We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, such bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baobab

Baobab
Beau Vallon Beach, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 59 Restaurants in Mahe Island
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, such bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The service in Seychelles is generally rubbish but this place is probably the worst I have been to on the island. The menu is very basic, they do not have any parmesan or butter.....

The staff are rude and unfriendly but the food is actually not bad at all. I would not eat in the place if it was in the uk but generally Seychelles does not have the best food so compared to other local restaurants its probably better then others.

Its also reasonably priced .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    83
    42
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Slow-roasted pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

You get what you pay for in life, and this is a cheap and cheerful place to grab a pizza and a beer, just off the beach. So where restaurants are rated on their food, location and service, I'm glad to report to that what little you pay definitely goes towards to the things that matter!

The pizza was simply excellent, and so was the location. The service on the other hand was *dreadfully* slow, and forgetful. Slow when busy is one thing... slow when sitting there chatting to each other is just bad. But, this is the Seychelles... chill out!

Go and enjoy the pizza. Just don't expect it to turn up quickly.

(Pro-tip: don't let yourself be seated by the oven!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nice
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“SERVICE WAS ORRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Maybe the food is good ...but I don't advice anybody to go there unless they want to wait for 2 hours and still do not get 2 pizzas and 2 fish salads.
We arrived at 8 and there where not table available so we wait for 15 minutes . Fair enough.
Once we have the table it take another 30 minutes to make the order . 2 salads and 2 pizzas . After one and half our no food and the worst is that 4 Couples that arrived after us got served.
We decide to pay for the drinks and to leave . I Think 2 hours waiting it is not like I am not patient.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cheap and basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Basic short menu.Pasta ,pizza, chips and 2 salads.Visited after 815pm and they had very little left. Beers are cheap by Seychelles standards. Proper pizza oven,restaurant has sand floor can be accessed directly from the beach , or by road, its tucked away ,just off the road opposite La Fountaine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Pizza - Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Delicious Pizza and fantastic location directly on the beach! The Staff are wonderful and very accomodating!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baobab also viewed

Mahe Island, Seychelles
Beau Vallon, Mahe Island
 
Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
Victoria, Mahe Island
 

Been to Baobab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baobab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.