a best friend.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

For those who want a truly special experience and are tired of the big box hotel chains, The Morgan State House is a trip back to a grander era of living. The main mansion overlooks the park and has the feel of a private home, yet Chuck (the owner) has the knowledge and rolodex that would put the concierge at any Ritz Carlton to shame. While probably not for everyone, I would highly recommend staying here at least once, and you'll see what I mean.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan State House

Address: 393 State St., Albany, NY 12210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgan State House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgan State House is an elegantly restored 19th century building with no elevator. It is located in the Washington Park Historic District and is close to many of Albany’s downtown attractions. Suites at the Historic Inn and apartments at the Washington Park State House have seating areas, work desks, and cable TV. All suites and some of the apartments are equipped with free wireless. The apartments have kitchenettes or full kitchens, as well as elevators. Breakfast is included at The Morgan State House every morning. We are a non-smoking inn and are unable to accommodate children under 16. Laundry service and dry cleaning are some of the many amenities the hotel provides. The New York State Capital, a National Historic Landmark, is one mile from the Morgan State House. Albany International Airport is a 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Morgan State House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan State House Hotel Albany
Morgan State Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan State House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.