We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, gorgeous views from the balcony” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old City Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Old City Inn to your Saves list
Old City Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Arlozorov 107 | Arlozorov 107, Safed 13231, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Safed B&B and Inns
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful rooms, gorgeous views from the balcony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently stayed at Old City Inn. They were very accommodating to our late check in and check out. The room,quite large, was fresh,clean, and gorgeous. The whole place is charming and exquisitely decorated. It was nice receiving a bottle of wine,fruits, milk and juice, in addition to the coffee and bath stuff. Location is great and the views from the balcony were just awesome. We had a wonderful stay in this luxurious inn. We would definitely recommend it to friends and stay there again!
SK

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Petach Tikva
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

excellent service - very personal.Wonderful view.Room was very big and clean. Excellent breakfast at Rimonim Inn - wished I could have eaten more ... but there was no room left!
Very well situated in center of town at the edge of the Artist's Quarter. Will definitely - most definitely - stay there again. I will highly recommend this place to my friends and family.
The only criticism I have is that I could not figure out the air-conditioner remote!

Room Tip: any and every room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The place is rather a guest house the a boutique hotel. The room we stayed in, was freshly renovated and carefully designed, trying to combine contemporary and heritage .
The highlight of our room ( don't know if its in every room) was the hot tub . Ours however didn't work well, still it was nice romantic gadget to have...
The view from the balcony is owe some ,
Mounts of Galil....
The need to go to another hotel for breakfast ( rimonim) was annoying a beat...
As I said earlier the room was good but something was missing... Might be the somehow cold service at the front desk...
Anyway for a short stay, or a romantic weekend, old city inn would not be a bad choice, especially given the other choices around

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We Araived at Thursday Eve to the Hotel, and were amazed by it's location and were astonished by the Room's Beauty and Decoration, Good Breakfast at the "Rimonim" Hotel, and Astonish View from the porch.
But, We had Few major Disappointments:
* We Were Promised a DVD Player in the room, there wasn't any DVD player in the room.
* on the Evening, when we got in the Hot-Tub (our main purpose on taking the "Honey" Suite),
it didn't work. we called the woman incharge and she didn't answer, we left her a voice mail after a short while i recived a short ring to my phone from her and than she hang up, we tried to call again and no answer. At the day after We were Disappointed that we didn't Recive a call back from the Woman Incharde so we called her and spoke to her that she needs to fix the tub and asked for a compensation, her reaction was that it was our fault and we didn't answer the phone, and if she knew about it last night she'd fix it imminently. we didn't get any compensation for the hot tub, which makes the room more expensive, and got to argue with the woman incharge about who called who first, which is childish.

* As i formerly worked as a cleaner in a Hotel, I know hot to spot defects, and the Hot-Tub area wasn't cleaned properly, There were dead bees in the Hut-Tub area, used Candles, no matches
i was very disappointed from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny H, Manager at Old City Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We were sorry and dismayed by the posting of our guests of 10 April 2013.

We do not offer DVD players in our rooms, as can be seen on our Website.

Cleanliness and personal service are top priorities at the Old City Inn, and we take very seriously any incidents where we may have come up short.
Although we tried to respond immediately to the hot tub complaint and were unable to reach our guests, we not only responded immediately by sending in a serviceman as soon as we received the complaint, but offered compensation to our guests, who did not reply. So we delivered a bottle of wine to their room, in hopes of compensating them for their inconvenience.

We are sincerely sorry for their negative experience, and hope that we will have the opportunity to make it up to them in a future visit.

We will continue to endeavor to not only please our guests, but to receive them again over the years as their "home away from home" in the Galilee - a friendly, familiar and welcoming haven.

Sincerely,
The Old City Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent two night here in the beginning of January 2013. In general we were quite happy about it. Shortly:

Pros:
*Absolutely beautiful. The design is astonishing. It is really, really wonderful both in the hotel itself and the rooms. Rooms are big, beautiful and very nicely decorated. They also left us a carton of milk and carton of juice in the fridge, additionally to the standard tea and coffee, which was nice.

*Wonderful location and gorgeous views. Really, just the views from the room are worth it. And the hotel is located in the Old City, which is quite convenient.

Cons (or why we give them 4 stars and not 5):

*No hotel parking. We found parking quite easily, but still.

*The breakfast is served in a different hotel. It's not far, and it's not a bother if the weather is nice; but if it was raining, I would find very annoying. I like my mornings on a vacation easy. I'd rather a slightly worse off breakfast, but in the hotel itself.

*The reception is not manned for quite long periods of time. Let's say that when we went to breakfast, and came back, there was no one there. Same in the evening. You surely can call them, but it is much less convenient than just talking to them directly.

*The room is not cleaned during your stay, only between guests. We didn't find it to be a problem, but we know some people would.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

My mother and I spent one fabulous night at the Old City Inn in August. The hotel is charming and was clearly designed with a personal touch. When we entered the room, we were pleasantly surprised to find fresh fruit and a small bottle of wine. The room was beautiful with a fantastic view of the surrounding hills. Located in Safed's old city, it was easy for us to walk to all points of interest and restaurants.

Because this is a new, boutique hotel, they don't have facilities of their own, but their partnership with the nearby Rimmonim hotel provides guests with parking, a swimming pool and a full Israeli breakfast.

I strongly recommend this hotel, and would be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Inn

Address: Arlozorov 107 | Arlozorov 107, Safed 13231, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old City Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the Old City of Safed, there is a restored building 320 years old that is now a boutique hotel named "Old City Inn." The Old City Inn is in the heart of the artists' galleries, old city street and ancient synagogues known in Safed. The hotel combines the design and reconstruction of the building history of the Old City and the Jewish community. Domain hosting hotel is a magnificent restored and built to high standards and offers hospitality in a special cylindrical. The hotel has 3 floors and including 7 suites decorated with authentic furniture, designed with the atmosphere, each suite balcony overlooking the stunning landscape of ancient Safed, Mountain Meron and the Amud Wadi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old City Inn Safed, Israel - Galilee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.