We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a vacation up north” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arbel Guest House Shavit Family

Save Saved
You added Arbel Guest House Shavit Family to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arbel Guest House Shavit Family
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Arbel Village, Tiberias, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Tiberias B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a vacation up north”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited Israel and Sara's guest house for a weekend during May, pool is amazing so is Israel's food, we had great time - recommended for a family travel in the north or just a quite weekend for couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    31
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
66
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you've ever stayed at a favorite relative's or a good friend's country house, you'll know what it's like to stay at Sarah and Yaacov Shavit's Arbel Guest House--especially if your relative or friend happens to be a fantastic cook and has a backyard swimming pool. If Trip Advisor would allow 6 stars, this place would deserve the rating. It's convenient to Tiberias and all the sights and hiking trails in the Upper Galilee, but just enough out of the way so you'll want to stay in after a day of sightseeing or hiking and enjoy Yaacov's superb cooking, or maybe just spend the afternoon sunning by the pool and enjoying the views. The rooms are nicely furnished, comfortable, clean and well-equipped. The hosts could be more gracious and eager to please.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Those of you who walk along the Jesus Trail or anyone who wants to stay near the Lake of Galilee should visit Sarah and Yaacov Shavit and stay at their superb B&B.
Yaacob is a first class autodidact chef
We reached the place after a long day of walking and it was like reaching an oasis.
It is a great place to stay and to eat.
At the B&B is a nice swimming pool where you can refresh yourself.
Don't miss this place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibbutz Ketura
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My family and I stayed at this wonderful guest house for 2 nights and now plan on returning every year. The 2 bedroom apt. we ordered was very comfortable, clean, and roomy. The one bedroom apt that we ordered for a couple in our family was tiny but was fine for a young couple. We had dinner at Israel's restaurant - food was excellent. We didn't have breakfast since it was over a bit early for my family but there was a beautiful porch outside our apt. surrounded by vines and flowers that was a perfect place for a family breakfast that we supplied for ourselves except for a delicious bread that Israel baked for us. During the trip, our children had a flat tire in a nearby shopping center. When my husband asked Sara to help him call a cab she graciously offered to take him there to assist them. I recommend visiting Israel's celler that he has his home made chocolates and local wines. We also enjoyed their beautiful swimming pool. We really loved every minute we were there!

Room Tip: An "older" couple should ask for a room on the ground - the stairs are a bit steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were an older group from South Africa walking the Jesus Trail. One of our group fell ill and had to be taken by car to Arbel. She was treated with lots of love and care until we arrived.
The accommodation was clean & very comfortable and the pool very welcome after a long hot walk..Our hosts were very friendly and helpful & aware of our needs.
The dinner was delicious and the breakfast too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I found this little gem last minute and was so happy I did! It is a bit off the beaten track-but was perfect for a little anniversary celebration. The room was spacious if a bit dated. Spotless and well appointed with a fridge -coffee and tea and a plate of fresh fruit-home made apricot cake and milk for the coffee arrived with Yisrael the smiling host and chef. Several reviews recommended having breakfast there -though a bit pricey (we are not generally breakfast eaters!) it was worth every shekel! I cant even begin to recount all the delicious and creative surprises that made their way to our table. All made on the premises and all bursting with flavor and freshness-dont miss it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night while hiking the Jesus Trail. We walked into the spacious, beautifully landscaped yard and Sara seated us at a table under the shade of a flowering vine and brought us cold lemonade! After a delicious meal at Israel's place we retired to a beautiful, spacious, very clean room. It was on the second floor with balcony overlooking the lush grounds. The bathroom with shower was clean. The bedroom with jacuzzi tub was comfortable. There was a small eat-in kitchen and a separate sitting room off the kitchen. There were some things about this property that make a visitor want to linger: A colorful, hand painted lampshade, artistic scenes painted on walls to look like open windows, romantic netting draped over the bed, flowering trees, vine-covered walkways. Tile throughout gave the property a Mediterranean feel. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arbel Guest House Shavit Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbel Guest House Shavit Family

Address: Arbel Village, Tiberias, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arbel Guest House Shavit Family 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caution: there are similar guest house names in our location. our guest house name is " Arbel Guest House Shavit Family "A unique farm guest house which is an attraction that no tourist can afford to miss: The atmosphere, the rooms and above all - the gurme restaurant.This is one of the best places to enjoy a peaceful rest, gaining your energies for the next day of touring and enjoying the most wonderful dinner you have ever experienced.People say that the shavit guest house is a small model of the Garden of Eden:The trees, the flowers, the greenery, the swimming pool, the view, the air and the atmosphere.Others can never forget the gastronomic experience.The outstanding meat dishes served for dinner, the food preparation by "Chef ISRAEL" in front of the diners, the exquisite breakfast, and finally the secret Chocolate cellar.Chef ISRAEL makes his own chocolate in the unique wine cellar aside to the wine variety, the olive oil products and the local honey.Our guest house is close to many historical sites in the area: (Jewish, Christian, Moslem and Druze)Arbel is within easy reach of all major centers in Central and Northern Israel . (Golan Heights-Baines, Acre, Nazareth , Tabor, Capernaum , Tabha, Haifa , Safed, Caesarea , Bait- She' an) only one hour from us We have apartments each with private bathroom and fitted kitchenette. Tea and coffee are freely available.* Self-catering * Breakfast and Dinner is also available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Arbel Guest House Shavit Family reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbel Guest House Hotel Tiberias

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbel Guest House Shavit Family, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.