We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Resort......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Seychelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Seychelles to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Seychelles
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Intendance, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning Resort......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were lucky enough to have won a 5 night honeymoon to The Banyan Tree when we purchased our wedding rings last year and we had the most amazing time from the moment we were met on arrival by Josie. The service we received was first class and the staff were so helpful and friendly. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the beach front villas which was beautiful, leading on to the stunning beach. We enjoyed our dining experience in the gazebo and our Thai Massage was just amazing. The food was lovely too from the buffet breakfast to dining at The Saffron restaurant which was outstanding. We would have loved to have stayed longer but we were looking forward to seeing our little boy at home. Thank you to all the staff at Banyan Tree for looking after us during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Nicola W

Thank you for the wonderful review that you have posted about our resort. it is a delight to read how enjoyable your stay was with us. We are glad our team was able to meet with all your needs. We will surely share this encouraging review with our team.

Once again thank you for your nice comments, we hope to see you in the near future and we hope to see the little one also in your next visit.


Thank you and warm regards,

Frank
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    102
    49
    25
    18
See reviews for
65
390
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A stately place in a gorgeous tropical setting with one of the nicest beaches in the world. The villas offer as much privacy as one could imagine, but all the usual services and amenities are just a phone call away. The quality of the food in the three restaurants has much improved compared to our earlier stays. The Spa is definitely to be recommended and offers utter relaxation in a unique atmosphere.

With the hotel fully booked, the service staff at breakfast appeared somewhat challenged. This was partly caused by the closing of the buffet as early as 10:30 am. If an early check-in is not possible, as in our case, a less improvised and more accommodating procedure could be imagined. The air condition in Villa 117 was incredibly loud, not entirely unlike the airplane cabin on our flight to the Seychelles. Finally, it must be said that this is an expensive place. We believe it is worth its money but do not recommend to go there on a tight budget, it will spoil the experience.

Nota bene: The guest’s birthdays are obviously checked and were celebrated in our case by providing a nice chocolate cake for breakfast plus a bottle of chilled champagne in our villa. The staff are very friendly and competent, we are looking forward to coming back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Matt B

Thank you for the wonderful review that you have posted about our resort. it is nice to read that the changes in our cuisines is noticeable, we will surely share it with our Food and Beverage team. We are happy that our personal touch to service was appreciated, as we strive to ensure that our guest feels at home during their stay and important occasion does not goes unnoticed.

Kindly note that the time for closing the breakfast buffet at 10.30am has been introduce one month ago by all Banyan Tree property.
Thank you once again for the constructive feedback; we are surely awaiting your return for another fantastic holiday.

Thank you and kind regards,

Frank

Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went here recently for my brother's wedding. It was really luxurious, clean and the staff were really helpful. The only problem would be the cost of food and drinks. It was very very expensive. E.g £4.50 for a can of coke. Other than this was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Katie H

Thank you for the wonderful review that you have posted of our resort. it is a delight that you enjoy the general ambience and atmosphere of the villa. Rest assured that the price range of our drinks is within the same range of other Hotel and resort which are on the same level as us.

Once again thank you for the nice review, in anticipation for a future visit.

Kind regards,

Frank
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Banyan Tree was the last resort we went to on our honeymoon in June 2008 and it was amazing. We had a hillside pool villa and it was gorgeous, spotlessly clean and had a great view of the sea and was 100% private. I really can't say enough good things about The Banyan Tree. Food was amazing, staff so friendly and welcoming nothing was ever to much trouble for them but saying that they were not over the top either.
We stayed at 3 different resorts on 3 different islands and they were all beautiful. This hotel is a must.

Room Tip: Any room will be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Ruthie B0406

Thank you for the wonderful review that you have posted of our resort. It is a delight to read that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us. We are glad that our cuisines were to your satisfactions.

Thank you once again for the positive review; we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Frank
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location, amazing beach! If you can go for beach villas - just on the beach, but with privacy, very, very comfortable with wonderful pool and day beds. Very good restaurants (especially oriental). Fantastic spa with great therapists. Unfortunately some problems with the service - very slow and unproffesional sometime. We had several problems with restaurants bookings (lost) and trip coordinations. They forgot ones or two times about turn down service! Didn't collect the dishes after room service lunch, didn't refill minibar, often you have to wait for a buggy more then half an hour. Not a value for money (according to similar hotels). Lack of all thislittle tnings wich spoil you and makes your trip unforgettable (personal attention, small gifts, coctail invitations etc.). Try a Four Seasons instead.

Room Tip: Go for beach villa- it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Zwasze-w-drodze

Thank you for the constructive review that you posted of our resort. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the ensemble of our villa as well as the privacy of our beaches. It is a pity that our team was short coming with regards to delivery of service. We would like to express our deepest apologies of how those little mistakes has marred your view of our resort. We should certainly go back to the team and refresh upon the importance of delivery with a heart, which is one of our motto whilst training our associates.

Once again thank you for the nice review.

Thank you,

Frank
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

i really don't no where to start! but i will start by saying perfection! i booked my holiday and wedding through seyexclusive who planned everything from flights to transfers to my wedding package which all ran so smoothly which i was amazed by as i was booking for 16 guests! Then when we arrived in the beautiful seychelles the banyan tree blew us away! friendly staff and an amazing beachfront villa, with its own jacuzzi and pool and short walk way to the beach it was paradise! i was then met by Maina the hotels events planner who arranged everything from my flowers to cake and decor of venue which was very relaxing for me and stress free! Our day went amazing followed by a bbq on the beach with our 16 guests. We really did not want to leave! we have travelled many 5 star places before but nothing has beaten here! So thank you banyan tree we can't wait to come back and visit our coconut tree we planted on our wedding day! Its given us the most amazing photos of our day to cherish forever! Friendly staff, amazing food (pricey yes but everything is imported) oh and children eat for free everywhere we had 3 children with us under 4 which they really do cater for! The spa is another level. loved it here! If there is a better hotel in the world with the same amazing views I would be very surprised. I rate the whole hotel at the very top..!!! Thank you again to everyone the newly married Mr and Mrs Hills.

Room Tip: All rooms are brilliant as we had a big party with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Keith h

Thank you for the wonderful review that you have posted about our resort. we are glad to read that your wedding went smoothly, we will certainly share this nice review to our team especially towards Ms Maina who arranged your wedding smoothly. We are happy that you were content with our menus and your BBQ after your wedding ceremony.

Thank you once again for the wonderful review; we await your return to extend the same impeccable service towards you.


Thank you,

Frank
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We spent 11 days in Banyan tree in Mahe and it has been one of our best stay ! The hotel is amazing, very beautiful, quiet. It is luxurious and in the same time there is something giving you the filling to be "at home" : you've got an atmosphere of freedom and to be alone !
The restaurants are excellent. We had half board during our stay and we have been surprised by the quality of the product and the cook. All was excellent , fish, meet, crustacean at the international restaurant and the Thai restaurant is also exceptional. The service is very good p, everybody is helpful , always smiling and very customer focused.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the wonderful review that you posted of our resort. It is indeed delightful to read that your time spent with us was a peaceful and relaxing one. We will certainly share this nice review with our team to show them how service with a heart has gone such a long way. We are glad that our cuisines were a delight for you and you enjoyed our variety of dishes that we offer.

Thank you once again for this nice review and in anticipation for another stay with us.

Warm regards,

Frank
Frank Wesselhoefft
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Seychelles

Address: Anse Intendance, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Seychelles offers an intimate retreat experience featuring its own signature blend of romance, rejuvenation and exotic sensuality. The philosophy behind the resort is based on providing a place for rejuvenation of the body, mind and soul – a sanctuary for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Seychelles Hotel Mahe Island
Banyan Tree Seychelles Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.