We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Tei Restaurant

Sushi Tei Restaurant
1800 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203-4650
518-218-0388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 598 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I went here for dinner on a Tuesday night with one other person. I'm a vegetarian, and ended up ordering two appetizers to share (vegetable shu mai and steamed vegetable dumplings), and then vegetable tempura. I felt like there weren't too many entree options for vegetarians, and would have liked to have what I usually have at sushi restaurants, which is a "dinner entree" that includes two or three rolls, and miso soup and/or iceberg lettuce salad with orange ginger dressing. I realize that I could have ordered all these items separately, but didn't bother.

We both liked the appetizers; I liked the dumplings better than the shu mai. The tempura was good, although I don't eat tempura much, not being a "fried food person". The miso soup that came with my entree was good.

It's a really small place; probably can seat no more than 30 people, sp it's a little cramped, but the staff was very nice, and the decor was attractive. Friendly people.

All in all, I liked what I had, but I don't know if I'd go back, for lack of entree selections. I would, however, like to order takeout and check out their sushi. I tend to prefer takeout to dining in a restaurant, though, if that lens perspective.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cooperstown, New York
2 reviews
“best sushi in Albany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It is in the back of a small strip mall and not very big -- but it is the best sushi I have found in Albany! Fresh and delicious!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Albany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

There are so many sushi restaurants popping up around the area---some of the buffets are great if you want to just try a ton of different types of food, some are fusion and give you a chance to try lots of different cuisines, and others (many), well, just aren't very good---but for the best straight-up Japanese in Albany --- at the best prices you'll find anywhere---Sushi Tei is the place to go.

In addition to excellent sushi, I've tried many of their appetizers and a few desserts, being satisfied every time. I've sent many friends here, all who have really enjoyed themselves as the food, atmosphere, and service are all excellent.

If you really want a bargain---come for lunch. You can get 2 rolls, soup, and tea for under $10 (or 3 rolls for a few dollars more).

There are other sushi places in Albany with good sushi, but in my opinion, they charge much more for what they offer without adding any quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Recommended and didn't disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

One of the few good sushi spots in albany area. Friendly staff. Busy for lunch and dinner hours (good sign).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Came here one weekday night- in the area for business. Convenient location and a very warm and inviting ambiance inside. Terrific service but there were only three tables with customers. Good selection of Japanese (bottled) beer and a great assortment of "special" rolls ranging from 10-15 dollars each. I got three rolls- 2 specials and a plain spicy tuna. The spicy tuna was fresh and tasty. The other rolls- I'm not sure if I just chose poorly but they didn't taste as fresh and were not especially good. They were just ok. I can't compare this to any other sushi places in the area and it will definitely suffice for some convenient, fast, and relatively good sushi.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Tei Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Tei Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Tei Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.