We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Seychelles

Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Seychelles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Seychelles
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Intendance, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 hotels in Mahe Island
A TripAdvisor Member
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed two days, one night only, but felt like we stayed seven as we were so relaxed. Great location, fantastic room (hill side) and superb service. I wish we can afford to go back to this hotel more often!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member

Thank you for the wonderful review that you posted about our Resort. It is a delight to read that your stay with us was delightful.

It is a indeed a pity it was short-lived, however we do hope you can come back soon and experience some more of Banyan Tree Seychelles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    85
    49
    24
    17
See reviews for
58
344
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We are familiar with the Banyantree concepts so we had an high expectation as you might have from Banyantree and this was definitely met. The Banyantree team made everything happen what we asked for and provided the service we may expect and even beyond for our weekend escape from our hometown. The resort is very well situated and very secluded from anything else on the island. The beach is around 800M long with an amazing view and turtles come down to the beach to lay their eggs in certain periods of the year. Starting your walk from the main area to the end of the beach will be rewarded with a drink from the 'rum shack', before you walk back. The SPA treatments are very good and you have a very nice view from the room as it is an outdoor room. There are sufficient restaurants and the food is of a good quality. I would not say the best quality and particular the desserts were not impressive. Fine dining people would not have the best experience, however acceptable. Because of this I do not fully agree with all the prices which are reflected on the F&B list. Because there is lack in quality the price is somewhat to high in my opinion.
Banyantree offers amazing in-villa dining which I would definitely recommend to do. Also you can get the villa decorated in a very romantic way to surprise your loved one.

Room Tip: Villa 304, 307 or 205-206. Perfect views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Marcel m

Thank you for the wonderful review that have posted of our resort. It is very nice to read that your stay with us was most enjoyable.

We would certainly share your comments with the team especially our Food and Beverage department. It is with comments like these that we strive to improve our services and ensure guest satisfactions are met.

Once again thank you for the constructive review. We hope to welcome you back to us and make another amazing experience in our small paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Real luxury and great service, excellent staff and incredible good taste. I stayed at Banyan Tree Seychelles and I totally recommend it. The beach is beautiful, the hotel is is really charming and comfortable. I had a great experience at the Spa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member

Thank you for the wonderful review that you have posted about our resort. It is a delight to read that you have had an enjoyable stay. We will definitely share the review with our team.

We thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcome you back to us and enjoy the experience once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for 10nights on our honeymoon in September 2012, Fantastic hotel. Overall, absolutely lovely staff, great service, food selection was good. We did travel peak season so was extremely pricey!

Rooms were luxurious and secluded, smaller than we are used to and for us, not as much "wow" factor as we would have expected for the price, but very high standard and very romantic. There may be more rooms now (looking at some of the other reviews), so maybe we just had a smallish one.

Only reason I am scoring 4/5 is that we have paid half the price and stayed in more beautiful resorts (St Lucia/Langkawi) with nicer beaches and bigger pools.

Also, it would have been nice to have a few more options on the lunch menu (rather than pizza/sandwiches etc), but again, this may have changed!

Also, worth bearing in mind that most people are on their honeymoon here, so you won't get the usual "honeymoon" feeling!

Overall, fantastic trip.

Room Tip: If you're honeymooning, maybe worth going for the bigger rooms as a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Anon

Thank you very much for the constructive review that you have posted about our resort.

It is a delight to read that you enjoyed our services and our cuisines. I believed you stayed in one of our Hillside pool villa which is smaller in comparison to our beach front villas and our double pool villas. Upon requests our wonderful resort host would have been more than delighted to show you around our resort where you could have seen our other villa category.

As we have done for many other guests we always accommodate a change of menu upon requests, as we understand staying for long period in the resort calls for something different on the taste buds.

Thank you once again for the wonderful comments and which will be shared amongst the team. We will be more than delighted to welcome you back to us for another special holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Ten nights of absolute paradise!

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was without a doubt the most amazing place we have ever been to.

On arrival we were taken into the reception area and welcomed to the Seychelles with a drink and a very warm welcome from the staff. Whilst checking in we found out that we had been upgraded to a spa villa on the beach. This we soon found out was so much better than we were expecting.

The villa had a huge bed, an outdoor infinity pool overlooking a pretty much private strip of beach. An outdoor lounge area. A spa bath and an outdoor double bed. We were a 5 minute walk from the resort building and a small cave led to the beach which was separated from the main beach by some rocks.

The resort had a bar which not only supplied great cocktails but very friendly and helpful staff.

Breakfast was in the main restaurant building and had a great buffet as well as a menu to order from. We couldn't fault any of the breakfast.

We paid for our dinners up front and it was definitely great value. There was a choice of 3 restaurants and of course the bar for snacks etc. we only ate at the main restaurant but we quickly found out that your choice wasn't restricted to what's on the menu. If you wanted something else you only had to ask. The staff in the restaurant were some if the friendliest and most approachable I have experienced anywhere in the world. They knew who we were and welcomed us every night to dinner by name. They also made great recommendations on food and drink choices each night. They were always smiling and always chatty.

All in all this most definitely was the holiday of a lifetime. The island of Mahe was stunning and the people all friendly.

I would go back there now if I could afford it! We are saving now.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Marty

Thank you for this wonderful comment that you have posted about our resort. It was really nice to read how much you have enjoyed your honeymoon which has gone by without fault.

We will certainly share your wonderful comments with the team especially our restaurant team who were on top notch in all their services.
We certainly await your return to us and ensure another memorable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The whole experience at Banyan exceeded expectations. The room facing the sea is big, new and incredibly pleasant. The service and care throughout the hotel and restaurants is excellent. In a next trip, I will try another Banyan Tree.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice comments that you have posted about our resort. It is a delight to read that your stay with us was wonderful and have caused you to explore other Banyan Tree hotels and resorts.

Once again thank you for the nice comments in hope you return one day for another delightful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had the chance to stay in 2 different type of villa.
The first one was hillside villa . I was in villa 207. You got the feeling you are in the middle of a tropical forest with partial view of the sea from top the hill. Therebis a small pool and a nice kiosk in the yard . Reception is about 2 minutes walking distance . If you like sunbathe , this type of villa is not for you . There is not much sun going trough the trees , but you can use the beach which is quiet and one of the most beautiful I have ever seen .
The second villa we stayed in , was beachfront N113
Bigger layout , big yard , bigger pool , right next to the sea .
I have no complain about my stay in the hotel ( there are always small things ,you are not happy with ,but there is no perfect hotel ) . I was happy with the WI-FI .It was catching an internet even out of my villa or walking to the reception. People are complaining about the big waves of the sea. Yes , water was choppy but I still swam and enjoyed it . The last day of my stay a man was hit by jellyfish . Not a pleasant experience .
In every 3day stay , the fourth one is free. That makes the average prise of the room to go down .
I would return again in low season ,when the prise is much reasonable , so I can stay longer .
It's an ideal place for lazy vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Melina B

Thank you for the wonderful comments that you have posted about our resort. we are glad to read that you have enjoyed both category of our villas.
We are happy to read also that the choppy waves were not a deterrent for you. As you have seen we do offer our pool service.

Once again thank you for this nice review which will certainly be shared amongst our wonderful associates. We are surely waiting for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Seychelles

Address: Anse Intendance, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Seychelles 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Seychelles offers an intimate retreat experience featuring its own signature blend of romance, rejuvenation and exotic sensuality. The philosophy behind the resort is based on providing a place for rejuvenation of the body, mind and soul – a sanctuary for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Seychelles Hotel Mahe Island
Banyan Tree Seychelles Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.