We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on our trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Plaza to your Saves list
Royal Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ganei Menorah Blvd, Tiberias 14100, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Tiberias
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best hotel on our trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Little did I realize that this would be the best hotel on my tour of Israel. At the time I was staying here, I would have said that this hotel was an average hotel. But, in comparisson with the others chosen by the tour operator, this was the best. Unfortunately, the hotel is not close to anything else. After your day of touring you can't walk out and explore the city of Tiberias. One evening our group did sit next to a group from Croatia and a spontanious "song fest" erupted on the patio. That was a lovely experience of cultural sharing and a very memorable happening.

The hotel is not in Tiberias proper, but across the road from the Sea of Galilee. I could see the Sea from my room and it was a lovely site in the mornings. The room had two walls of windows and a tile floor. This was an unusual room because the other rooms on our floor had carpet and were much smaller. The room was adequate for my needs but my impression is that the hotel could use a face lift. The bathroom was ok, but as in all the hotels I stayed in while on the tour, the towels were thin by North American standards.

Service on the other hand was very good. I had a birthday while staying here and the hotel provided us with a cake for 51 people (the tour size) ...pretty nice. The staff in the dining room were friendly and efficient. The food was the best that we had in any of the hotels we stayed in...but, that's not saying a whole lot. Breakfasts were good and varied. They even served Blintzes as a breakfast option as well as pancakes or french toast. They also had someone cooking omelets and fried eggs (this did not happen in any of the other hotels). I am a "breakfast food" person, so the salads and other foods that I consider to be for other meals did not interest me. The best place to sit in the dining area is in the sunroom - if you can - that's where they assigned our tour group - lucky us.

In retrospect, although I may not have chosen this hotel had I been given the choice, I had a nice stay there.

  • Liked — the friendly staff
  • Disliked — the distance into town
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    66
    61
    24
    16
See reviews for
20
34
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

The only people that stay here are on tour groups. The dinner hour is very busy and loud. There is nothing miserable about this place, but I wouldn't choose it with other options around. It does have internet which all the hotels over there don't.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

I am a tour host and I have stayed in this hotel in 1998, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006 as part of tour groups. While it is not aesthetically as pleasing as staying elsewhere, the food is absolutely wonderful. The dining experience is well above average - at least a five - and far better than any other hotels I have stayed at in Tiberias or Jerusalem. The hotel staff has "bent over backwards" to assist me and my passengers. They are warm and accomodating. Don't sell this place short!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

I recently stayed at the Royal Plaza as part of a tour group. The hotel was okay, although as the previous poster noted, it could use some refurbishing. The major problem is no air conditioning, which was an issue even in February. The fan only works with the heat, so you have to open a window or it is very stuffy. The staff seemed nice enough.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a group package. The hotel is located a few steps from the sea of Galilee. The location seems pretty safe, we walked one night to the shores to pray and there were no problems. The room was small, the towels were thin, tiny soap provided. There was no clock in the bedroom and setting the wake up call was challenging. The room was clean enough. I did not have a view. Many of the hotel staff did not speak English, so communication was a problem at times. The most positive experience was dinner and breakfast. The hotel restaurant offered a great buffet with a variety of meat and vegetables dishes, (eggplant, etc.) Great breakfast too. Phone calls to the US were very expensive. This hotel is pretty popular with groups. We saw many groups coming in and going out.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza

Address: Ganei Menorah Blvd, Tiberias 14100, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tiberias
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza Tiberias
Royal Plaza Hotel Tiberias

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.