We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service. I liked it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bagdad Cafe

Bagdad Cafe
61 Jerusalem Street, Safed, Israel
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 24 restaurants in Safed
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Description: Tel: 04-6974065
Restaurant details
Description: Tel: 04-6974065
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good service. I liked it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I ate here both nights. I sat outside on the other side of the road with a view over the hills. The service was efficient and the waitress was charming. The food was nicely presented and of good quality and generous quantity. The second night, everything I originally wanted was not available. Normally, I would have walked out, but somehow it did not matter. The overall relaxed atmosphere and the view and the good service overcame it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    3
    12
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food was excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Service was excellent. The waitress spoke English which helped a lot. We sat outside and enjoyed the view and the breeze. Good value for the money. Rimmonim Hotel wanted to charge us double for breakfast so we saved money by going here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best restuarant view in Safed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Can't beat the amazing view. The outside seating is also covered so you are shaded from the sun. The food was was very good as well. I would go back and recommend it for a nice casual meal in Safed. Have menus in English as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best cafe in the midrachov”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We found this cafe in the winter when it was freezing cold outside (as it quite often is due to it's position high up on Mount Cana'an). It's well-known and frequented by English-speakers. The coffee shop was small inside but warm and cosy and served good strong cappuccino. I was there this week, while the weather was warm and you can sit outside with great views over the surrounding countryside. There is a small but varied menu and the cheese platter was very good - there was a variety of several types of cheese, the vegetables were fresh, and the bread was light and crusty. We shared one platter between two and it was plenty. Unfortunately, we were there on a day when some sort of argument was going on between the waitress and one of the restaurant workers so thumbs down for service. On previous occassions all has been quiet so hopefully that was a one-off!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Israeli Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just got back from Safed and had lunch at the cafe. Had the Israeli breakfast. omellete, salad, cheese and wheat (i guess) bread. Hot and fresh. Really Really good .... Service: excellent. Asked for directions to Nahal Amud and she was very helpful. She (the waiter) asked all over the place how to get there but no one knew. Never the less she tried very hard to help me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bagdad Cafe also viewed

 
Safed, Galilee
Safed, Galilee
 

Been to Bagdad Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagdad Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.