We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location Lovely Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Constance Ephelia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Constance Ephelia to your Saves list
Constance Ephelia
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CONSTANCE U SPA OFFER
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stunning Location Lovely Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Flew the short hop from Dubai to Seychelles, what a lovely lovely island with great people - feels just like Barbados.
We used the express meet and greet arrival with Creole Travel which was very useful, long queues at passport control but all good natured. Nice old fashioned tin hut airport.

30 min drive to the hotel, greeted by Constance staff nicely, but had no idea who we were (despite it being an Emirates Holiday booking and managing to meet us at the airport, we were not on the arrivals schedule for a room !)

Sorted out after 40 mins, and given a nice room which we imagine though that they reserve for the odd arrivals like us ! Its was a very nice fit out, but the aircon was feeble throughout the stay despite 3 'repair visits'.

Hotel is in a stunning location with two great beaches over a couple of 1000 acres.WE loved :

1. The Kids Club - really really good high standard nursery care, run expertly by Rachel and Stephan and team - made our holiday very smooth and daughter did not want to come back in the evening ! They did everything from turtle watching, swimming, zip lining, sand pictures, etc etc one of the best I have seen.
2. South beach - quiet, 'lagoon like', hardly anyone on it - for some reason people migrate to the north ( 10 mins buggy ride) which whilst nice, is a bit 'package' at times with lots of sunbeds in a row under the trees - very Malaga ! By contrast the south is more Caribbean island, perfect beach, no hassle just lovely and near kids club and restaurants.

3. Restaurants - we worked out very quickly that as its a big hotel, they clearly feel the need to 'buffet' everything for mass catering which is acceptable but lacks charm at times. Three restaurants are really good - Helios has a nice evening menu, Adam and Eve has just superb Chinese food not to miss, and the high end Cyann was superb, a real surprise - a five star restaurant with superb wines, food, sushi bar etc - largely very quiet when we were there despite only a small supplement.
4. The Zip line Crew - what a great experience ! 8 forest zip lines crossing gorges, its superb fun for all - our 6yr old loved it!

Downsides :
1. Buggies - a lot of hanging around for buggies when going north to south - they have not got this right, and there are too many managers riding around in staff buggies which riles.
2. Management - largely invisible, and the hotel suffers from this cost centre focus on each restaurant, facility etc and lots of silly little rules. For instance :
3. Beach bar - we had the fabulous Nelson looking after us on South Beach, and we ordered from the beach menu, choice was pizza or panini - thats it. We sat at the pool outside the Adam and Eve ( 10 mtrs) to be told we could not order sushi poolside as the 'manager' had decided it was not allowed (!). The beach menu is poor enough, why not give customers what they want for lunch ???
4. Issues - we were rang by Guest Relations about our room, and told them twice we had aircon issues and they were not resolved - neither time resulted in any feedback or action.
5. GM - at no time were we aware of the GM or mgt team although we did get a note through the door to meet 'The Management' for a welcome drink half way through. I am staggered that no one wants to put their name on an invitation ? Needless to say we did not attend as it was clearly going through the motions.
6.Booked the shuttle bus into Victoria for a 9am prompt departure - had to then wait for 2 no show guests ( 30 mins) who 'were coming' - we hijacked the driver nicely and left the staff member still waiting with a clipboard for her 'late arrivals' ( bet she's still there clipboard in hand !)

Read this and you might think we hated it, but its a great hotel with superb individual staff ( Rebecca on reception, Rachel Kids Cub, Nelson Beach). Pity that the management are largely missing and busy riding around no doubt having 'management meetings and generally avoiding clients. I

f I owned Constance I would kick this hotel up the backside and tell it to shape up with a new GM quick. This hotel needs to be pitched higher up the market as it has all the right ingredients - greater attention to customer experience & service and revenues would increase.

In terms of clientele, its a mix of internationals, but not high end as one might imagine - its an Emirates crew hotel, ltoo many budget conscious Russians and French shovelling at the buffet...

Despite this we loved the hotel overall and the Seychelles and will be back.We have stayed with Constance before ( Prince Maurice) and generally a great brand.

Room Tip: Great Kids Club, south beach preferred, Cyann and Adam & Eve Restaurants. Bring Duty free wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    455
    144
    48
    18
See reviews for
385
1,148
25
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fr
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Of course price are as expected for such hotel and as is not an all inclusive hotel, all extra are for fee even water. (Bad point for one glass of champagne rose , not so good, charge 580 roupies, 36 euros...). But There is a lot of good points: Well maintened hotel, Nice junior suite, big resort with multiple beach or pool option (pro: always beach chair avalaible during our stay april 2014, bad: need some walk, free shuttle avalaible), good staff, 5 option for dinner (seselwa the best for us...)... Overall impression is good. Good for lovers or family. If We return in Seychelles, no doubt We choose constance quality, and probably try the Lemuria because our day trip in Praslin make us discover beautiful Island and beach.

Room Tip: Junior suite if you Want a room with direct access with pool (south of resort), senior suite or vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Constance Ephelia.Glad to know that you enjoyed the overall services.Should you require assistance in booking Constance Lemuria for yor next holiday our central reservations team would be pleased to assist you.You could contact them at resaworld@constancehotels.com.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed for a week during Easter and this hotel was amazing. The accommodation was excellent (we had a room at the South Beach) with a lovely balcony, beautiful bathroom and great size room for two adults and one child (9 years old). The accommodation at the south beach is in blocks which surround a pool, just metres away from the beach. We ate at the buffet restaurant most nights as this worked well for us and considering it was peak time, we were always seated immediately. The food was excellent, lots of choice and with different themes throughout the week, we never got bored. We spent more time at the North Beach as the coral reef was great for snorkelling and our son loved all the different water sports on offer. He also loved the zip wire and wanted to do the rock climbing but sadly the rock was too wet when we'd booked. The north beach snack bar was best for lunch with plenty of choice and the beaches were stunning, not to busy with comfy sun loungers. The staff were very attentive and friendly and special mention to Gemma on Reception who remembered our name. The service was excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel. Top tips - hire a car for the time you are there so you can explore the island, there are some wonderful beaches and snorkelling available and for a week it cost only slightly more than an airport transfer but note, the roads are steep, windy and a bit hairy! If you don't want to do too much walking, ask for a room near to the restaurant/reception area - buggy's are available but sometimes you have to wait for one. We popped out to a local shop and bought some snacks and cans for the room rather than paying high prices for the mini bar. I hope we can visit this hotel again in the future, Seychelles is beautiful and so is this hotel!

Room Tip: To avoid walking too much, ask for a room close to the restaurant/reception area. Hire a car and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your encouraging review. At Constance Ephelia, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.
We have activties for all age groups which is indeed our unique selling point and I am pleased to know your son enjoyed his stay here as well.Thank you again for the feedback.
We look forward to your return visit.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a great time at the Ephelia and surely recommend it with or with out babies.
Room: we had a junior suite (317) 2nd floor, at the south edge of the property. View was spectacular to the green grounds, pool and south beach. We felt we had all the privacy and the room was quite. The room is nicely decorated, big bathroom and big balcony. We asked our travel agent for a room on the ground floor since we had a baby stroller and also for a baby cot. When we arrived we didn’t get any of these but maybe it’s our agents fault. Anyhow, we got the baby cot after calling the reception and were also offered to change to a ground floor room later that night. But we already unpacked so we stayed at the room we got. NOTE: balcony is not baby-proof! Room house keeping was the weak joint- it took them three days to take a plate we had from room service (actually they only took it when I placed it outside the room) and also the water distribution was bad. Some days we didn’t get any bottle, another day we got one and on a different day we got two bottles.
Beaches and pools: We enjoyed both beaches very much. They are clean and well maintained, sun beds were always available, water is warm & clear. We enjoyed the water sports equipment valuable free of charge (SUP, basic windsurf equipment, paddle boat…). Snorkeling is nice but not more than that. Restaurants service is always with a smile and efficient and the sandwiches we ordered were good. Prices are high as everything in Seychelles. South beach has a low tide during the day so we walked to the north beach at morning and walked back at the afternoon. It took around 15 minutes each side and we enjoyed the walks, although you can just hop on one of the transports. We enjoyed the pools all around the resort, they are clean and well maintained.
Restaurants: We had most of our dinners at the Corossol buffet. Service was superb, variety of food was huge and it was good! There was even staff from the kids club that helped us with our baby while we were taking the dishes. Each night they had a different menu. Breakfast was also a treat at the Corossol although the menu was fixed more or less every morning. Our daughter even got a gift for Easter . “Adam & Eve” restaurant- dined there one night, service was very good although we did not enjoy the dishes that much (except the deserts and wine). Nothing bad, just a matter of taste. “Helios” restaurant- this was the only time we were really disappointed at the Ephelia. There was an Italian meal the night we went and service was not good. We had to call the waiter three times until we got the wine menu (anyone hear of on Italian menu with no wine???). The main dish came a very very long time after the appetizer (not just for our table) and the fish we got was dry and not eatable. So we hoped some lemon would help but had to call three waiters until we got it. We had one lunch at the Cyann restaurant- very good food and service (they prepared especially for us as we got there just when they were closing), but expensive.
Kids club/ babysitters: Another highlight of the Ephelia! Great stuff that knows how to reach children and babies. We had a babysitter for two nights and were very satisfied.

Room Tip: The junior suite is a room with a big bed and a sofa. We also had a baby cot in the room and we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hi - stayed in this hotel a few years ago but only started to use tripadvisor to write all my reviews.

Constance was a lovely hotel, food selection and quality was the highlight of this hotel. Overall it was a fairly small hotel but it never felt over crowded during the day, service was very good.

Would I return agin? Most definitely!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

What a brilliant hotel! We travelled here to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary, upon arrival it was pouring with rain - not quite what we were expecting! However once we arrived at the hotel - 40 mins drive from the airport, it soon cleared up and the welcome we received from Racquel was brilliant, we had arrived at 9am, so we're not expecting to be able to get into our room until later in the day but as soon as the check in formalities were complete she was able to take us to our room in 400 block. This was close to the reception area on the South side and was nice and quiet. The roo is dry high tech very comfortable and exceptionally clean. I had requested an upstairs room which we were provided with.
The hotel is spread over a huge area, and we got lost a few times before getting our bearings, the hotel has been very cleverly laid out the the rooms are set in smaller clusters around a pool, and a restaurant.
The resort is spread over two main areas the South Beach where the suites are located, and the North Beach, where the family suites and private villas are located. The South beach is tranquil and quiet, whereas the North side is busier with water sports.
We were booked on a half board basis, which i would recommend, as the cost of food and drink is very expensive. We used to go outside the resort on the North side to a small shop to get some nibbles and beers etc to have on our balcony prior to our evening meal.
The restaurants are all good we ate at the Corosol, Helios, Sesewala and Adam & Eve, all very good.
It is quite a walk from one end of the resort to the other, so grab a golf buggy, they run frequently, and everyone is really happy and willing to help in any way. Special mention to Hilda a buggy driver who was fantastic, a great asset to the hotel.
We were also invited to the managers cocktail party one evening, this was brilliant, and we met some of the management team. Seema was very nice and welcoming, it was a pleasure to meet her and that she had time for a chat with us. Thank you.
We hired a local driver via the hotel to take us around the island for a morning, this was well worthwhile and we were able to get a flavour of the beautiful island. Well worthwhile.
All in all a fantastic choice to celebrate our anniversary, all the staff were great, hotel great , Seychelles great. We hope to be able to return one day.,
If you get the chance go to the Seychelles, it is everything you think it will be and more!

Room Tip: Room in block 400 upstairs, is lovely and quiet but relatively close to the main Reception area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

As other reviews have said, the North beach is much better- there are plenty of loungers and it is great for swimming. It is picture perfect and the free pedalos, kayak etc are great. However, don't bother with the snorkeling equipment as you won't see much and the water can be cloudy as the sand is so fine. If you want to see fish, I think you need to go on a day trip.

The South beach is almost non-existent at high tide but at other times it is nice for a walk and the mangrove kayak tour leaving from the boat house is not to be missed! The water is shallow and it is possible to walk over to the island across from the beach but I would recommend taking some coral shoes along with you.

We stayed in a junior suite which was lovely and for the two of us there was plenty of room. There was so much to do that we didn't spend that much time in it! The spa is stunning and free to use until 2pm. Despite the resort being 97% full, we didn't feel have any trouble getting loungers etc and didn't feel that it was overcrowded. It did seem that the pools in the South of the resort were a bit busy- mainly with families but this did not affect us as we much prefer to swim in the sea. I was surprised that so many people took their children on a holiday like this so if that is a problem for you, try to go outside of school holidays. We used insect repellent and a plug-in in our room and had no trouble at all with mosquitoes. I would agree with the other reviewers who say that the service can be patchy- sometimes it exceeded my expectations and others it was a little lacking. We went full board but if you are planning on doing many trips you should go half board at the least as there is nothing much around the hotel. On the whole I would definitely recommend this resort as it is such a beautiful setting and the hotel as a lot of facilities.

Room Tip: If staying on south side go for a room nearer reception to reduce walking time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constance Ephelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Ephelia

Address: Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mahe Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Ephelia 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rekindle your passion for life at the beautiful, family-friendly 5* Constance Ephelia. Relax and unwind on the hotel’s two stunning white-sand beaches lapped by the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. Set on the island of Mahe and overlooking the Port Launay National Marine Park, Ephelia offers a treasure trove of discovery for divers and snorkelers. Relish the luxury of space in the elegantly contemporary accommodation. Choose from 7 types of accommodation from the luxurious junior and senior suites to the super deluxe hillside villas. Discover your favourite of our 5 restaurants each offering something deliciously different. Pamper yourself with a wide range of treatments at our Spa Village or even stay in one of our spa villas complete with private pool and treatment room. Have fun and keep active at our fully equipped gym or challenge the kids to a game of tennis, squash or even beach volleyball. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Constance Ephelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Ephelia Hotel Mahe Island
Constance Ephelia Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constance Ephelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.