We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Magnificent view of the Sea of Galilee"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Tiberias

Save Saved
You added Leonardo Hotel Tiberias to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Tiberias
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gdud Barak Rd | PO Box 175, Tiberias 14103, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 hotels in Tiberias
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“"Magnificent view of the Sea of Galilee"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

When we arrived in Tiberias late in the evening, after staying in Yardenit, we had already booked hotel, right on the shore of the Tiberias Lake. It is not so far from the center of city, since the town is rather small, regarding its population,around 42000 inhabitants in 2011.
The Hotel guarantees a relaxing stay in a very good location, right on the waterfront of the Sea of Galilee. Around the hotel, there are splendid landscapes and beautiful parks.
Inside, we were informed, that there are 198 beautifully decorated rooms, including 40 family rooms and 5 luxurious Jacuzzi rooms. All these make this place very comfortable and pleasant.
Hotel has its own private beach and also, the large pool and inhouse sauna.
Because of its perfect location, You can plan from this point, to visit beautiful city center or amazing rural environment with the famous historical and religious sights in the north of Israel, such as the Golan Heights, the Hermon Mountain or the Jordan River.
We were very satisfied with our accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    50
    47
    18
    14
See reviews for
50
37
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here with a tour group, hotel was comfortable and cozy. About 5-7 mins walk away from the city center of Tiberias. It's quiet here in the evenings.

My husband and I were given a room bigger than what we could imagine, there was an extra single bed and a long sofa at the other partitioned wall of our room besides the King bed which was comfortable to sleep in. The rooms looks like it's been renovated recently.

Provided in the room was a kettle for boiling water, tea bags and coffee, simple bathroom amenities. Note that there is no safe deposit box in the room so we had to carry our passports with us. TV channels provided are decent.

Buffet breakfast and dinner was a good spread.

Location of the hotel is near shops and there is a Macdonalds about 10 mins walk away. Convenience store where you can get bottled water for a cheaper price is about 5 mins away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were booked here with a church group traveling through Israel. The highlight was the food! It was wonderfully prepared and the staff was eager to help us when we had special needs. The rooms were more than adequate. Since it was a package, I don't know what rate we paid but felt well accommodated. While it is a bit of a walk to town, you could get there easily. I never felt unsafe. My only comment is that there is clearly some construction going on that is unfinished in one area. Also the carpets are a bit worn but the room was clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice with large groups of students and adults. The hotel rooms show signs of age and were nothing special, but there was nothing wrong with them. The hotel serves a nice breakfast and supper, and were extremely helpful. They were even willing to provide me with soy milk. On one trip, the manager even took us into town to get something we needed. I stayed here in June 2012 twice, and once in 2011.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were with Pastor Ralph Sexton Ministries from Ashesville. N.C. Our room was very clean facing the Sea of Galilee and it was awesome.....Very happy with the room, service and would like to stay a month here,,,,The foods were very good...Do not miss this hotel in Israel...God bless, Anne C.

Room Tip: Facing the Sea of Galilee awesome.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We used the Leonardo Tiberias as a base for exploring northern Israel. It is ok for an Israeli hotel, i.e. it doesn't measure up to US or even European standards but it is clean enough.

The good stuff is that our room had a view of the Galilee. The hotel is quiet because it is out of the town centre and the room/bathroom worked fine.

The breakfast was quite average. One morning it was reasonably good, the next morning they had far less choice. The bed, pillows and linens were also average - nothing great but when you are tired you can still get a decent nights sleep.

The less good points are that the hotel is a bit dated, it is a 10 minute walk to the town centre. The rooms are quite noisy any you can hear other guests opening and closing their doors. The staff are glum - doesn't any hotel in Israel teach their staff to smile?

So if you are looking for a good value hotel and don't expect great luxury then the Leonardo works fine.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of the Galilee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

When you get a room with a window facing the Sea of Galilee, the view is great. Clean rooms and great selection for breakfast and dinner. There's not much shops our places to find around or near the hotel (except a view of the Sea of Galilee but you can't get near the waters). Good if you are in a group tour or you have a vehicle to drive you around, but not so good if you are traveling alone or with the family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leonardo Hotel Tiberias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Tiberias

Address: Gdud Barak Rd | PO Box 175, Tiberias 14103, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tiberias
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tiberias
#8 Spa Hotel in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Tiberias 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Tiberias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Tiberias
Moriah Gardens Hotel Tiberias

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Tiberias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.