We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible accommodation, mixed customer service but good quality food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias

Save Saved
You added Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Ohel Yaacov Street, Tiberias 14366, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 35 hotels in Tiberias
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible accommodation, mixed customer service but good quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel Nov 9 - Nov 12 2012.

Part of a group of 33 and the majority experienced cramped rooms, views of hotel walls, poorly equipped bathrooms (faulty shower heads). Others were even less fortunate and had cockroaches in their rooms.

Reception staff were distant and unhelpful. Manager(s) of dining area were distant and unfriendly. However two young Eastern European waitresses brought a ray of sunshine to the dining room.


Had noticed other TA reviews regarding staff attitudes to access to hotel pool. We were even less fortunate- we were not allowed to access area to view pool. Maybe there is no pool!

One plus the food was good quality and the bar man was hospitable and new the meaning of the term "customer service"

Room Tip: Apparently there were larger rooms with views of the sea and some of our group were allocated those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    38
    16
    11
See reviews for
18
28
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, Scotland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have just returned from a trip to Israel as part of a group of 33. We stayed in the Astoria for the last three nights on a B&B plus evening meal basis. My own room was small; windows were ill fitting and did not exclude traffic noise; beds were very low and small. Ladies in the group observed that cleaning had obviously been done by men! Food was quite good in terms of choice, quantity and quality, and waitresses smiled! Several of our party had to change rooms due to complaints about size and cleanliness. One lady caught a cockroach (one of several in her room) in a glass and brought it down to reception to demand a change of room. In general the hotel is down at heel and not well placed for access to the town centre. I have used much better 3 star hotels in Tiberias and would not willingly return to the Astoria!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was my second time staying in the hotel, and it does lack in a few areas. The staff are mostly very friendly, but the place is not up to par in terms of cleanliness, food quality, food selections. The rooms are so small. I would equate the food with a cafeteria buffet. But it was ok for the price. There wasn't anything close by for one to walk and enjoy. The streets in this part of town are narrow and dangerous. Always look both ways!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you want posh, don't go there. But for us, we were touring all day and especially through Hotwire, the price was right -- about $105 per night. We literally were there from 6pm onward each of the three days we stayed there. Breakfast included is pretty good. Dinner can be had for a very reasonable price. Wifi good in lobby, though in room hit and miss for us at least. Pool was a big plus with my son. The pool was quite nice. A/C was terrific which is not necessarily an easy find even in better hotels. All and all, the hotel met our needs quite well. Lastly, not a great location -- up on the hill -- so basically, you have to taxi to town or the lake, which was not a problem for us. Places closer to town didn't seem worth it to me as I drove past them. There is a playground nearby which we used after dinner which was sweet. Centrally located if you're touring the Golan and the Galilee regions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My mother and I stayed here for one night. We were looking for a clean, reasonably-priced hotel in Tiberias, and that's what we found in the Astoria Galilee. It's a no-frills hotel with decent rooms. Although it's not on the main waterfront strip, busses will get you there easily and cheaply. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it was edible.

A good option if you're traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Breakfast was very good as well as the people behind it

The only mistake of this hotel is this>>>> ".Important Information Please note, VAT (Value-Added Tax) will be added to the rate for Israeli citizens only. Guests who are not Israeli citizens do not pay VAT." It is clearly said and very well understood that ONLY Israeli citizens! I debated, argued, and complained to the receptionist as well as to the manager because they demanded me to pay VAT to the fact that I am not a citizen here but just a worker. The explanation they gave was unacceptable for they said that only the tourists are not entitled to VAT. Then they should write 'Only tourists will not pay VAT instead of, VAT (Value-Added Tax) will be added to the rate for Israeli citizens only.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A very pleasant hotel
Value for money
I did not expect it.
Nice rooms ;good food and a pleasant swimmingpool
The servicewas also good.
The location was not close to the lake but I did not mind bebause these hotels are minimum double the price.
In our case it did not matter also ,because we had rented a car and the hotel had enough free parking space

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias

Address: 13 Ohel Yaacov Street, Tiberias 14366, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 hotels in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Tiberias

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.