We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort, but kitchen needs work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Seychelles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Seychelles to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Seychelles
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Intendance, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort, but kitchen needs work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Banyan Tree Seychelles as a family with our 5 months baby. I have to say, the beach is one of the most stunning in the world, and we have seen our fair share (Bora Bora to Thailand and Bali) - the friendliness and responsiveness of the staff was excellent and the Spa was amazing. We had the luxury of spending the 5 nights in the Beachfront Pool Villa, which has direct access to the beach, which one shares with no-more than 10 couples at a time. Honestly, I was told that at the time of our stay there were 120 guest at the resort and my guess would have been 30 - this is how well it is managed. Finally, the main house is an old colonial mansion and the reason we picked this resort - there is just so much character to it - that makes you feel like you traveled back in time.

Now you might wonder, why we didn't give it a 5/5 rating. The answer is simple - the kitchen! Honestly we tried almost everything - and I don't know why, but nothing tasted really exceptional - at times it was even below average. We tried the simple things like Pizza Margarita (too much Cheese) and Cheeseburger (too dry) to more elaborate Thai (given its a Thai chain) - which was way too greasy and didn't have the typical tropical / spicy flavor. We tried the buffet - which was ok - but nothing special at $200 pp. Probably the best experience, and one I can recommend everyone is to have the in Villa Cook it Yourself BBQ - at least it's fun to be your own chef and you can blame no-one but yourself if you don't like it.

Here our recommendation - get a creative, young aspiring cook from France or UK and let him run the kitchen as a personal signature location. If you need inspiration what can be done with tropical food / fusion cusine we recommend a trip to Bali / Mosaique restaurant - amazing food / amazing wine pairing and same price as a at BT Seychelles. At the price you ask / night and per dish I firmly believe your guests deserve better.

In my mind you have everything it takes to be one of the most outstanding resorts in the Region - all it takes is a little bit more effort on the F&B side. Hope this feedback is helpful - if you look for a fantastic resort to stretch your legs and soak up the sun and don't give much thought about what lands on your plate - BT is your pick. If you are a foody - think twice about booking with BT or at least when ordering from the menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear A Gaertner

Thank you for the wonderful review that you have posted about our resort. We will certainly be sharing this with our team. It is a delight you enjoyed the colonial structure which is often perceived as being too old.

We are situated on one of the most beach on the island. It is a pity our Food was not up to par during your stay, but you however still managed to have a nice time with us. We will be discussing on your idea as it is through comments like these we will be able to improve our services.

Thank you once again, we do hope you return for another holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    102
    49
    25
    18
See reviews for
65
390
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went to Seychelles and stayed at the Banyan Tree. Upon arrival, we were immediately upgraded to a Beach front villa with private access to the beach. It was a wonderful stay and we had the best experience. You can take a romantic walk along the beach during day & night. The staff are courteous and ready to help you. The beach hosts are always nearby to serve drinks. You will also love the tranquility of the spa. The breakfast area over-looking the ocean is amazing. You must try their Thai restaurant. It serves the best Thai food ever. Would recommend you to stay here.

Room Tip: Beach front villa recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Arpita P

Thank you for the wonderful review that you have posted about our resort. It is a delight to read that you enjoyed our facilities as well as our food. We will certainly share your comments with the team.
We thank you once again and we hope to see you with us again for another pleasant holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I am not a big fan of Banyan Tree, but I have been staying at their Phuket, Saumi, Bangkok and Bintan properties recently, I realize the Seychelles' one is not up to traditional Banyan Tree standard.

Room
- Very small hillside room with tiny private pool. The smallest room size I have ever come across for a villa.

Facilities
- Very limited public space/facilities. Not much to do when you are away from your room. They have a lounge next to the lobby, gym room, infinity pool, spa, tennis court, beach, and small shop and that's it.

Restuarant
- They claim to have 3-4 restuarants, but one of them are close and another one only opens 3 days a week. The international one offer very limited variety of food - always pizza and sandwich; and their so called signature Thai restuarant offer "interesting" dishes - Phad Thai noodles without noodles, Tom Yum Goong soup without soup; Lemongrass Martini without lemongrass. Maybe I should bring my own cup noodles next time!!

- They offer semi-buffet breakfast, which is another surprise for me. Maybe they tend to cope with the European taste; although I notice they provide rice porridge/congee since more and more tourists are coming from China nowadays, the congee is just so so.

Services
- Overall speaking, it is maintain at good level, except those working at those two restuarants.

When you make a booking at a Banyan Tree resort, you would have some kind of level expectation about this brand, and their unique service quality provide across all properties in the world. But for this Seychelles one, I didn't feel any Asian/Thai hospitality in any part within the resort, from its building design to level of service.

In view fo the above, the value for money is poor. The room charge is 3-4 times higher than their resorts in Thailand; but the room, food, service is just way behind to standard Banyan Tree requirement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Herbert

Thank you for the constructive review that you have posted about our resort. It is through comments like these that we are able to rise to the expectation of our guests and improve our services further.

We have five categories of Villa at our resort, the smallest being the Hill side pool villa, extending to medium size of Intendance pool, pool villa by the rocks and finishing with our largest category which is the beach front villa that comprise also of our double pool villa.

From our La Varangue bar we have Raw and Champagne every Tuesdays, and on Thursdays we have our Martini Martinee which is open to all guests alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had already been in the Seychelles for over a week at the Hilton, very nice hotel and location everyone would love it. For our last week we booked into the Banyan Tree Mahe. stayed in the Hill top villas.

VILLA, Just superb! the Hilltop Villa was wonderful, room service was wonderful, very clean and very well appointed, yes you can always find a fault if you look hard enough and for those of you that like nothing better than a good old moan, a bulb was out and i believe a small scratch on the office desk! The view over the indian ocean was superb, private pool was superb and big enough to cool you off on those hot days.

FOOD, really, if you can find a fault in the food and service at this hotel at anytime of day or night you must really stop eating. Just perfect! not 1 fault was made by anyone in any way.

LOCATION, Quite ! and if that is what you are looking for you will get it. We hired a car and could leave anytime we wanted, well worth doing, please explore the Island as the people are wonderful.

ADVICE, go half board, you can have any food you like at any of the restaurants with no extra costs involved, Tip. ask for the local water with your meal or you will end up paying for POSH water. after all water is water!.

VERDICT ! Just amazing, great location, really superb service, nothing was to much for any of the staff, You know that point when you are thinking of asking a question to a member of staff and are just mulling it over, well the staff have already got the answer ready for you and have resolved any issue before you have asked... just superb service.

MR Alvaro Acebal, please pass on our great thanks to your staff, and thank you for a wonderful Honeymoon

Derek & Joanne

Room Tip: All rooms looked superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Derek and Joanne

Thank you for the wonderful review that you have written about our resort. It is indeed nice to read the details and it is through comments like these that we are able to improve and maintain the level of service we offer our guests.

We will indeed share these comments with our wonderful associates. We await your return to us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A great location, stunning beach and friendly staff but badly let down by poor standards of service and maintenance . Not what you expect at these prices. There is no visible management presence so what should be relaxing becomes stressful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the constructive feedback that you have posted about our resort. It is nice to read that you enjoyed our location as well as our friendly staff.
It is a pity to read that however you were still not satisfied with our services and prices. It should be noted that our prices as within the range of other 5 star competitors range. It is also a disappointing to read that you felt that there were no visible management present when our Executive Manager was on site as well as our Manager on Duty where available.

We will surely share your comments with our team for further improvement and consultation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed two days, one night only, but felt like we stayed seven as we were so relaxed. Great location, fantastic room (hill side) and superb service. I wish we can afford to go back to this hotel more often!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member

Thank you for the wonderful review that you posted about our Resort. It is a delight to read that your stay with us was delightful.

It is a indeed a pity it was short-lived, however we do hope you can come back soon and experience some more of Banyan Tree Seychelles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We are familiar with the Banyantree concepts so we had an high expectation as you might have from Banyantree and this was definitely met. The Banyantree team made everything happen what we asked for and provided the service we may expect and even beyond for our weekend escape from our hometown. The resort is very well situated and very secluded from anything else on the island. The beach is around 800M long with an amazing view and turtles come down to the beach to lay their eggs in certain periods of the year. Starting your walk from the main area to the end of the beach will be rewarded with a drink from the 'rum shack', before you walk back. The SPA treatments are very good and you have a very nice view from the room as it is an outdoor room. There are sufficient restaurants and the food is of a good quality. I would not say the best quality and particular the desserts were not impressive. Fine dining people would not have the best experience, however acceptable. Because of this I do not fully agree with all the prices which are reflected on the F&B list. Because there is lack in quality the price is somewhat to high in my opinion.
Banyantree offers amazing in-villa dining which I would definitely recommend to do. Also you can get the villa decorated in a very romantic way to surprise your loved one.

Room Tip: Villa 304, 307 or 205-206. Perfect views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Marcel m

Thank you for the wonderful review that have posted of our resort. It is very nice to read that your stay with us was most enjoyable.

We would certainly share your comments with the team especially our Food and Beverage department. It is with comments like these that we strive to improve our services and ensure guest satisfactions are met.

Once again thank you for the constructive review. We hope to welcome you back to us and make another amazing experience in our small paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Seychelles

Address: Anse Intendance, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Seychelles offers an intimate retreat experience featuring its own signature blend of romance, rejuvenation and exotic sensuality. The philosophy behind the resort is based on providing a place for rejuvenation of the body, mind and soul – a sanctuary for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Seychelles Hotel Mahe Island
Banyan Tree Seychelles Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.