We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as all prima hotels, good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prima Galil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Prima Galil to your Saves list
Prima Galil
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Elhadif St, Tiberias 14105, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Tiberias
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“as all prima hotels, good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

first stay in this hotel. nice breakfast and lovely terrce with views. rooms good and good (hardish) beds as is the norm with prima hotels. had a corner room with separate sitting area (in our case made up as our child's sleep area) parking ok.pool small but a nice touch at this level.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaHotels, Manager at Prima Galil, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking your time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you liked your stay at the Prima Galil hotel.

Hope to see you again in one of Prima hotels throughout Israel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    73
    44
    10
    6
See reviews for
67
63
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We've chosen the hotel for weekend after good reviews in TripAdvisor and some other local Israeli sites. Overall it was a good choise. It was a rich and varied breakfast, which gives you strength and fresh energy for the beginning of the day. The room was pleasant with good taste design, but the size of the room wasn't as big as it was supposed to be for the 4 star hotel. The bathroom was upgraded, but very small. Except the adding of additional shampo, changing of towels and bed arrangement no other cleaning activity was performed in the room during our stay. Reception clerks were very helpful and polite to our requests. Nice lobby with free Wi-Fi for your laptop and two computers connected to Internet for free use of the guests. The only big concern in our opinion for people who plan to chose Prima Galil is the location that is not so closed to the city center and the promenade in Tiberias. If you come to the hotel with the car or your group is going to travel in the city with the tourist bus, no problem at all. Otherwise, you need to prepare cash for taxi drivers.10 min. of walk from the hotel to the city center. The hotel is located on the hill and no problem (if the weather is good) to go down, but it's a big deal to climb back after that.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaHotels, Manager at Prima Galil, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your kind words about our hotel; one of the nicest things for a hotel to hear is that our guests enjoyed their stay and all of the hotel facilities.
We especially loved that you were able to enjoy our free information center at the hotel lobby; we designed it that all of our guest could travel the galilee and Tiberias easily and enjoy their stay in Israel :-)
Your comment about the location is very helpful for us to be able to inform future guests. We hope you will be returning to stay with us in Tiberias soon, despite the walk we hope that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosh Pina, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as an extended family group of 4 generations including 27 people. The hotel has recently been refurbished and was very clean and comfortable. Two rooms were upgraded to suites. The staff was most helpful and answered our every need. The food was good and plentiful and the fruit and vegetables very fresh. Overall the hotel exceeded our expectations and I would recommend it.
On the negative side - although there is a good view of the Sea of Galilee from the hotel it is quite a walk down to the sea - and an even longer one uphill back to the hotel. Some guests were smoking on the fire escapes and the smell permeated the corridors.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaHotels, Manager at Prima Galil, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Dear Shula,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a nice review about Prima Galil hotel.
It is always nice to hear that our guests had a nice vacation and experience in our hotels.

We will be happy to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Tiberias.

Hag Samech,
Prima Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Rooms were fine, not big but sufficient, assuming you were planning to spend most of the day out and about. Breakfasts were included in the price and very tasty. We were there 2 nights and just decided to eat dinner there for convenience, as it was decent value.

Nice pool and outdoor area, although we couldn't make use of this, it being winter. Good aspect of hills and water from hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaHotels, Webmaster at Prima Galil, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind words. We are so happy you were able to enjoy our hotel and your overall trip to Tiberias. We hope you will return and make use of our lovely outdoor area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Having chosen this hotel based upon TripAdvisor's reviews and it's per night cost, it was no surprise that there were few surprises with our visit. We took two rooms, one for myself and my wife, and a second for my father-in-law. Though one was theoretically a single, the rooms were basically identical. Simply,furnished in a modern style, the rooms were fine, with bathrooms that seemed more upscale.

The free wifi is only available the lounge, and there are two computers with Internet access in the lobby for guest use.

The breakfast was fairly standard for Israeli hotels, with many salad, dairy, bread and hot choices (including individually prepared eggs). Cereal and milk was available also.

The most difficult issue for us was actually finding the entrance while using our GPS. Though the address is on Elhadif, the entrance is reached by turning the block before the hotel. Once discovered, it's fairly simple. Parking is limited on the hotel property, however, there are numerous free spots withing a short distance of the entrance. The only thing that would stop us from staying again is having more of a budget to stay on the shores of the Galilee (15 minute walk).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaHotels, Webmaster at Prima Galil, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed and helpful review. Your comment about the location via your gps is very helpful for us to be able to inform future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the amenitites and your stay in Tiberias. Despite the walk we hope that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This hotel was our second one in Israel and if we had started our trip here, we might have turned around and come home! The main floor area was clean, modern, and had free wi-fi, definite pluses. The rooms, however, were another story. The floors our group were assigned were all non-smoking, supposedly, but it was clear smoking had gone on as early as just before our arrival. The hallways were unpleasantly smoky and so were many of the rooms, smelling smoky and stale as well. The carpets were dirty and stained, the curtains old and in some cases stained, the furniture old and decrepit and the bathrooms old and
in a couple of cases, had dry rot behind the doors. Once we saw our room, we requested a change and were handed the keys to 10 available spaces - each as unattractive and old as ours, but not smoky. The food was also not good- no fresh fruits, tasteless salads,
hot dishes that tasted off, etc. Another problem was that this hotel was not located near the port or the town area and we couldn't get anywhere interesting without a car or bus.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimaHotels, Webmaster at Prima Galil, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your concerns about our hotel as we are always working to make our guests' stays better. We have forwarded your review to the relevant personnel as you concerns are very unusual. As evidenced by many of the other guest reviews, the Prima Galil is known for its cleanliness and new modern design. Additionally, the food is recommended very highly. We do apologize for your stay and we hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you the merits of our hotel. Thank you again and your comments will only help us improve for future customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We were a family of 7 adults & 3 children and booked 4 rooms for 1 night. We all had large rooms and 2 of them had very big balconies. The rooms were very clean & cozy. The view of the Sea of Galilee from my balcony is one that I would love to wake-up-to every morning.
The staff was very friendly & efficient and breakfast was lovely. We were sad to leave and will definitely come back on our nest visit to Tiberius.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prima Galil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Galil

Address: 1 Elhadif St, Tiberias 14105, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tiberias
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prima Galil 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated hotel is situated on a hilltop in the center of historic Tiberias, decorated in a refreshing style- designed to give guests a feeling of serenity. The Prima Galil is an unbeatable base from which to explore the Israel northern region, the Galilee and the Golan heights. • 93 Rooms • Family rooms and suites • Courtesy Tea & Coffee making facilities in room • Mini refrigerator in room • Multi channel TV • Safe deposit box in room • Resource Library with books, maps & self-guided tours • Mini web site info station - with local tours & attractions • Exhibits of Galilee products • Dining room overlooking the Sea of Galilee • Art gallery, Bar & Garden Lounge • Swimming pool (in season) • Free wireless internet in public areas and rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prima Galil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Galil Hotel Tiberias
Prima Hotel Tiberias
Tiberias Prima Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prima Galil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.