We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really special holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constance Ephelia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Constance Ephelia to your Saves list
Constance Ephelia
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Constance Diving Offer
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Mahe Island
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Really special holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We travelled to the Constance Ephelia at the End of July/Beg Aug this year with my wife and 2 teenage children. After a long Journey we were met by the Management who quickly dealt with our check in and gave us an upgrade to a 3 bedroom Family Villa. Wow was the first words that came to us when we were shown our accommodation . The villas have an open plan lounge area which looks out to the infinity pool . The main bedroom is on the ground floor with a huge bathroom and the 2 other bedrooms being on the 1st floor sharing a further large bathroom. The standard of accommodation was 1st class.

We were staying on half board and as we were their for 12nights we shared our time between all of the restaurants with Adam and Eve and Seselwa being our favourites.

This is a large sprawling resort which has plenty of activities for all of the family to enjoy. We done Kayaking, Zip wire, rock climbing and a few Scuba dives to name a few. The staff at the diving centre was great and we experienced many varied dive sites with the wreck dive (Twin Barges) being our favourite.

Both beaches here were nice but the North Beach was our preferred choice. We had our own Villa host called Sathy who was a gentle giant and would do anything for us to make our stay as memorable as he could. He even had a couple of surprises for us near the end of our Stay that we're a great treat or us all.

All of the staff were very efficient and friendly. This came from the leadership of the management team. In my view the management at the resort were the most professional and hands on I have ever experienced. One of the Managers Seema was always around making sure that everyone was being we'll looked after would always stop to have a chat with us with was a nice gesture.

When sadly the time had come for us to leave, Seema along with the Christine and Philippe Guitton the general manager all came out especially to see us off which was a really nice touch. We would certainly come back one day and our experience has made us wanting to try other Constance Hotels in the future.

With thanks from the Ball family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Mr.Ball,
Thank you for the wonderful review regarding your stay at Constance Ephelia.It was indeed a great pleasure to host you and family at our resort .I hope we will have another oppurtunity to have you amongst us at Constance Ephelia.We look forward to it.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    386
    121
    46
    15
See reviews for
312
956
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Visited this resort for the first time last week. The resort is beautifully situated and the accommodation in a Junior Suite was excellent. A short stroll took us to the beach or one of the 6 pools dotted around the South Beach.
Breakfast buffet in Corossol was excellent with a huge selection . Something for every palate.
Dinner is served in a selection of on site restaurants No reservations required for Corossol which served a themed buffet each evening. The other restaurants required reservations some involving a supplement even if you were booked on half board. The supplements were very expensive as were the drinks prices. Two glasses of fresh orange juice £15 !!!! Snacks at lunch time served at the pool bars were also pricey. Two beefburgers (no fries) and two soft drinks £49
Would think twice before returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Constance Ephelia.We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the resort apart from the prices.Due to the high import costs clients may find prices to be higher however we endeavour to provide an array of activties,happy hours, unique spa experiences in order for the client to have the value for money.
Hope you will consider a return visit to Constance Ephelia.We would be very pleased to have you amongst us.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My word, the most fantastic resort. We had a spa villa for a week, and it was quite superb. The accommodation was top notch: very luxurious with steam room, sauna, pool, huge jacuzzi, two huge bedrooms which were self-contained. The service was also first class, with a personal service second to none.

Plenty of inclusive water sports, excellent food with plenty of choice.

We will love to go back, and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: The spa villas as amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this wonderful endorsement regarding the product and services of our resort .It is our endeavour to provide impeccable experience to each guest who comes to our resort.I am glad to know we were able to achieve that.
It would be indeed our great pleasure to welocme you back at Constance Ephelia.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

we stayed there in August 2013 for 10 nights, we are a family of 5 with a teenager (16) and 2 kids (11 and 8). We stayed in 2 side by side junior suites and they were perfect for us.
Rooms were truly good with space and good bathroom in the bedroom (not truly separated but intimacy can be respected with sliding doors). Good firm large bed and enough storage for clothes and stuff.
Half board is a minimum because food is not cheap (neither for drinks) but you are in a 4 superior stars' hotel.
Beaches are beautiful, the South one is quieter and North one is more appointed with snorkeling and other sea activities (pay extra$), with waiters and more sun bed chairs... North beach is a little overcrowded too.
Our family enjoyed nice swimming pools and tennis courts, daily full buffet's breakfast and diner, beautiful sand and clear sea waters (pristine beaches), very tasty restaurants for lunch and diner... All in all in a very friendly luxurious atmosphere (smart casual).
SPA facility is free until 2PM (sauna and steaming room are in isolated small houses, several jacuzzis and a stunning pool are there with 2 separated relaxing spaces,what else? Hum, bring your book... Or book a yoga lesson).
Indian/Mauritian workers are amazing,local ones need to improve their sense of service but most of them try to do their job.
This resort is so huge that you never feel overcrowd: lots of space, only nature's noise, whoa!!
We crossed lots of couples, some families and several groups. Everyone seemed to appreciate: we DID and so should you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review regarding your stay at Constance Ephelia resort.We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.Our resort is designed to cater all categories of guests.There are plenty of activties both free and paid to chose from.
We are glad to know we were able to suit your needs & you had a good stay.
We look forward to welcome you back at Constance Ephelia in not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just spent 5 days there. Fantastic location, great facikites and really warm and friendly staff. I was there on a work related trip so I can't comment on cost but nothing was too much trouble.room was really spacious with a balcony. Pool and beach were great as well.

Room Tip: Junioe suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much regarding your experience at Constance Ephelia resort.We are pleased to know that you liked the product and services.
Hope you will plan a vacation to Constance Ephelia in near future in order to experience Constance hospitality again.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Ephelia Resort in Seychelles from the 16-18th of September 2013

Location: The hotel is around 40 minutes from the airport by car. The route takes you via the newly formed Eden Island and skirts past Victoria, the capital of Seychelles. Thus the hotel is, in terms of direction, north north west of the island. The hotel is on the beach and in fact the beach is more of a cove or bay if you like, thus protecting you from strong winds.

Ephelia Resort is massive to say the least. It has two parts to it – the south and the north side. We entered from the North gate since we were booked in the villas. The reception for the villas is a separate one. I was greeted by Sujith who is the Executive Assistant Manager (quite up there in the ranks!) as well as Chantal who is the Sales Manager. The other folks at the reception were there too but I apologize, I cant remember their names. The passion fruit juice (welcome drink) and the cold towel were part of the arrival procedure and as far as I was concerned, much required!

Check in was extremely quick, an adjective which one must NOT get accustomed to in the Seychelles ☺

The Family Villa : We reached the villa fairly quickly since it was not too far from the reception. If it wasn’t for the Golf cart used for transportation, it may have taken quite long. Sunil was my personal host at the villa. He is a great guy, extremely helpful and tries to fix your needs as soon as humanly possible!

With its own separate gate, the villa is honestly quite grand. The moment you enter, you encounter the swimming pool which is of a decent size. It is not a small fish pond or large bath tub as quite a few Villas with Private pools pretend to be. You could do lengths here and get enough exercise to work up an appetite. At the head of the pool is the open air “living room”. I lounged here quite a bit.

The villas had 3 bedrooms, one on the ground and 2 on the first floor. Sadly these villas were not the beach front variety so we could not look out to sea. But that did not matter as the beach was a short walk away. (I took the cycle though. Every villa has 3 cycles parked within the gates.) The rooms were great!

The beds are very comfortable and the sleep quality is very good. There is a large TV in the room. The tea coffee making facilities are not in the room but out in the living room by the pool.

The bathroom area is quite large with a separate rain shower and bath tub. The commode room is in a corner of the bathroom (with a door) where you could enjoy your daily ablutions in absolute privacy!

You do have internet in the rooms and all over the resort. But the speed is very erratic.

There are other categories of villas available: The 2 bedroom spa villa, the Hilltop villa and the Presidential villa.

In my opinion, the Hill Top villa is the BEST accommodation that they have in Ephelia. Just go for it. The view is just so good. You will not want to leave the villa for at least 3 days! In any case, these private villas come with a host of mind blowing services.

Service: Since you have your own private host (Sunil in my case), service was extremely efficient.

Restaurants: The resort has 4 or 5 restaurants. We had the pleasure of sampling Dinner at the Seselwa which is a beach side restaurant. Awesome setting! A gentle breeze coupled with the sound of the waves is your constant companion. Rakesh is the bartender who can whip up a pretty cool Long Island Iced Tea- Seychelles version, but quite a cracker!

I also had Breakfast at this restaurant. If the restaurant is busy, like it was when we were there, be prepared for a long leisurely breakfast. After all, you are in the Seychelles and what better to do than hang around?

Cyann is the other restaurant which I had dinner in. The Ribs were what I would recommend to anyone. I met Seema (the operations manager?) at the Cyann. Seema is from Bangalore - India and a great conversationalist. I also met Philipe who is the Resident Manager / GM at the Ephelia. These people are certainly in the right trade!

Activities: We tried the 8 course Zipline at the resort. It is a whole lot of fun, could be termed as soft adventure but gives you an adrenalin rush. It costs approx. Seychelles Rupees 845 for the whole course. (1 USD = 12 SER). I enjoyed this thoroughly. You could do this in shorts but I would recommend that you wear jeans or track pants as the Zipline course is in a densely wooded area within the resort and you could be easy prey for the Seychelles mosquito!

There are beaches all around the resort.

There is a wonderful spa called the Spa De La Constance. I took the full body massage. Look for Bella the masseuse! The spa is run by Shiseido – the Japanese skin care giant.

If you are travelling to the Seychelles, just check into the Ephelia Resort. You will thank me for this information.

Room Tip: Go for the Hilltop VIlla. Never mind the cost. Jut splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great beach, best snorkeling we have ever experienced and excellent food with staff that are there to help. Ephelia is a great for families or couples alike and we really satisfied with our stay and can't wait to return next year. We booked everything through Seyexclusive and got a great deal.

Room Tip: If you can push the boat out go for a Beach Villa - excellent and go for the half board option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpheliaResort, General Manager at Constance Ephelia, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on trip advisors.Constance Ephelia is a resort spread across two acres of land providing enough space & privacy, activtites, restaurants to cater to all categories of guests.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & eagerly look forward to your return visit.Should you require any assistance in booking, our central reservations team would be glad to assist you.Please contact them at resaworld@constancehotels.com.
Best Regards,
Philippe Guitton
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constance Ephelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Ephelia

Address: Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mahe Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Mahe Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Ephelia 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rekindle your passion for life at the beautiful, family-friendly 5* Constance Ephelia. Relax and unwind on the hotel’s two stunning white-sand beaches lapped by the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. Set on the island of Mahe and overlooking the Port Launay National Marine Park, Ephelia offers a treasure trove of discovery for divers and snorkelers. Relish the luxury of space in the elegantly contemporary accommodation. Choose from 7 types of accommodation from the luxurious junior and senior suites to the super deluxe hillside villas. Discover your favourite of our 5 restaurants each offering something deliciously different. Pamper yourself with a wide range of treatments at our Spa Village or even stay in one of our spa villas complete with private pool and treatment room. Have fun and keep active at our fully equipped gym or challenge the kids to a game of tennis, squash or even beach volleyball. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Escapio, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Constance Ephelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Ephelia Hotel Mahe Island
Constance Ephelia Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constance Ephelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.