We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but poor managers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Seychelles

Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Seychelles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banyan Tree Seychelles
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Intendance, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great staff but poor managers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Overall Banyan Tree lived up to expectations, however, anyone who is sold on the idea of going for an Intendance Pool Villa In the cooler months of July/August etc, should think again unless they like they're private swimming pools to be freezing cold and tiny!

We moved to a Beachfront Pool Villa as a consequence and were amazed at how much better value it was. Bigger, warmer pool and far more spacious.

I was very disappointed with the attitude of the management when I addressed the above issues.

Room Tip: beach front pool villa's are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for the constructive comments that you have posted of our resort. It is through comments like yours that we learn to improve our services.

As the managers and staff might have explained to you, we do not offer any kind of heating for our swimming pool. As you have stated the hideaway intendance villa they are not ideal for cooler months if one does not like the cold temperature, however it is a big sold out in our warmer months.

Of course the beachfront pool will offer the natural heat from the sun where it gets plenty of sun rays.

We will certainly share your comments with the team. Once again thank you for the wonderful review.

Kind regards,

Frank
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    94
    49
    24
    17
See reviews for
61
357
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Banyan Tree in July. It was absolutely beautiful.The views are amazing. We were welcomed immediately and the staff were wonderful throughout our stay. Our beach villa was amazing. The food was delicious. We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the wonderful review that you posted about our resort. It is nice to read that your stay with us was delightful and how you enjoyed our cuisines. We certainly await your return with similar services.

Thank you once again for the nice comments which will definitely share with our team.

Kind regards,

Frank
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I styed here last year but i forgot to write about this wounderfull resort , It will be my first choice in mahe island definitely the best in mahe you will really feel out of this world ~ another planet or in a different time

There is a limited luxury resorts in mahe island
Maia.four seassons and banyan tree the others yes some has 5 stars but
no comparison with the first 3 resorts ! Especially regarding the location.the beuty of beach and quiet .

I styed in the hillside sea view but it were not the best kind of villa here go for the beach villa on the beach directly or intendense villa for the best and uninterrupted sea views .

They surprised me with many complimentary things .. one hour treatment massge and free breakfast and dinner even if you want to bring it all to your villa

but there is only one thing i hope they try fo fix it, its the WiFi was so weak !

thanks to all the polite and helpful staffs

thank you so much banyan tree

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Mr Majed

Thank you for the wonderful review and nice pictures that you have posted of our resort. It is a delight to read that your stay with us was amazing and you chose to come back and visit us once again.

We will certainly share your comments with our hard working associates. Of course our beach front villa gives the impression of having the ocean at your door step which most guest finds exquisite.

In anticipation for a third visit, we thank you once again for the constructive comments.

Kind regards,

Frank
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

As this is a Banyan tree hotel I did have high expectations, so maybe this is why I wasnt quite as thrilled as I hoped.........
The bad stuff……..
The hotel is in need of some refurbishment, which they are currently undertaking, which we unfortunately found out when checking in! The first room we were given was next to a very noisy building project, after a few ‘issues’ we were relocated (twice) to a quieter room. We were given a written apology and Champagne so at least it was resolved.
The toilets in reception didn’t work the whole time we were there, and the main restaurant toilet wasn’t up to standard, no towels (frequently) the tap was broken and the flush dodgy!
It is isolated so dont expect to stroll anywhere other than hotel grounds, you will need a car.
Not sure if its because is was slightly out of season but there was no entertainment in the bar etc, except one night, and it that was quite good, but other than that nothing so we just ended up back in our room as the bar just lacked atmosphere with no music etc, there were lots of people staying though so not sure why they don’t do more.



The good……
The spa ........the best massage I have ever had anywhere in the world.
The beach/view....really very nice
Rooms are very spacious and clean, the bathroom is lovely with nice toiletries etc, sunken bath which opens to the outside, large decking area with nice little pool etc.
The staff as a whole were really friendly and helpful (especially the pool lady, Monica I think!), breakfast is the best you will get anywhere, and this may sound strange but I enjoyed the room service better than the restaurants (which are quite pricey for the standard I thought, except the Thai one) They go to town dressing up the decking area etc. We had our own cook it yourself private bar-b-q delivered and it was excellent, so much food we couldn’t have eaten it all if there had been 4 of us! The Thai restaurant is very good though and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Get one of the refurbished rooms but away from the building work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for the constructive review that you have posted about our resort. It is through comments like this that we are able to improve our services.

As you mentioned we are doing our refurbishments by stages and we do cater for complaints and seek to make our guests comfortable and try to reduce the amount of disturbances.

We will certainly share the comments with the team especially Ms Monita. We are glad that you enjoyed the spa as well as our cook-it yourself selection. Kindly note that we have Raw and Champagne in the La Varangue bar every Tuesdays, and Martini Matinee every Thursdays as well as cooking class upon guest request. All these could have been arrange upon arrival with the reception or guest services.

Dear Stringers, thank you once again for the nice comments.

Kind regards,

Frank
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fantastic Hotel , Nothing a Problem in any requests asked for, .

Situated on the south end of Mahe island with a fantastic view and beautiful beach, all private villa`s , with the hotel providing car hire and tours

nothing more than paradise

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the wonderful and positive review that you have posted on our resort. We will certainly share with our team these nice comments.

It is a pleasure to have welcomed you and as you wrote nothing is a problem if your requests are communicated to our wonderful associates who are always ready to serve.

Once again thank you for the nice comments and in anticipation for your next visit to us.

Kind regards,

Frank
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Banyan Tree Seychelles for part of our honeymoon between 07 June-14 June. Full disclosure: before the BT, we stayed a few nights at North Island. NI is one of the best resorts in the world and we were warned that everything else may seem disappointing after it. I will do my best not to base the below review on any comparison with NI. If I make any comparisons, it is with other BT properties we've stayed at around the world (ie Ko Samui).

Overall, we found the BT Seychelles disappointing given our experience at other BTs and the reputation of the chain. Our main issues were with the quality and maintenance of the facilities and the slow and inconsistent service.

Whereas the reception and Varangue bar are beautifully built in a charming colonial style, the villas are below par with excessive use of plastic (ie doors and windows). We had booked a Hillside Pool Villa and we got one with a very nice view (even from the bathroom!). However, we quickly realised that because of how the villa is situated, we only had sun until 1pm an had to spend every afternoon at the pool. I found this a huge disadvantage; if you are paying so much for your own villa with pool, you want to spend as much time as possible in privacy. We asked for a different villa and were told that most hillside villas have this exact same issue (we were shown another one but decided it wasn't better than the one we had).

We finally moved to a beach villa for the last 3 days of the stay for a surcharge of £300 per day. The beach villa is much better value: it is giant compared to the hillside villa and has its own jet pool and a bigger private pool. However, we were given villa 101 which has a lot less privacy than any of the others as it's right next to reception. All guests who don't have a beach villa lounge on the beach right next to 101 whereas the more secluded beach villas further away from the main building have a good section of the beach to themselves. Overall, the villas are situated rather close to one another.

In terms of the restaurants, as other commenters have noted, food is very good at the BT, particularly in the Thai restaurant. We did the Raw and Champagne night as well (sushi and champagne) and found that to be very good value for money: fresh, tasty sushi in the beautiful Varangue bar and a delightful live band. We did Chez Lamar as well: this is supposed to be a Creole restaurant which is open only on Wednesdays. Whereas the food was delicious and plentiful, it was definitely not Creole: for example, starters included tomato mozzarella salad and there was a buffet of cheese and ham. The barbecue was very good, however this all comes at a very hefty price not including any drinks. Besides, the advertising for the night said there would be live music and there was none. We also did an in-villa barbecue and that was great, again very good value for money: in fact, we didn't finish most of the meat and sides as it was way too much.

In terms of service, there is a lot to ask. Not only is it slow, it is inconsistent: for example, in the main restaurant, sometimes we were given a napkin, sometimes we had to ask for it; same with the bread which is served while you wait for your dish. Several times, we had to ask again for our wine as we were not served wine when the main course arrived. The staff are friendly and smiling, but service needs some serious work to establish standards of consistency. With breakfast, I found the buffet spread had a lot to be desired, but the a la carte options were good enough.

Staff could do more to anticipate and respond better to guests' needs. For example, for several days in a row the ocean washed up numerous little creatures which looked like jellyfish, but upon further research turned out to be something called "Portuguese men of war". The entire beach was covered with these one day along the sandline that waves reached to. Guests notified the hotel of these in the afternoon, and by that evening staff had clearly done their research as they were aware the animals were called Men of War. However, they took no initiative to warn guests about them or to give any information. Only when we specifically asked if this is normal or if these are typical for the region were we told that this is not typical at all but to stay away from the beach as apparently the animals stung even after being washed up on shore. They were cleaned up by the next morning. My point is that the hotel could have proactively left a note in guests' rooms once they found out about the animals like they left notes for so many other things. Another example: one day we came back to the villa to find strawberries and wine with no note whatsoever. We had to ask reception to find out why we got this gift, and only then they told us it was from a friend of ours and looked up her name.

Finally, and this is of course no fault of the hotel but I wish I'd known it before we chose where to stay: the beach at the BT is beautiful; however, the ocean is very rough and basically impossible to go into, especially at the time of year that we stayed (June). I knew this was at least partially due to the windy season and didn't particularly mind it, until we went one day for lunch at the nearby Four Seasons and the ocean there was flat as a pancake. We very much enjoyed going into the water at the FS. The pool area at the FS also appeared nicer and larger than that at the BT. The BT pool area was undergoing maintenance the entire week: the floor was boarded up with very ugly wooden covering which never appeared to be fixed. Related to poor maintenance, there was also a broken window in the main restaurant which also did not get fixed in the week we were there. Toilets in the main restaurant were in a very poor condition, with one of the flush handles broken in the ladies bathroom as well. These are all small things which, however, taken together definitely tarnish the overall image of the resort.

On the last night of our stay, after we found out the jacuzzi in the beach villa wasn't working (although it was fixed immediately after we called), we decided to speak to the manager, who had greeted us upon arrival, and share our comments. We had seen his responses to other reviews on Trip Advisor and he mentions sometimes that he wishes guests had expressed their opinion before leaving the hotel. He was unable to meet with us but we spoke with another member of staff and he wrote down our comments. This is just to say that we let the hotel know we'd be posting this review and shared all the above with them. The gentleman we spoke to said we'd receive an email response from the hotel, but so far nothing has arrived.

For me, the BT Seychelles is an ok 4-star resort, but nowhere near the 5 stars of the chain worldwide. We were on our honeymoon and tried very hard to be easy going, and thanks to the stay at NI and the overall sunny weather we had a very good time in the Seychelles; however, we will definitely not be coming back to the BT Seychelles nor will we recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Choose a beach villa far away from the reception. For hillside villas, check on how the villa is sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was travelling in Seychelles for business and get to stay in this fabulous hotel for one night. Before I came, I heard from contacts that the hotel may be a bit outdated and was a bit hesitated. But when I arrived, it was simply amazing.

The moment you arrived at the reception, it's like stepping into a different era. The main building is like a French Colonial home and has that "wow" factor. Check in was facilitated by resort host which greeted me at the steps.

I stayed at the beach front villa and it's so private, cosy and at the same time inviting. The aroma lamp at the villa was already lit up when i arrived with spa music playing on the DVD player. The host, which took me to the villa via buggy, explained the features of the villa thoroughly.

The villa is directly only the beach and as such the outside of the villa is open to the elements. I can see why some people think the villa looks a bit tired. Inside the room, which has just undergone a soft refurbishment, the decor and furniture really provide a very zen ambiance. There are minor areas that need fixing (like broken light at the Jacuzzi, steam room not working, door knob need a new coat of paint...etc) but nothing that would undermine your experience.

Highly recommended is the spa. Treatments were done in individual open-air treatment villas that have different view of the beach. So you can hear the sound of the ocean in the background while undergoing the heavenly treatments. Massage therapists are beyond great.

I really can't find fault with this gem although I can see how some guests who are not interested in that old-school, colonial ambiance can find it a bit stiff. But it's such a charming property and unique in Seychelles that I think everyone visiting the country should give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank W, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member

Thank you for the wonderful review that you have posted about our resort.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed the aspect of the ‘old colonial’ structure. We will certainly share with our spa team the commendable feedback for their treatments.

We will certainly improve and implement on the points stated. Thank you once again for the delightful review. We await your return for a much longer holiday, were you can enjoy our various services and activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Seychelles

Address: Anse Intendance, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Seychelles 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Seychelles offers an intimate retreat experience featuring its own signature blend of romance, rejuvenation and exotic sensuality. The philosophy behind the resort is based on providing a place for rejuvenation of the body, mind and soul – a sanctuary for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Banyan Tree Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Seychelles Hotel Mahe Island
Banyan Tree Seychelles Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.