We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a sandwich bar” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Plaine St. Andre

La Plaine St. Andre
La Plaine St. Andre, Mahe Island, Seychelles
002484372010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 54 restaurants in Mahe Island
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just a sandwich bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Its ok nothing special little choice mostly just sandwiches not the best good if your in a hurry and want something simple I wouldnt recommend it to anyone apart for people who are looking for a plain sandwich.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle-Louise, Tourism & Events Co-ordinator at La Plaine St. Andre, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review, however I must say that I am a little confused.

Prior to February of this year we had a seperate lunch and dinner menu.
For lunch we had a selection of salads, wraps and burgers as well as our 'Creole Classics' section in which we offered various Coconut Curries, a Creole Casserole and Fish Fillet.
Our dinner menu was a more substantial selection of starters, mains and desserts.

We now have a more extensive menu which is on offer for both lunch and dinner.

I fear that for some reason you only saw one side of our menu, and I am very sorry for this.

I do hope you can be tempted to another visit to our property the next time you visit Seychelles.
If you are curious, our menu is available to be viewed on our website at www.laplaine.sc.

Thanks again for your feedback - every review helps towards the continuous improvement of our restaurant.

Kind Regards,
Isabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    80
    41
    11
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place. Super food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

As soon as you step into La Plaine, you feel as if you have been transported into an 1800 style plantation house as that's what it is. It's also a rum distillery so if you want you can do a tour of the distillery and the grounds which are beautiful. We chose to spend our evening over drinks and dinner - the rum cocktails are worth trying and the food is just delicious. My husband got the grilled fish and I opted for the octopus curry - both of which were just delicious and prepared to our liking. Service is also very prompt and the staff are friendly. Would definitely recommend a visit to try out the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Place Great food Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

A 20 mins drive from Banyan Tree Live music on Friday night which was great. The building itself is a piece of art and a must see.

The food was very good starter of Tuna Tartar and dont remember what the wifey ordered but she really liked it. Main course was chicken curry (creol dish) and job fish both were really good.

The rose wine was good but wasn't cold enough although they brought an a lot of ice to keep the bottle in

overall a great experience and will go back in a heart beat. The value for money is great as welll.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Plantation Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Fantastic restaurant set on beautiful grounds with top service and a selection of cocktails that will keep you there all afternoon. The service was the best that we have experienced in the seychelles - even better than in our five star hotel!

We spent an afternoon taking the distillery tour, had lunch and cocktails in the garden, and relaxed into the atmosphere by playing petanque in the sunshine. We had such a great time that we even stayed for dinner! The lunch menu is simple and everything we had was delicious with wraps, sandwiches and light creole dishes.

Dinner was a little more formal, but still superbly enjoyable, with an almost european-seychelles fusion to the menu and possibly the best wine list on the island to complement it.

In short, a must see venue and must try restaurant - it offers just so much more than anywhere else on the island and truly is the complete day-out!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Dining at the distillery’s restaurant is outstanding. Have been there twice and will certainly return if the trip goes to the Seychelles. The food is splendid and the atmosphere is relaxed and considerate.
I believe that whatever you choose from the menu it is recommendable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plaine St. Andre also viewed

Mahe Island, Seychelles
Victoria, Mahe Island
 
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Beau Vallon, Mahe Island
 

Been to La Plaine St. Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plaine St. Andre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.