We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only hotel i would go to in Seychelles!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Demeure de Cap Macon

Save Saved
You added Demeure de Cap Macon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Demeure de Cap Macon
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Cap Macon, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Mahe Island B&B and Inns
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“The only hotel i would go to in Seychelles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me and my friends we completely blessed to have found this little hotel with the most charming owners that made our holiday a dream!

The most amazing view,not far from the city,beautifully homemade breakfast,charming people and energy that cant be offered in these so called 5 star hotels.

ITS NOT A PLACE FOR HUGE EGOS WITH UNREALISTIC EXPECTATIONS.

But the rest who would like to enjoy Seychelles as it is and walk and explore it thats the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent two great weeks in Cap Macon. Very quiet place, except the sound of the see and the birds. A few meters below the apartment is the fantastic beach, where we were mostly the only people. For going out to dinner or to visit other places we used a rented car, but there are also local buses at the main road.
Our apartment was Calice, with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (with shower) and a living-room with some kitchen facilities, that we used only to make tee. The huge refrigerator was very appreciated. In general the house meets a high European standard, having thermostat tap-ware in the shower, or German sanitary equipment. The friendly cleaning lady came daily to change the towels and do the room.
We experienced also what other guests have written already: the omelettes and tropical fruit for breakfast, the chat with the warm-hearted owners over a glass of wine in the evening at the veranda of the house. We felt during our stay that we were visiting friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Good things first--the owners are very nice and breakfast is delicious (omelet, fresh fruit, juice, local tea and so on). We were met at the airport for transfer and met with a cold beer on our arrival at the hotel (which is really basically a B&B...). The view is beautiful and the beach is nice. All this was fine.

BUT
1) the house is up a fairly steep hill (and a scary driveway) from the beach. When I say the house, I mean the one we stayed in, which was the older, secondary hotel building with two suites (more on that later). The other rooms were up another small hill and the main house was up another more considerable hill. None of this was clear from any previous reviews or comments so now it is!

2) Partly due to the hill and partly due to the hotel's placement on the island, there is basically nothing walkable from the hotel. You're going to need a car if you plan on eating or seeing anything other than the hotel grounds and the nearby beach (which do not have food). Again, would have been nice to know ahead of time.

3) Although the info on the hotel says it has wifi, this is only in the main lodge currently.

4) Same goes for the TV, which is a related issue.

5) Due to an abnormally dry season, there is not enough water pressure to get the water to the rooftop heater in the lower building, meaning cold showers. Also, the hot tub was empty.

6) We were placed in the lower building. Compared to the very new, larger and well-appointed upper building, we felt a little cheated. That what seemed to be better rooms were taken by the owners' family was also slightly irritating. Possibly we paid less? I don't know because no other option was available to us.

7) We were told to let the hosts know at breakfast if we would want them to cook us dinner one night. The one day we asked, they had already made plans for the night. The next morning (last day of our trip) they offered to make us lunch, but to be honest we were just done with the place by then.

We were left feeling like we could have paid considerably less for the same lackluster experience in a better location.

Tip:
book a car ahead of time, bring a book and a sense of humor and plan on stocking up or eating out for every meal. If you love being right on the beach or can't drive on the left side of the road, this is probably not the place for you.

If you speak French, I'm sure your stay here would be better than ours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Lovely green property ,the sea is just a i minute walk away,quiet serene,tranquil.The rooms are spotless and very tastefully decorated.The bath rooms are clean with brilliant shower features.The most amazing part however are the hosts,Mary anne and Jean louis...who accomadate your every need to the best of their ability.Both of them are excellent cooks so dinner is must do at the hotel.Breakfast is at your leisure and Jean Louis's omelettes are phenomenal.The area around Anse forbian is beautiful with quiet shady secluded beaches.There is a small grocery shop 10 minute walk away where you can pick up your basic stuff from. Overall an excellent experience and we'll surely come back as we feel we made friends there.

Room Tip: the two rooms in the separate bungalow,were quiet we stayed in one called eucalyptus which had a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The place is located in the south of the island by a nice beach in a very quiet area.
The Demeure de Cap Maçon is made of 5 flats, each with a different decoration. We were staying in the one called “Santol” which has a Living room with a open kitchen , a bathroom and a bedroom.
The decoration is tastefull and all the equipments ( furnitures, kitchen, air conditionning…) are new and high quality.
All rooms are fairly big and we therefore felt very comfortable in this flat. It goes without saying that the place was perfectly clean.
However what made our stay memorable is the warm welcome of the hosts! They really make everything they can to make your stay pleasant. They advise you on the nice places to see, on the local culture and history…
Thanks to their French touch the food is good and red wine never far …!
Katharina & Frédéric

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Demeure de Cap Macon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demeure de Cap Macon

Address: Cap Macon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Demeure de Cap Macon 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Demeure de Cap Macon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demeure De Cap Macon Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demeure de Cap Macon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.