We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse to your Saves list
Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse
Mare Anglais | Beau Vallon, Mahé, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights at this Guesthouse in Mahé. Eddy the manager was very helpful giving us tips about siteseeing, beaches, restaurants, diving centers etc. We got a room at the first floor with a varanda facing Beau Vallon Beach. The bathroom seemed to have been recently renewed and was very large. The rest of the room was ok. The only downside was that we asked for a double room and got one with two twin beds put side by side, not a real double bed.
The location was excellent. The beach was just accross de street and it was close to all nice restaurants such as Boathouse, La Plage and Baobab pizzeria. It also had a bus stop at the corner.
The breakfast was included and they served fresh fruits, toasts with butter and jelly and eggs.
I would definetely recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
32
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The island experience was great but our Mahe accommodation was out of expectations for the paid rate.
Georgina's Cottage owner and management had a very arrogant and disrespectful attitude.
When we commented that the room was not what we had requested, the response was "If you don't like, leave"! Arguing on the 2 single beds which were also smelly, again we received the same response.
When the following morning we asked if there is anything else but eggs for breakfast, the attitude was again the same... "If you don't like and need breakfast variety, leave and go to Hilton"!
For sure the place is not value for money, and especially when you pay close or more than 100 EUR p/night you expect at least the basics.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nommern
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Georgina’s Cottage, a family run B&B, for five days of our honeymoon. In that occasion, we were offered a room with central terrace where to enjoy a bottle of fresh sparkling wine and the great Wednesday evening market food, very relaxing. The room had all comfort and the location of the B&B was perfect for us, just across the street we had the long stretch of Beau Vallon beach and a few meters from the bus stop to/from Victoria. Restaurants and shops at short walking distance. Eddy was very friendly with us, providing us with all help needed (what you can do in the island, where to go ...). I would recommend Georgina’s cottage to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach have a relaxing terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Really good location, but not the best. The beach is twenty meters across the road, but the sound of the ocean can be heard only at night when no cars drive.

The staff quite friendly, especially if from Mauritius.

Modern and bright rooms, but be prepared for the fact that Eddy too strongly suggest you "Upgrade" - move you into the old and run-down rooms. Well, if it does not spoil your mood from the guesthouse and recreation

I strongly recommend the excellent tour around the island under The Beatles songs with wonderful driver Marvin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed there for 6 days in August and we had a great time. Many thanks to Eddy for his kindness and help. Good location, very clean, very good breakfasts. The best reataurant ever La Pearl Noir ( good prices) and Kaz Zanana in Victoria-near to the bus stop ( only lunches). Worth to see Anse Major ( wear good shoes and avoid the flying fox which can bite you), Sunset beach, Port Launay.

Room Tip: we had big family room on the first floor ( number 4): 1 double bad, one single and 1 additional not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montjean, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

After going all over the island whilst we were there we realised that by pure chance we had picked the best spot. Yes there are prettier beaches but none with bars and resteraunts. The guest house was very clean and comfortable with fridge coffee making facilities crockery cutlery and a microwave to use. The breakfast was good and the staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. I would certainly recommend it. The island overall though I do find very very expensive and cannot see that it warrants it.

Room Tip: The upstairs room no 4 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Me and my daughter stayed here on a diving holiday in December 2012. Eddy was most helpful and the breakfast service was great. We were on a diving trip and the room was spacious to cater for all the extra equipment we had.

Really a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room on the second floor. Enjoy your sun downer on the balcony, bliss!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahe Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
0.6 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
0.2 mi away
Romance Bungalows
Romance Bungalows
#4 of 7 in Beau Vallon
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Panorama Guesthouse
Panorama Guesthouse
#7 of 7 in Beau Vallon
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse

Address: Mare Anglais | Beau Vallon, Mahé, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgina`s Cottage Beach Guesthouse Hotel Mahe Island
Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.