We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hana Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar

Hana Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar
1620 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
5184524262
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hana Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 598 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: CDTA Bus Transit conveniently located right on Western Ave.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“awesome sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

went with girlfriends for sushi and drinks after work and really liked the sushi, the service and the ambiance. They also have great happy hour specials.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Albany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Friendly service and fresh sushi, this place is as good as it gets for the capital region. They let you eat at your own pace and don't try to push you out (like at Koto's) and have multiple options when you would like something different. I especially enjoy the options as I find miso soup not very appetizing. Sometimes when you sit at the sushi bar they will treat you to a special dish :). If you go for lunch the prices are nice and cheap!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Hibachi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

One of the best Hibachi restaurants I've been too, and maybe the best around. I think Koto is it's only real competition and this place wins it for me, bigger portions, better prices, and a better show.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock, ny
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Have been several times, it's really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Every time I am there, the place is crowded, but the wait is minimal. The flash of the grill and great sushi is what has made us return. My young neices love it and the cooking keeps them entertained. The location is also convenient for get togethers. I also am impressed with the restaurant layout. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifton park
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yumm!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Great food, great service, great atmosphere!! We went with a party of 6 everyone was happy, including 2 kids!
Hibachi was cool and the food was delicious and plentiful. My husband had a dish of sushi loved it and left satisfied!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hana Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.