We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Plage? Only if plage means garbage!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Plage Restaurant

La Plage Restaurant
Beau Vallon Beach | Beau Vallon, Mahe Island Beau Vallon, Seychelles
+248 4 620 240
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 59 Restaurants in Mahe Island
Price range: $16 - $81
Cuisines: Seafood, Tapas, Gastropub, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“La Plage? Only if plage means garbage!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Only out of absolute desperation did we eat at this 'restaurant'. They were out of 75% of the menu so we were reduced to caesar salads and some vegetable tandoori thing that fit in the palm of my hand. The best part was that it came out in a plastic bag that looked like they had just thrown in the microwave on high for 30 seconds. I would say the food was good but I didn't have a chance to taste it properly in four bites. We had to leave that place and find somewhere else to eat as we were still hungry. The hour and a half wait was made better by the scenic view on the beach but that's about all this place had going for it. For a main course and an a shake costing $50 this was well over the line of obscene. Do yourself a favour and eat at The Boathouse across the street! Seriously worst dining experience of my life...by far!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred F, Propriétaire at La Plage Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
What is "garbage" (and I won't add sir obviously !) is your comment and your recommendation which indicates clearly what level and quantities of food you are usually ingurgitating to feed yourself ! Continue your culinary life enjoying a lot, cheap and tasteless and stop trying to appreciate and commenting any other type of cuisine. I don't know why I bother but for your information the what you call a "plastic bag" is a "papillotte" as mentioned on our menu ... But you wouldn't that obviously . So why do you order things you don't understand and than criticize it not knowing what it should look or taste like . In fact, this coherent with the rest .
Good day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    116
    38
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Poor service, rich prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We arrived without reservations and, unfortunately for us, the manager eventually was able to find us a table. We waited for over an hour for our food. The snapper was good, as were the frappes. We are not able to rate the jobfish because it never arrived, the clearly overwhelmed waitress having apparently only placed orders for three entrees for our party of four. The beach location was very nice. The prices, however, were eye-poppingly expensive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cool location and good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice restaurant with beautiful terrace right on the beach, good food, a bit pricey and the service is friendly but the kitchen requires a lot of patience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Shameful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

So what's wrong with waiting 90 minutes for a greasy, cheap processed-meat burger, accompanied by equally greasy fries and three shreds of lettuce with pretensions to being a salad?

Well, if you're driving down a motorway in the middle of nowhere, and ravenously hungry, and the only eatery anywhere is a dingy road-side services cafe 1½ hours ahead, and you absolutely have to eat soon or you'll pass out - OK, give it a whirl.

But if that's what you eventually get served at up-market eatery La Plage on Beau Vallon beach in the Seychelles, it would be a disgrace ... particularly at $34 per so-called "Angus burger".

The only good thing about the burgers was that the beef patties were so small. We tried to feed a few bits to a passing dog, but he wouldn't touch them. That animal was a lot smarter than we were.

Right on the beach, so the sound of the waves and 4 glasses of luke-warm, flat Prosecco kept us soothed. Beyond the view, there's absolutely no reason to go there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred F, Propriétaire at La Plage Restaurant, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
What is shameful is your comments on 2 of the most respected establishments in Seychelles ! Constance Ephelia hotel and our restaurant !
May I ask why you came to Seychelles to shoot at some of the finest professionals in the industry ? What is your purpose ?
Luckily and thankfully , a very large majority of our "normal" and regular clients have expressed their contentment after having stayed or dined at our premises. Read for yourself here on TripAdvisor !
In the future, avoid dining out since it's obvious that you'll only, eventually, be satisfied by something you'll have prepared for yourself ! But in fact, reading you again , I doubt it ...
Enjoy life !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome creole food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

we went there twice, the strawberry daiquiri was so fresh, the creole vaz dish was really really good , we also had seafood platter, the staff r genuine and helpful,over looking the beach front .......

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plage Restaurant also viewed

Mahe Island, Seychelles
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Victoria, Mahe Island
 

Been to La Plage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.