We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hayarden Street | Yigal Alon Promenade, Tiberias, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Tiberias
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a great bed and breakfast. It is superbly located right on the lake. The staff was friendly and the rooms were well maintained. The property and the architecture are unique; and our boys who are 19 and 21 years thought that this was one of the "coolest" hotel out of the group we stayed at in Israel. Keep in mind that this B&B has only 11 rooms so it doesn't have much in the way of amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
RG
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and the experience was amazing! Based on that I ordered a room by phone a month before the desired date, didn't care about the high price just wanted to enjoy my stay with my wife, at the phone I got a promise it'll be a large room as I had before and that will have a view to the Kenneret sea (could not remember the old room number), I've mentioned that last time we received breakfast to the room and the representative said it won't be an issue. She mentioned that we have to leave the room at 14:30 but she will mention in their dairy my request to leave later.
When we came the picture was totally different: we received a small room while the view to Kinneret was only at the balcony.
We were told we must leave at 13:00 and after lots of conversations they agreed we will leave at 14:00, there was nothing on the diary saying I asked to leave later. We had to go down to eat breakfast, the guy said he doesn't know what I'm talking about when I asked to receive breakfast at our room. Breakfast was reach but not fresh, at that price I expect the east a fresh cut salad & bread.
Even though I've mention the stuff a few times that we are having a bad experience nobody cares.
At that price we could sleep in a suite on a five star hotel and have a change...
So sad!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel is located on the shores of the Sea of Galilee, so is a wonderful setting. As a boutique hotel, the facilities are limited (no lifts, parking, pool, etc.), and in our view it was very expensive compared to other (better) hotels we stayed at in Israel. I also had to pay an extra 25 Shekels to park for 24 hours in the local parking lot – and we had to drag our suitcases the 100 m to the hotel.
Some of the fixtures in the room were looking a bit “tired” and in need of replacement. The rooms were also rather small, with little room to unpack suitcases.
The staff were very good and friendly and the breakfast excellent.
However, overall, not good particularly value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I spent one night in this lovely place. The room was good, clean, quiet, nice decoration but really small and no safebox. Breakfast was great: not a buffet but there were so many good and original things brought on my table! A special mention for the staff, very professional and helpful. A place where you would be ready to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The misiz & me wanted a great place to stay to celebrate our 20th marriage anniversary. This is a small hotel, built in 1850 as a hotel. The rooms have all the modern trimmings though. It is right on the sea of Galillee, at the old part of Tiberias (GREAT LOCATION!). All the attractions & restaurants are at a walking distance. The breakfast is good, the staff is very kind and helpful. I'd certainly want to go there again.
I recall going to the balcony in the morning or the evening, watching the lake. Just great.
They have a private beach but we did not test it (a bit too early for bathing).

Room Tip: The room that faces the sea and the balcony goes around and faces the Catholic church in the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

A very good place to stay in Tiberias next to the Sea of Galilee. Very good rooms with balconies to see the sun rise, a great experience. Excellent breakfast. Plenty of good restaurants for dinner within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Winter in Israel it is the most beautiful season for me, never too cold and so green with amazing flowering and huge amount of migratory birds. This time we went to Tiberias from which we could walk the Golan Heights. We booked for two nights at a boutique hotel "Shirat Hayam" and we could not choose a better hotel for our purpose. The hotel, only 11 rooms, is located on the Promenade of Tiberias,in front of Lake Kinnert and the breathtaking view of the lake and Golan Heights. This rare building built in 1850 has been totaly renovated, using basaltic stones with many arched windows tipical of the ottoman style. The only thing we did not like so much is that every room has jacuzzi, which is in our opinion a waste of place. Not far away from the hotel is a public parking palce, which is free during a night but must be must pay from 8 am.

Room Tip: Higher floors have there are larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel

Address: 1 Hayarden Street | Yigal Alon Promenade, Tiberias, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Tiberias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Tiberias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shirat hayam, a boutique hotel, is located in front of lake kinnert and opposite the breathtaking view of the Golan Heights This rare building has been totally renovated using basaltic stones with many arched windows typical of the ottoman style. It was built in 1850 and was enlarged in 1925. The hotel was one of the first hotels in Tiberias and was originally called "Haifa" just like other hotels that were named after cities at that time. In 1946, after the very popular Egyptian singer and actress Umm Kulthum also know as "the star of East" stayed at the hotel they change the hotel's former name to the star of the east as a token of admiration. After the establishment of the State of Israel, the famous painter, Shimshon Holzman, who was a resident of the hotel, set up a big gallery for visitors. Many artists visited, stayed and painted here. Among them were Nachum Guttman, Reuven Rubin and many more including Holzman. One of the most well known paintings of the hotel was created by Nachum Guttman and is called "The Promenade of Tiberias". The hotel since then has been refurbished keeping the uniqueness of its rooms, suites and balconies, enabling the guests to enjoy the feeling of history in every corner at Shirat Hayam boutique hotel. The hotel has kept its characteristic beauty, creating harmonious combination between ancient and modern, giving a feeling of tranquility at its best. Located in front of the Sea of Galilee, the historic building style with the decorative tiles enforces that feeling. The hotel is situated on the Igal Alon Promenade of Tiberias right in the heart of the open-air museum for sculptures where works of art the best artists are displayed. Illana Gur's for example. It is becoming a center of art. What is there in the hotel? There are 11 magnificently decorated suites with a view of the Sea of Galilee. The Presidential suite, Balconies and De Lux suites were especially designed and furnished to emphasize the uniqueness of the place and yet are furnished all modern connivances. All the rooms are equipped with LCD screens and Cable TV. Each of the Presidential Suite and the Balconies Suite has a private balcony facing the lake where the changing colors of the scenery can be seen according to the time of day and season. Most rooms contain Jacuzzi. The Holzman Balcony is located on the rooftop of the hotel and is suitable for sunbathing or relaxation. Gatherings of guests, lectures and professional meetings can be organized with advance notice (Up to 80people), private dinners or other intimate occasions can be held there, too. The hotel offers a dairy breakfast to both guests and visitors outside the hotel. It also offers a spa for treatment and relaxation. Special spa-deals including a day-room are available. The guests are welcome to relax, enjoy their stay and their stay and then leave with a smile and a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shirat Hayam Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.