We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic tropical rain forest-meets-ocean location. However, the rooms are in need of some soundproofing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Valmer Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Valmer Resort to your Saves list
Valmer Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 72 | Victoria, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“An idyllic tropical rain forest-meets-ocean location. However, the rooms are in need of some soundproofing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An enchanting setting for a lodging establishment.
Set on a scenic steep hill- with a lush East African jungle backdrop.
Well landscaped grounds, including a surprisingly ample bi-level swimming pool.
French, of course, is the predominate language here- in case you weren't aware.
Local taxis are without metres, and tend to be VERY expensive.
Driving in, is also an option; as ample parking is available.
Be aware, the roads in this country tend to be quite narrow.
For those, like me, who do not wish to hear goings on of your next door neighboring room- you'll be out of luck.
There are a minimum of two units per small hillside resort building.
Any & all chairs being moved, closing of doors and cabinets, & even conversing- can be heard in the neighboring unit.
Wifi was only available in the lobby area.
There are relatively few staffmembers- which may or may not affect the quality of your stay.
The nearby village & beach below- are the predominate lure of the immediate area.
Powder white sands provide a nice visual contrast with the verdant greenery above.
There is a lovely array of exotic birdlife flying around the property.
Services nearby, are limited to a couple of tiny convenient stores & an interesting roadside {mainly sports} lounge- to the right of the resort entrance. The lighting there at night- is especially delightful.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
72
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

The rooms are nice with great views. We hired a car for 5 out of 7 days and managed to clock up 281 miles. Staying in the south of the island I would say having a car is the best way to get the most out of the location.. There are restaurants with in a couple of miles but due to the heat, windy & hilly unlighted roads I would not advise walking. We stayed bed & breakfast; breakfast selection for food was good; we had dinner there twice. I would say the food was acceptable. It is not the greatest. The reception staff especially Syliva was very helpful. And the restaurant staff are very friendly..

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We stayed there 3 night and we got the rooms at the entry and were far fr9m the reception and the restaurent but the most disspointing point was the stuff and specially the one in The bar + Restaurent are not friendly and not nice at all
They dont know the words smile and thank you on top of that when you are on buffet to get food dont be surprised to find them on your back checking what do you eat and how much did you take
All case I dont suggest Mahe as a place to visit as La Digue or Prsalin and other island are more beautiful and more relax than Mahe

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at Valmer Resort in a deluxe room (no. 17). Large bedroom/ living room with kitchen; and a large balcony with really nice and relaxing chairs and a small table with chairs as well. Nice view over Baie Lazare. It is a 5-10 minutes walk downwards to the Lazare beach (beautiful with large waves). Anse Soleil is a really nice beach, a 45 minutes walk from the hotel (with hills), with nice little restaurant. When you leave the hotel go right.
Within 10 minutes walk from the hotel (as well to the left and to the right at the entrace) there is a supermarket. Bus stop close by as well. There are not a lot of restaurants in the area, so you need to stay in the hotel for dinner (but the food is good) or go by car or taxi. Swimming pool is beautiful with infinity pool. And the cocktails are great!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The hotel does not offer transport from the airport, no guidelines on taxi rates makes it quite expensive...80Euros one way only to be told by other guests they paid 45Euros!
Arriving late in the evening and feeling hot and tired and then to discover no bottled water in our room, we were told to either boil water or buy.
Breakfast was very skimpy and repetitive, they put out a few slices of cheese and fruit that you need to ask to be filled up, so too for milk etc. The cook conveniently disappears just as you want to order omelettes!
Coffee were great and so too the fruits!

We had buffet dinner once, this was lovely and highly recommended!

We have spend a week there and in that time we never felt welcome,we had the feeling that staff preferred to communicate in French and never really made an effort in talking to us although they spoke perfect English.
No tourist information is being offered, when we asked what is on offer, we were told to tell them what we want to do!!! Oh and not to use any outside car rentals, they will arrange a car for us! Only on the 3rd or 4th day we noticed that they have a temporarily car rental- & tourist agent set up at the upstairs patio area!

Internet were dismal!

We were staying in one of the garden view cottages close to the road and main entrance, it has a lovely kitchen & lounge area, bedroom were nice too, bathroom with shower. Issues in room - The oven was never cleaned properly before we arrived, dirt and grime everywhere! The patio door doesn't close properly and one of the safety latches were broken. Toilet needed to be flushed twice as the water keeps pushing back up again!

Lots of mosquitoes inside the room, we complained about this and they immediately send out someone to spray the entire room.

We had to ask twice for toiletries and toilet paper to be topped up and it took them more than an hour to deliver it to our room.

Pool / beach towels are handed out at reception where we were told only one small dingy towel allowed per person!!! Btw there are no lounge chairs on the beach so beach towel is all you have got to sit on!

This beach area is lovely, it is undisturbed and quiet, unfortunately that means very few if any restaurants, a small shop about 10 min walk away. The first day while on the beach, we were approached by the police and warned not to leave any valuables unattended on beach. No diving equipment such as snorkels or goggles at hotel or anywhere close by.

Transport - we took the public bus and it took us about and hour to reach the main town, called Victoria, cars can be rented but we didn't want to bother. The bus stops a few metres away from the resort and is frequent.

Bring your own suntan lotion, toiletries, mosquito repellant and basic medicine, these are not easy to find!

Room Tip: We stayed at garden view hotel, not the nicest as close to road and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

To cut the long story short, I would go back anyday and anytime to this same hotel even if I was offered something more luxurious...the staff, the food especially the breakfast, the rooms are spacious, room service is amazing...well done to the management.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a great holiday here with our Familiy and we have appreciated the kindness of the people working here. The hotel is very quit, we enjoyed that and it is located closed to a beach, after a short walk of approx. 5 min. This is a great place to be. We had the Garden Villa downstairs. We liked it because it´s more separate from the rest of the hotel. For the breakfast we had our sportive exercise (approx. 5 min.) - because the restaurant is of the top of the hill. For the dinner we had a great pickup with a golf-car from the hotel. The food was always wonderful and tasty and a lot of different typical creole and international food. Twice a week there was a barbecue, absolutely great. The kitchen team was during the barbecue there and explained the typical creole food. Absoluty tasty, we loved that!
We had payed for our trip a half-board and this was a good idea because if you buy your food in other restaurants it´s sometimes really expensive and really not so tasty like at Valmer resort.

Also you can find on every beach a little local snack e. g. during lunch time.

You do not really need your own car, because there are a very good bus system. Timetable is ok, not so long to wait. We used only the local buses to go to the capital or other beaches. Very cheap prices for the bus tickets and always interesting to meet people from the Seychelles. There are some wonderful places to go:
- Anse Royal
- Anse Takamaka
- Pineapple Studios
- Studio of painter Michael Adams
- Church in Baie Lazare ( we visited on Easter Sunday)
- Cerf Island
- capital Victoria
- snorkling at Anse Takamaka and in the North at Hotel Sunset Beach Resort is absolutely great
and many more.

We really enjoyed our stay.
Josef, Carola and Jonathan (12)

Room Tip: so our Spa and Fitness center was the pool or the beach :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valmer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valmer Resort

Address: P.O.Box 72 | Victoria, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Valmer Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valmer Resort is a luxury establishment nestled in the heart of Baie Lazare, located on the southern-coast, the most untouched part of Mahe Island. The Resort is just a few minutes walk from the sweeping Baie Lazare white sandy beach. Valmer Resort is a family-run establishment, and the owners have applied their own high standards in providing a comfortable stay for their esteemed guests, a philosophy which has ensured the success and growth of this small hotel. Valmer Resort has undergone extensive refurbishment and renovation in 2012 of all its public areas and all villas, introducing new facilities including more parking spaces, children's playground, club car service, 2 new Junior Suites with jacuzzis and new Pool Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Valmer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valmer Hotel Mahe Island
Valmer Resort Mahe Island
Valmer Resort Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valmer Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.