We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catch the cockroachccccc” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias to your Saves list
Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Ohel Yaacov Street, Tiberias 14366, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Tiberias
Greenock, Scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Catch the cockroachccccc”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have just returned from a trip to Israel as part of a group of 33. We stayed in the Astoria for the last three nights on a B&B plus evening meal basis. My own room was small; windows were ill fitting and did not exclude traffic noise; beds were very low and small. Ladies in the group observed that cleaning had obviously been done by men! Food was quite good in terms of choice, quantity and quality, and waitresses smiled! Several of our party had to change rooms due to complaints about size and cleanliness. One lady caught a cockroach (one of several in her room) in a glass and brought it down to reception to demand a change of room. In general the hotel is down at heel and not well placed for access to the town centre. I have used much better 3 star hotels in Tiberias and would not willingly return to the Astoria!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    38
    16
    10
See reviews for
20
29
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was my second time staying in the hotel, and it does lack in a few areas. The staff are mostly very friendly, but the place is not up to par in terms of cleanliness, food quality, food selections. The rooms are so small. I would equate the food with a cafeteria buffet. But it was ok for the price. There wasn't anything close by for one to walk and enjoy. The streets in this part of town are narrow and dangerous. Always look both ways!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you want posh, don't go there. But for us, we were touring all day and especially through Hotwire, the price was right -- about $105 per night. We literally were there from 6pm onward each of the three days we stayed there. Breakfast included is pretty good. Dinner can be had for a very reasonable price. Wifi good in lobby, though in room hit and miss for us at least. Pool was a big plus with my son. The pool was quite nice. A/C was terrific which is not necessarily an easy find even in better hotels. All and all, the hotel met our needs quite well. Lastly, not a great location -- up on the hill -- so basically, you have to taxi to town or the lake, which was not a problem for us. Places closer to town didn't seem worth it to me as I drove past them. There is a playground nearby which we used after dinner which was sweet. Centrally located if you're touring the Golan and the Galilee regions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My mother and I stayed here for one night. We were looking for a clean, reasonably-priced hotel in Tiberias, and that's what we found in the Astoria Galilee. It's a no-frills hotel with decent rooms. Although it's not on the main waterfront strip, busses will get you there easily and cheaply. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it was edible.

A good option if you're traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Breakfast was very good as well as the people behind it

The only mistake of this hotel is this>>>> ".Important Information Please note, VAT (Value-Added Tax) will be added to the rate for Israeli citizens only. Guests who are not Israeli citizens do not pay VAT." It is clearly said and very well understood that ONLY Israeli citizens! I debated, argued, and complained to the receptionist as well as to the manager because they demanded me to pay VAT to the fact that I am not a citizen here but just a worker. The explanation they gave was unacceptable for they said that only the tourists are not entitled to VAT. Then they should write 'Only tourists will not pay VAT instead of, VAT (Value-Added Tax) will be added to the rate for Israeli citizens only.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A very pleasant hotel
Value for money
I did not expect it.
Nice rooms ;good food and a pleasant swimmingpool
The servicewas also good.
The location was not close to the lake but I did not mind bebause these hotels are minimum double the price.
In our case it did not matter also ,because we had rented a car and the hotel had enough free parking space

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked this hotel on points for 2 nights. What a mistake, even for free. We left after one night and would have after no nights if we could have worked it out. This is a hostel at best, would be fine for college students traveling on the cheap. The pictures make it actually look better than it is, it's much worse in person, I should have listened to the reviews.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias

Address: 13 Ohel Yaacov Street, Tiberias 14366, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Tiberias

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria Galilee Hotel - Tiberias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.