We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias to your Saves list
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Habanim Street 1, Tiberias 14103, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Tiberias
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Location but Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Leonardo Plaza Hotel of Tiberias has so much potential but it doesn't even come close to meeting it. There are a few Leonardo Hotels in Tiberias, two are right next to each other. This one is the one closer to the lake than the other, the other being closer to the main street.

One of the first things we noticed was that parking was very tight. The unloading area is very narrow (only room for one car to park and another to pass by), and we had to wait for other vehicles to move in order to unpack. Once we did, we asked for hotel parking and we were told that there was none (although we never got a straight answer as to why some people had their cars parked in chained-off spots - we were finally offered one but were told we could not move our van during our stay once parked, and we wanted to explore the area at will, not to be stuck in Tiberias, so we declined). We were offered a discount rate on the nearest community parking lot, where you either bought the ticket from the munimeter or from the hotel. As one had to pay for parking during the day from 8 AM to about 6 PM, there was plenty of parking during the day, BUT at night it was a very different story. At about 5 PM people start streaming in and park up the lot, staying there for hours of free parking to experience the Tiberias scene. People parked very tightly and blocked others in, it seems without a care. To top it off, people was literally fist fighting over spots. With this in mind, we made sure to get back to Tiberias early from our travels and once parked, we stayed there for the evening.

Now onto the hotel. The lobby is pleasant and well kept. The hallways have old worn and stained carpets. To add to that, they were hot, so people left the windows open, letting in the bugs, The rooms were old too, with furishings which were worn, and broken, and it seemed from the 70's. The flat screens televisions seemed to be the only update they made to the rooms in many years. The air conditioning was fair, but better than some other hotels that we used in the area. The refrigorators worked poorly as well. There was a charge for the WiFi, and it worked very poorly and often not at all (we gave up on it after a day). The beds were fairly comfortable, so they must have at least changed the mattresses and boxsprings more recently too. The sheets and blanket though were well worn. The fire escape, which was just outside our door was very rickity, and had garbage on it from what looked like years ago. I was thankful there was no need to use it.

The hotel had three very small and slow elevators. It was very common for people to jump on anything that came so many folks went up just to eventually go down. This meant that at times you had to wait over 10 minutes to finally catch an elevator (we were on a high floor and we were not about to walk up and down the stairs). The elevators were worst at breakfast time.

The breakfast was very crowded. There was food was plentiful but my teenage kids did not enjoy it. I found it tasty enough. One big compliant here was the there was only one person at the omlet / fresh eggs section so the line was huge and it didn't pay to wait for that.

The pool and spa were very good. In the summer the winds pick up in the area, so it may get chilly for an afternoon swim. The only negative I have with the pool was that they closed promptly and eary at 6 PM. For someone on vacation, that is a bit too early. And there is not direct access to the Kineret. When we inquired, they said we could drive to one of their other Leonardo hotels out of the town to use it. We decided that it did not pay.

Finally at night, it sounded like a party was just outside our windows. It was noicy from about 8 PM, to about 2 or 3 AM every night. Although it was a central location and we enjoy walking to all the nice restaurants and attractions in the area, this was a very unexpected disappointment for our family. We had to leave the televisions on just to fall asleep to drown out the noice a bit. Normally we enjoy silence when we go to bed.

So the central location was the best part of the place but we will never stay there again!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    124
    44
    21
    10
See reviews for
71
84
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadera, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

best room_best workers_best deal_our family was in holiday the hotes was full booking all was very good_i invite the travel on internet eset tours and all was wanderfull_warker name isa on the dinning food was very nicely to us and to all persons_

Room Tip: room with face to the swimingpull
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very close to everything you want to do or see in Tiberias. From there Bethlehem and Haifa is a short drive away. The hotel offers excellent views of the Sea of Gallillee. If Tiberias is in your itinerary I highly suggest this hotel for your accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Leonardo Plaza Hotel in Tiberias was excellent! Great staff and fabulous buffet meals! I would definitely stay here again and recommend to all. It is located right on the sea and close to major Biblical historical sites for day trips.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea and the promenade area may get some loud music from the promenade area ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I do not have a specific issue with the hotel, but it had better times.
It look and feel old and not clean.
No parking, bathroom with plastic certain, old floor carpet etc.
View from our windows were very nice, but the noise from the street is disturbing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with a tour. The food was very good. Many selections in the dining room with several stations for hot, cold, appetizers, etc. Wide selections. Helpful staff. All rooms have balconies. Good views. Nice gift shop. Clean. The beds very comfortable. I could have stayed more than 2 nights because the place was really very nice. If you room is hot ask the desk to put the air conditioner on. The rooms have sensors and when you leave the room the air conditioner stops. (Green to save energy). They have to set the air conditioner not to go off when you leave the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Galilee as some balconies give you the view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I've been to a lot of hotels in Israel, this hotel is far the best!!
Great service, amazing views, great food what more can you ask for? The hotel manager was brilliant what ever you needed he was always there and willing to help...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias

Address: Habanim Street 1, Tiberias 14103, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tiberias
#4 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tiberias
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leonardo Plaza Tiberias located on the shores of the Sea of Galilee where you can rediscover yourself, visit our pampering SPA while the children amuse themselves in the Children’s Club, enjoy rich dinner at the Herod’s Restaurant or just relax on the beach with a book. Enjoy the pampering hotel service, nature and sea treasures in an exclusive atmosphere. Modern rooms, generous service and balconies overlooking the Sea of Galilee make your stay at Leonardo Plaza Tiberias an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tiberias
Tiberias Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Plaza Hotel Tiberias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.