We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clef des Iles

Save Saved
You added Clef des Iles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Clef des Iles
Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 hotels in Mahe Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

What a great place. Very well set up. Sitting right on the beach. Each night we sat with a drink watching the perfect sunsets. Wonderful staff and owners who really care about their guests, flowers on the bed, offers of advice and bookings, platters of fruit each morning and even laundered our clothes! Beau Vallon was the best beach on Mahe and often sheltered by the easterly winds. Great snorkelling on the northern point of the beach and we saw lots of colourful marine life.
A couple of small points .. It would have been good to have hot water in the kitchen sink and bathroom basin, but it wasn't a big deal. Sounds of the waves was a high point for us townies, but it might too much for some.
We all loved it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    17
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
35
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

we visited this hotel for valentines day. i can say its was the most relaxing holidays i ever had in my life. this hotel have only 4 rooms. and all rooms are 2 levels. u feel like u live in ur own villa. u have kitchen. and we even had 2 bedrooms! for valentine day they decorate our bed so nice with flowers.the fact that hotel have kitchen is very good for us. coz i actually dont like to go out for eat, its make this holidays make me feel very comfortable like in my own home.we visited pizzeia 1minute away , once its very busy place but food was tasty. 5minutes away u can find minimarket where u can buy even things to cook spagetti balagnese. lots of fruits near the villa u can buy. the bed was very comfortable. no insects was worry me at all.at once i sawa big rat in the house, but stuff get rid of her very fast same day, so its didnt bother me. coz i understand in such buildings little animals always trying to come.the hotel was clean.they change towels everyday.i wish price was cheaper so we would come there and stay for 1month.the sea was just 1 second away, i always was able to hear waves near my door.we hire a car at once to explore the island and its was amazing. we went for one day in four season hotel. and when we back we realize how good is our hotel:)) coz not busy and quiet. when u will come u will feel urself like at home. if u are looking for quiet holidays, without other peoples botherig u, if u want total relax and your own beach, then u should come in this hotel for sure. but if u are used to live in lux then u need different. i will be back in this hotel for sure for more

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My family stayed here for three nights, May 30-June 2, 2013. Beau Vallon is a stunning beach, and Clef des Iles offered us the perfect set up to enjoy our (too) short stay. The property is literally on the white sandy beach, just steps from the water. Full kitchen, bathroom, and living room on first floor, with two bedrooms upstairs; even has a loft/sitting area with large tv and dvd player above the master bedroom. Our family of five (three young boys) was very comfortable. Marquis, the owner/manager, was a terrific hostess and made us feel very welcome. We would strongly recommend Clef des Iles to anyone looking for a relaxing beach holiday, with or without children. Quiet, peaceful location, but still with plenty of restaurants nearby and a very good pizzeria connected to the property. Water is beautiful, and the scenery never gets old. We were very happy we stayed here rather than at one of the nearby hotel resorts. This location is unbeatable and the duplexes are beautifully decorated. We loved our first visit to the Seychelles and can't wait to go back someday. We would definitely stay at Clef des Iles again and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My new wife and I spent 3 nights here during our honeymoon and we highly recommend this place if you want a chilled out break that has paradise at the door. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean, and stepping right from the apartment into the gorgeous soft sand of a magnificent beach is one of life's great pleasures.

Room Tip: It does get warm in the room (as you would expect / hope during a break in the Seychelles!) - but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for a week and loved every minute of it.
It is located on a beautiful stretch of public beach. We didn't mind that but you do have people who go right by the front deck looking in at you as you eat your meals.If this would bother you , there is a breakfast bar to eat at but the main table area is readily on view of people walking by. At time people would also decide that right out your front door is a good place to set up the beach camp as well.
Well stocked kitchen for basic cooking, there are small grocery stores near by as well as fruit and vegtable sellers who are steps away. Make sure you go up the main road to Yvons bakery, very good.
Location is close to resturants a dive centre and only 10-15 minutes from the city.
These units are spacious, clean and well serivced. Free wi-fi and added bonus.
My only negatives were the ants everywhere, in the kitchen in particular. My husband spent time everyday playing ant hunter tracking their entry and using the bug spray provided to try and eliminate them. A few placed ants traps would be nice.
There is also no comfortabe place to sit on the main floor. If you want to sit and read in an evening or when it is raining, the lounge/couch in living room is wooden with no real cushion.
If you like the beach, this is the place, waves are a fun size but not too rough.
If you don't like the waves there is lots of room to go in for a dip before the waves, it is fairly shallow as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were looking for a reasonable priced accommodation but at the same time great location. We thought we would never find one, but luckily we found Clef Des Iles! A beautiful, quaint, simple property in Beau Vallon. You will really have island life feel when you stay here. There's a kitchenette if you wish to do a self catering or just eat out in the nearby restaurants. The unit has their shower and toilet on the ground level and one toilet upstairs. The Master Bedroom has one of the best views of sunset in Seychelles overlooking the mysterious Silhouette Island. The other room has a 2 single beds and a cot if you have a baby. Dining table and sunbed are on the ground floor with a few steps on the beach. The location is perfect as it is next to nearby great restaurants like La Plage or La Perle Noir Restaurant which serves one of the best meals in Seychelles. I would really want to go back to this piece of jewel soon if will be visiting Seychelles. Stephane and Marquis are very helpful and they even agreed to have a late checkout for us as we had an island tour on the day of our checkout and our flight was in the evening. (luckily the next guest wasn't there just yet) i highly recommend this if you wish to stay in a beautiful accommodation in Seychelles without hurting your budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days in May 2012. We looked hard for accommodation and chose this place over the hugely expensive resorts. What a great decision!! The location of the apartments on the beach is second to none and it's handy to any number of shops and places to eat. There's fresh fish for sale at the side of the road and regular buses that run into Victoria. The staff at the apartments are friendly, helpful and full of advice on what to do and how to get around. What I'm trying to say is that this place is just tremendous and we would absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting Mahe.

Room Tip: The swimming pool is the Indian Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clef des Iles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clef des Iles

Also Known As:
Clef Des Iles Hotel Mahe Island
Clef Des Iles Mahe Island
Clef Des Iles Seychelles/Mahe Island
Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clef des Iles is composed of 4 duplexes located literally on the beach. Each duplex (around 120 m2 each) has two large attic bedrooms facing the majestuous Silhouette and North Island. The kitchen is fully equipped and internet is freely available through a wireless system. This ideal “on the beach home” is surrounded by charming restaurants and offers easy access to water sport facilities. The discrete Clef des Iles team takes care of daily cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Clef des Iles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clef des Iles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.