We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthed - low standard, too basic, too expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Roussette

Save Saved
You added La Roussette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Roussette
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   E Coast Road | Au Cap, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 hotels in Mahe Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worthed - low standard, too basic, too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Totally over priced. Does not worth to stay there. We arrived late (around 7:30pm) and there was no option for dinner but in the hotel restaurant since the hotel is isolated upon a hill.
We were charges for a piece of fish, steam rice about 30eur/ea. total ripof. Has been probably the most expensive light meal ever paid in seychelles (or into the whole MEA region)
The bungalow are clean but utmost basic for this price. Strongly recommend to spend extra 50 rupees into transport and pick a good friendly, well managed guest house a bit further...
Place to avoid unless you like to tarnish your seychelles experience on the last night... (Our case)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald R, Manager at La Roussette, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
After many consecutive positive traveler reviews about our Hotel in the last few months, it is disheartening to get such a negative review. However, no matter how aggrieved one may feel, one has to sometimes “take it on the chin” as the saying goes and push forward. We shall take the positive parts of this review (such as the cleanliness of our room) as an encouragement and take negative parts as constructive criticisms and endeavor to do better.
Having said all that there are a few facts that we feel is necessary to put straight. Firstly our establishment is not located upon a hill as stated by the reviewer; as a matter of fact it is situated on a very flat area of the Eastern Coast of the main island only just a few metres above sea level. The sea is actually less than 50m from our Hotel entrance. The reviewer arrived at 7.30pm and departed at 6.00am, it was dark at both times as it normally is in the tropics, so it is understandable that he may have been disorientated with regards to our location.
Secondly, apart from our own restaurant there are at least 3 others within a distance of 4 km from our Hotel. I am not aware if Mr. Gaetan H inquired about other restaurants in the area, but I am quite certain that had he done so our staff would have provided him with this information.
Lastly, Mr. Gaetan H blames our establishment for tarnishing his and his family’s “Seychelles experience” and advises future travelers to avoid our Hotel. We believe that this advice is unfair and harmful on his part and we cannot see any justification for him mentioning that in his review other than for its harmful intentions.
To future travelers reading our response, you be the judge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This Hotel is very closed to airport, in a quiet place, staff is really polite and Ron the owner he is really helpful, his wife has a great good spa in center of Mahe. Good hotel to stopover when you go to explore Seychelles, thank for everything Ron!

Room Tip: Go for rooms near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Townj
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

my clients returning from Mahe recently after having stayed at the Villa on Desroches Island - because of the overnight required for travel to SA now they always stay at La Rousette and have always been happy with accommodation and service - this recent time a suitcase was left behind at the hotel and was noticed on check in - after a call to the hotel they quickly searched found the suitcase and delivered it to the Airport - absolutely fantastic service for which my clients were very grateful - thank you La Rousette Management and Staff adding value to their stay !

Room Tip: excellent for a quick overnight close to the Mahe Airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stop over here on our way to a week in a villa. Close to the airport and with large rooms with a king size and a full size bed, our group had 3 adults in each room comfortably. Breakfast is included and was made to order. It was so nice that we booked the place on the way back. It's not luxury but it is a great hotel if you have no expectations. Wi-fi is only in the bar/lobby area and there is a tv in every room. The staff is great and helpful. Great for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

La Roussette was exceptionally clean; the staff were very friendly and helpful; and it was extremely relaxing. We really enjoyed our stay. For a simple, no frills holiday, I don't think you can beat La Roussette. I would certainly recommend the hotel for people on a limited budget and who don't want luxury and pampering, but want a most enjoyable stay in the Seychelles. Thank you La Roussette!

Room Tip: I liked the rooms near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently spent 2 amazing weeks at La Rousette. Hotel is run by very friendly owners and always smiling and friendly staff that will fulfil any request that you have. La Rousette has an enjoyable and convenient location, safe and pleasant environment, very clean rooms, beautiful swimming pool and very comfortable lounge. Food is great and dinners are very special because all guests are treated as a part of the family. Many guests that I met there kept coming back because they enjoy that very special atmosphere. La Rousette impressed me much more than one of those expensive resorts that will isolate you from the life and beauty of the magic Islands of Seychelles.
La Rousette gives you a convenient location, freedom and flexibility and most of all warmth of the people that look after you that you will never forget.
I hope I will be back there soon..
Antun

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend 2 weeks on beautiful Seychelles and it was the best idea we've ever made! Mostly we stayed at Mahe, at La Roussette hotel, that we enjoyed very much. The apartment was facing the pool where we spent most of our mornings and evenings. The hospitality of the owners was incredible. We tasted the local dishes that we miss so much! We definitely recommend the place, as close to the airport, to Victoria, clean and cosy, staff friendly, what could've we asked more?!? Missing it already...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Roussette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roussette

Address: E Coast Road | Au Cap, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 hotels in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Roussette 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Roussette is situated on the East Coast of the main Island of Mahe. It consists of 10 fully air-conditioned rooms, each with a private bathroom and a veranda that opens onto a landscaped tropical garden. Our facilities consist of a swimming pool, a restaurant, a bar and lounge with big screen TV viewing and a snooker table for our clients entertainment. La Roussette also offers free WiFi internet, free parking and free pool towels to its Guests. There is easy access by foot to to the nearby Au Cap Beach and we are also close to the main bus route. Being only only 5 km from the Seychelles International and domestic Airport, La Roussette is well place for the transit traveller. Other nearby places of interest are The Reef Golf Course, Craft Village, Trois Frere Distilleries and the Casino Europa. Kite surfing and fly fishing possibilities also exist in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Roussette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Roussette Hotel Mahe Island
La Roussette Mahe Island
La Roussette Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Roussette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.