We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constance Ephelia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Constance Ephelia to your Saves list
Constance Ephelia
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CONSTANCE U SPA OFFER
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Mahe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed 6 nights from 12th July. We got married on an island off south beach 23 years ago and wanted to show our 2 teenage children the place. This hotel was not even thought of then. We arrived on the early morning flight from Dubai. At the airport lots of taxis and we paid $60 for the 45 minute journey, 4 of us with 4 cases. They accept Euros and pounds. By the taxi rank there is a Barclays cashpoint and money changing office, this seemed to be a better rate than the hotel.
At the hotel there are 2 receptions one for the villas and senior suites. Our room was ready and we were taken by our villa host who drove us around in a golf buggy to show us what we need to know. When we got to the villa our bags were waiting.We asked if we could have breakfast that day instead of the day we leave as it was so early and this was fine. We booked a 2 bedroomed family villa but got a 2 bedroom spa villa. from what I could tell the treatment area was turned in to a bedroom. We had 2 bathrooms and also a huge spa bath sauna and something we had not seen before a steam shower. We all liked this. Its a steam room with a shower. The villa was wonderful. All the doors opened out on to our own pool. We had 3 big televisions all connected to the internet, which was free.The standard of the accommodation was very high.
The hotel is large and spread out but we enjoyed the walks especially of an evening as the temperature was just right. If we did not want to walk we just got a buggy. The villa also had 2 bikes. The beaches are excellent and as the hotel is set in between 2 hills its very green.
The food is good but not brilliant. What does help is that on HB you can choose what restaurant you want to eat at so this does add to the variety of the food and the setting.
A lot of reviews talk about the cost and I agree that wine is very expensive, but there are also lots of free things that you save on. The pedalos, canoes snorkling equipment are all free. You can use the facilities at the spa free until 1pm and so I did not feel they were out just to get money off you.
One of the buggies offered to show us the presidential villa and our children had their photos taken in the pool over looking the bay.
This hotel is good the villa is amazing and as long as you are not looking for a lot of night life I would recommend this hotel. I think our teenagers may of got bored if we had stayed longer but then you dont go to the Seychelles for anything other than what this hotel does well, views sea beaches sun etc.When ever we had room service, usually a bucket of ice, we received a phone call checking it had arrived. On depature the hotel arranged an out side taxi. Hotel transport was a 100 euros, the taxi they arranged was £43, so again I felt this was good. Some hotels I have stayed at would have not have told you of this and would not of helped you book it.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be good. Most things around the north beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    517
    169
    62
    26
See reviews for
424
1,315
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I really love the place. Luxury, Quiet, peacefull, nice rooms, very nice beach and perfect swimmingpools too!
The daily buffet was absolutely perfect...everybody will find something for his taste!
My best friend getting married and we had a wonderful ceremonie at the beach. The staff takes perfect care of the customers.
For sure i will come back to this beautiful place!

Room Tip: i had a junior suite for me alone and it was just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in a junior suite near the south beach. South beach is beautiful and secluded, during low tide you can walk out to a small island. The whole resort is picturesque and sprawling, you need to catch a golf cart to move between north and south beach, fortunately they are quite regular. North beach has visitors from outside the island so doesn't feel so private but it does have better snorkelling.
Breakfast was nice but could have been better e.g. Could have had salmon or some other types of fish, more choice of fruits and the yogurt wasn't so good. The Chinese was excellent with very good service, the creole restaurant was ok, we have had much better creole outside of the hotel. The buffet was good but if we were not on half board 950 rupees would have been a bit overpriced. We didn't try the other 2 restaurants. The staff were very friendly and we had a wonderful experience overall and have no hesitation recommending it.
It would be nice if they had offered grilled fresh fish at the buffet for evening and breakfast - after all fish is one of the few things they don't have to import. Also the hotel should organise a few fishing trips either free (like Kempinski) or at low cost. All the boat excursions were very expensive.
There was a happy hour every evening with half price cocktails which were very good and reasonable but on the whole drinks felt very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Food, location, the way the villas are build and furnished: everything is on the perfect side; very hard to find anything to criticize there. I understand that this is a luxury resort, but if only the drinks (cocktails, wines etc) were slightly less expensive, then people would nevertheless order more of those items.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had our wedding at the north beach july 4th, and spent in total 22 days at the resort. We loved it and would like to return for an anniversary. Brought our 2 year old daughter, and appreciated all the things we could do as a family. She never got bored, and loved spending time with the turtles (12 turtles that the children get to feed daily), gecko club, toys she borrowed to play with in the sand at the north beach etc. The staff soon learned our names, and greeted us with their biggest smiles borth in restaurants, reception and in the buggies. We split our days between spending time at the north beach and spending time at the pool next to adam & eve. The south beach is not suitable for swimming, especially not with a toddler. Although the staff clean the beach every day, the sand is not as nice as the sand on the north beach. The beach is more windy and you can also fin blue bottles. The north beach is amazing! Lots of chairs (never an issue) and free towels.

Regarding the wedding ceremony we couldn't have asked for more. Jessica, the guest relations manager, was helpful in any way! The day was perfect for the three of us, and we wouldn't have done it any other way. As a wedding surprise they upgraded us to a spa-villa for the last week, in addition to giving us beachbag, sparkling wine etc. The spavilla was amazing, same goes for the villa host, Suren, who also were our private driver.

Gemma and Dawson at Adam & Eve, thank you for making this such a good stay!
Jessica - you are the best!

This is a true Paradise, and after spending 22 days here we never got bored. We just wanted to extend our stay... We'll be back!

PS: As others have commented - the resort is expensive!!!! We advise you to step outside of the northern gates where you'll find a small supermarket. They sell beer, water, chips, toothpaste etc for 1/4 of what it costs in the resort. Also, ask for Dasani-water instead of San Pellegrino/Perrier when in the restaurants. All are sparkling water, but Dasani costs half of the others.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Junior suite, great value for money. Short distance to Adam&Eve, Corossol (breakfast) and recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here as our first hotel and island on our honeymoon.... the hotel had a perfect mix of activities and wide choice of restaurants but you could also find secluded areas. the location was lovely. we got public bus to victoria one day, visited Moyenne and Cerf Island and enjoyed the Zip Wire at the hotel. staff so friendly, lovely food, beautiful room we stayed in junior suite. one night we returned to our room after our evening meal to find a warm bath scattered with petals and flowers. even when i arrived for a sauna and steam the spa was closed but as i didnt realise they opened it up for me and the hubby. we were so looked after! yoga at the spa was another highlight and feeding tortoises a must! also walk up to the helicopter point for amazing views and path to an empty beach! i did my research....and this is the best hotel on Mahe!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from our 11 day honeymoon with our two 6 years olds.
We booked our transfers threw the hotel and the van was very good, we were imediately received at the airport and the 30 minutes drive to the hotel was pleasant. We arrived very early, the check in was quick though no welcome drinks were served.

The villa was very nice ( family villa, 3 bedrooms) with a champagne bottle waiting for us. For first few days we didnt meet the villa host, and he changed 3 times while our stay. The last villa host, Beselwan was very polite and on our last day he prepared a bath with flowers which our girls enjoyed a lot.

The villa was spacious, lot´s of wardrobes, just the fridge was not working. It was fine for our 6 year olds though smaller children could find it a bit dangerous. The beds were very comfy and you have Tv withs lot´s of movies, computer, DVD, etc.

The resort is very beautiful, well taken care of, with lot´s of space to walk around, several beaches and tracks to explore.
The best breakfast was defiantely Cyann (only for villla guests). The main difference between Cyann and Corossol is that in Cyann you have sparkling water, champagne available what in Corossol is na extra. Also Cyann is much prettier and the service is very good. You can ask any choice of eggs, pancakes and so on, we really enjoed it.
The only not nice thing about the brakfast was the fact that at 10.30 the staff would start immediately closing the service, so you need to fill up your plates before. Not so common for 5 stars...
For the dinner the best options was Seselwa for us with Creole Buffet, Corossol is more crowded, Cyan was too expencive for the quality ( you pay even in HB) and Adam & Eve is nice and have a good location, just the choice is not too big.

For afternoon cocktails our favourite was Cyann, ZEE bar has happy hour but be carefull, just some drinks are included and you easily get it wrong...

The Kabana at the North Beach is a good option for atfernoon snack for the kids. The toasts were very good and it´s the cheapest you can have ( 10 euros).

If you travel with children my advice is to go filled up with snacks and always carry your water so that you can save a lot of Money...

We enjoyed a lot the North Beach, there is a bucket with beach toys, the staff is very polite, just the drinks served on the beach are not so nice, so once again our choice for that should be Cyann and the beach on the side.

At the south part of the resort the beach is nice when the tide is low, then you can have a great walk to the Island just in front, very nice.

The pools on the South are not as nice and pretty as I would wish and more crowded, my choice would be to stay at senior suites that are on the North, the difference between both parts is quite big.

We tried all the activities at the resort, paddle boards, canoes, zip lines (300€), SPA ( really great, and you can use the facilities until 13.00 hrs even if you do not get treatments). Spa was amazing, and I had one of the best massages ever. They arranged a massage for my two daughters, they really loved it.
The kids Club is good, lot´s of employees, not too crowded at all, my daughters loved it, as well as the turtles ( feeding every day at 16.00 hrs).
We enjoyed a lot long walks on the beaches, there is lot´s of pretty shells to find, just be carefull of teh sea snakes...
We found two by the rocks at the south beach ( near the heli pad) and they are very poisonous though the hotel staff told us that not.

We took a cruise to marine park and Moyenne Island ( organized threw the hotel) it was very pretty, also rented a car for a day threw the hotel and all was ok. For us the part of the island where the hotel is, is the prettiest.

What you have to know is that everything is extremly expencive both at the resort and at the whole Island.. The thing is that at the hotel you feel explored cause of paying extra for everything, even the water at HB dinner. Ask for the table water (3.5€) , otherwise you will be served evian or diferent and charge 10 € per bottle.


What I missed was little things, like some candles at the villa ( i asked for them but never got them), we were at naka Island in Phuket last year and every night we had candles, scents and so on what created a nice atmosphere...

Also there is no energy saving policy what is very strabge nowadays, we left a fan on the outside working and nobody disconnected it for 6 days! Also never nobody disconnected any lights or AC.

We did enjoy our stay a lot, definately HB is na option, otherwise you will pay a lot!

The place is great, staff is very friendly, kids will love it. You won´t regret if do not need to save Money:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahe Island
4.9 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
3.3 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
9.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Ephelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Ephelia

Address: Port Launay, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mahe Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mahe Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Ephelia 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rekindle your passion for life at the beautiful, family-friendly 5* Constance Ephelia. Relax and unwind on the hotel’s two stunning white-sand beaches lapped by the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. Set on the island of Mahe and overlooking the Port Launay National Marine Park, Ephelia offers a treasure trove of discovery for divers and snorkelers. Relish the luxury of space in the elegantly contemporary accommodation. Choose from 7 types of accommodation from the luxurious junior and senior suites to the super deluxe hillside villas. Discover your favourite of our 5 restaurants each offering something deliciously different. Pamper yourself with a wide range of treatments at our Spa Village or even stay in one of our spa villas complete with private pool and treatment room. Have fun and keep active at our fully equipped gym or challenge the kids to a game of tennis, squash or even beach volleyball. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Constance Ephelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Ephelia Hotel Mahe Island
Constance Ephelia Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constance Ephelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.