We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse to your Saves list
Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse
Mare Anglais | Beau Vallon, Mahé, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Montjean, Poitou-Charentes, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best spot on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

After going all over the island whilst we were there we realised that by pure chance we had picked the best spot. Yes there are prettier beaches but none with bars and resteraunts. The guest house was very clean and comfortable with fridge coffee making facilities crockery cutlery and a microwave to use. The breakfast was good and the staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. I would certainly recommend it. The island overall though I do find very very expensive and cannot see that it warrants it.

Room Tip: The upstairs room no 4 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
30
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Me and my daughter stayed here on a diving holiday in December 2012. Eddy was most helpful and the breakfast service was great. We were on a diving trip and the room was spacious to cater for all the extra equipment we had.

Really a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room on the second floor. Enjoy your sun downer on the balcony, bliss!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in the room nº 4 (triple room with sea view). I am very satisfied with this guesthouse. Location is perfect - in front of Beau Vallon beach. The room was very spacious and clean.The guesthouse has all the facilities required for beach vacation, such as an external tap to clean your feet from sand, lines for drying clothes. The room has a nice large private terrace with a table and chairs - perfect spot for your evening glass of wine with ice cream. There are a lot of small shops and restaurants nearby. There is private parking. It is possible to book a car through the owners (our car was delivered to the jetty and returned in the guesthouse at no extra cost). Eddy is very friendly, informative and speaks perfect English (however, sometimes it is difficult to find him). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with sea view on the second flow. Avoid 1st floor rooms - guests take breakfast on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

In Oktober 2012 we (a senior couple) stayed 9 nights in Georgina's Beach Cottages. It is a nice guesthouse with a very friendly staff. We stayed in a nice and clean room with a fan and airco, coffee and tea facilities and, ...with a balcony at the front of the guesthouse where we sat at the end of the day drinking a beer we bought at Mike's Store (almost) next door. Also next door is a busstop, so it was very easy to take the bus to see a lot of the island. We had a very good time here, so we decided to go back for one last night after visiting the other islands Praslin and La Digue and before flying home again. Eddy picked us up from the jetty and brought us back to the airport the other day late in the evening. We could use our room until that time without paying extra. A very good service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Georgina's is great if you wish to stay by Beau Vallon beach, but don't want to stay at an expensive hotel. Eddie the manager is friendly and helpful - he has been a dive instructor and can advise on diving locations other Seychelles. Breakfast is included with the room - eggs, toast, fruit, tea and coffee. The rooms are a decent size, have a nice design, and some have recently been refurbished. There is a bus stop right outside which is handy to get around Mahe.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones upstairs with balcony with vies to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at Georgina's from the 20th - 27th December 2011. The rooms are basically furnished, but what more do you need in such a great location. We had twin beds (shame), a large wardrobe, bedside tables, a T.V., fridge, kettle and basic cutlery and tableware, but that is all that is needed. The bathroom was again basic but functional and as for the location, well you just could not get better. The local beach is just a walk across the road and all the resteraunts are within a 5 minute walk, although this is limited. There are two dive shops within 5 minutes the nearest and the one that I used was to the left out of Georgina's called Ocean Dream Divers. There are also a number of small convenience stores within the local vicinity that stock the basics that you will need, i.e. coffee, milk, bread etc.
Eddy, who now runs Georgina's, cannot do enough for you in making you feel welcome and giving advice on where to go. The rooms are cleaned every day to a very high standard and the girls are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is big and sets you up for the day as previously stated by others. At the price they charge it is superb value for money!!!
We hired a car and we consider this a must as Taxi's were reported to be very expensive. We travelled around most of the Island and it is very small, but the trip through the mountain is very long and well worth the it to get onto the South West side of the island or you can go straight ovr and head South East tfor some small but gorgeous beaches. Beau Vallon beach is very popular and can get quite busy however if it is quiet beaches you want just head out of Beau Vallon in either direction and you will find plenty of beaches with lush white sand and blue sea to die for with little or no population on them.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I was the first honored guest within Georgina's new guest house and it was a very pleasant experience. I have visited several guest houses on Mahe and even one on Praslin and I can definitively say that at the moment, with their new facility, you’d be hard pressed to find a better value. Prices around Mahe have all gone up, but even so, Georgina’s is still very reasonable at 70 Euros a night, which includes a good-sized breakfast that includes fresh fruit, toast and jam, tea or coffee, and eggs cooked like you like them. The rooms are very stylish (very modern looking), clean, and include two twin beds pushed together and have modern conveniences such as a nice fan, air conditioning, refrigerator, flat-screen television with the two local channels, a wardrobe, places to lock up valuables and a mirror light. The whole guest house complex feels very secure and requires keys to get into the building itself at night.

Besides that, there are the normal conveniences that Georgina’s has always provided, which is excellent service, friendly staff, a very accommodating hostess, and an unbeatable location. It is less than 30 meters from the nearest bus stop to go to Victoria, and of course, Beau Vallon beach is right across the street, so one can easily go to sleep to the sound of the Indian Ocean or go play in it at will. All of the tourist attractions that Beau Vallon has to offer are a very short walk away, from restaurants, to pizzerias, to clothing shops, to glass bottom boat tours, dive shops, water sporting rentals, and a whole lot more.

If you prefer quaint stays to resorts and you prefer friendly, personal, and cheaper stays to extravagant, decadent, and impersonal, then there really is no better value than Georgina’s – you really won’t be disappointed. I was impressed enough to take the time to write this review.

Room Tip: The guest house rooms are pretty much all the same except that the ones closer to the road are sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse

Address: Mare Anglais | Beau Vallon, Mahé, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Mahe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgina`s Cottage Beach Guesthouse Hotel Mahe Island
Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgina's Cottage Beach Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.