We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Demeure de Cap Macon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Demeure de Cap Macon to your Saves list
Demeure de Cap Macon
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Cap Macon, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 40 Mahe Island B&B and Inns
Torino
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent place to stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and myself spent 5 wonderful days in August at Demeure de Cap Macon, from the 24th to the 29th. The location is up a hill, overlooking the Ocean. The view is really beautiful. The beach is a 10 minutes walk (a bit shorter going downhill, a bit longer coming uphill).
I would say it is not the best beach we have seen in Mahe (the season might play a role) but we would have moved around no matter what. In 15' by car you get to the other coast and in 30/45' you get basically everywhere. Of course you need to rent a car but that would be the case no matter where you are staying in the Mahe island. Clearly, if you are a couch potato, just waning to linger on the beach five steps away from your room for your whole vacation that this is not the place for you. If, on the other hand, you like roaming around as we do, this is your spot!
The room we had was really really nice, comfy and clean. You feel at home there.
The owners are doing their best to make you feel welcome ... and they succeed. We had 3 dinners with them (the others we wanted to experience a bit around and their indication where right on the spot) and we enjoyed each of them. Maryanna is wonderful cook, she prepared us local treats, just to mention cigale de mer and shark cooked in three different ways. She and Jean Louis will go the extra miles to accomodate your need. I am a little touchy on food because of some weakness in my digestive tract and they customised the dishes to fit me.
They are also very flexible, we changed our arrival time and call them a short hour in advance and they managed to pick us up at the airport. They also let us keep the room till late in the afternoon (6pm) to take a shower before moving to the airport, and did not charge anything for the late check out.
More than this, we enjoyed the place because of their friendliness. We'll sure go back if our meandering will be taking us again to Mahe.
Laura and Roberto
roberto.saracco@ictlabs.eu

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night before we went to La Digue the Next day.

The guesthouse is 20minuts from the Airport. Priceless view over the ocean and the surroundings are absolutley stunning. There is a grocerystore 20minuts walk away, but no restaurant near by.

The rooms are really cosy and clean, and has veranda and kitchen. The only downside is that there were no door to our bathroom. Wifi is not available on every room, but you get great connection in the reception.

The family that owned the place were the friendiest host you can imagined. Before we came they asked us if we wanted pick-up at the airport. We arrived around 7 am and the room were ready before 10:00 AM. They made us both lunch and dinner, and the food is some of the best I eaten in the Seychelles.
The breakfast were also really great. We got fresh fruit, omelett, juice and coffee.

I really felt like home and I cant recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I will start with... If we ll ever go back to Seychelles... it would be here. Excellent location, very nice rooms with terrace, beautiful surroundings but most of all a great family that owns the place. Jean Louis and Marryanna were there for everything we need. From the very healthy home made breakfast to the most tasty creole dinners. And in between infos about best beaches, pieces of advice, calls to rent a car, etc. They became very close to our hearts from the first day and we shared a lot of lovely moments together during our eight days spent here.
Thank you!
Marius and Gabriela

Don t forget to rent a car. An automatic one will be great. (left hand side driving). There are so many beautiful beaches..... Jean Louis will help you if needed with good price for renting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent here a week. For this place there are not proper words to describe how good it is. Simply amazing and superb. Located on slopes, beautiful views over the forest to the blue sea. The owners take you as family friends, super breakfast with the fruits. The rooms are really big with full facilities. We felt like being at own holiday resort from the first moment we arrived. Car is mandatory as per the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me and my friends we completely blessed to have found this little hotel with the most charming owners that made our holiday a dream!

The most amazing view,not far from the city,beautifully homemade breakfast,charming people and energy that cant be offered in these so called 5 star hotels.

ITS NOT A PLACE FOR HUGE EGOS WITH UNREALISTIC EXPECTATIONS.

But the rest who would like to enjoy Seychelles as it is and walk and explore it thats the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent two great weeks in Cap Macon. Very quiet place, except the sound of the see and the birds. A few meters below the apartment is the fantastic beach, where we were mostly the only people. For going out to dinner or to visit other places we used a rented car, but there are also local buses at the main road.
Our apartment was Calice, with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (with shower) and a living-room with some kitchen facilities, that we used only to make tee. The huge refrigerator was very appreciated. In general the house meets a high European standard, having thermostat tap-ware in the shower, or German sanitary equipment. The friendly cleaning lady came daily to change the towels and do the room.
We experienced also what other guests have written already: the omelettes and tropical fruit for breakfast, the chat with the warm-hearted owners over a glass of wine in the evening at the veranda of the house. We felt during our stay that we were visiting friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Good things first--the owners are very nice and breakfast is delicious (omelet, fresh fruit, juice, local tea and so on). We were met at the airport for transfer and met with a cold beer on our arrival at the hotel (which is really basically a B&B...). The view is beautiful and the beach is nice. All this was fine.

BUT
1) the house is up a fairly steep hill (and a scary driveway) from the beach. When I say the house, I mean the one we stayed in, which was the older, secondary hotel building with two suites (more on that later). The other rooms were up another small hill and the main house was up another more considerable hill. None of this was clear from any previous reviews or comments so now it is!

2) Partly due to the hill and partly due to the hotel's placement on the island, there is basically nothing walkable from the hotel. You're going to need a car if you plan on eating or seeing anything other than the hotel grounds and the nearby beach (which do not have food). Again, would have been nice to know ahead of time.

3) Although the info on the hotel says it has wifi, this is only in the main lodge currently.

4) Same goes for the TV, which is a related issue.

5) Due to an abnormally dry season, there is not enough water pressure to get the water to the rooftop heater in the lower building, meaning cold showers. Also, the hot tub was empty.

6) We were placed in the lower building. Compared to the very new, larger and well-appointed upper building, we felt a little cheated. That what seemed to be better rooms were taken by the owners' family was also slightly irritating. Possibly we paid less? I don't know because no other option was available to us.

7) We were told to let the hosts know at breakfast if we would want them to cook us dinner one night. The one day we asked, they had already made plans for the night. The next morning (last day of our trip) they offered to make us lunch, but to be honest we were just done with the place by then.

We were left feeling like we could have paid considerably less for the same lackluster experience in a better location.

Tip:
book a car ahead of time, bring a book and a sense of humor and plan on stocking up or eating out for every meal. If you love being right on the beach or can't drive on the left side of the road, this is probably not the place for you.

If you speak French, I'm sure your stay here would be better than ours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
5.9 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
7.0 mi away
Petit Amour Villa
Petit Amour Villa
#1 of 3 in Glacis
5.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.8 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Glacis Heights Villa
Glacis Heights Villa
#1 of 2 in Glacis
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crown Beach Hotel
Crown Beach Hotel
#7 of 40 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demeure de Cap Macon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demeure de Cap Macon

Address: Cap Macon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Demeure de Cap Macon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Demeure de Cap Macon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demeure De Cap Macon Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demeure de Cap Macon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.