We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodations in an ideal setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artists' Colony Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Artists' Colony Inn to your Saves list
Artists' Colony Inn
Simtat Yud Zayin 9, Safed 13231, Israel   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
10% OFF ROOM RATES
Ranked #1 of 29 Safed B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodations in an ideal setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Artists' Colony is one of the warmest accommodations that I have ever enjoyed. The location is ideal. It is located just a few short steps from countless artist studios in Safed which, in my opinion, is on of the most charming places I have ever visited. The hotel or, better yet, the guest house, is impeccably clean, extremely spacious and it exudes charm. The breakfast every morning is extremely generous. However,he highlight of Artists' Colony is the their staff. Suzanne could not do enough for us. She is warm, super friendly and is always willing to share suggestions for things to do or places to see. I cannot find enough words of praise for this gem of a place

Room Tip: Spacious, impeccably clean and service with a smile
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
115
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was a great find thru Trip Advsor. The innkeeper is super and breakfast was great! Shakshouka, homemade hummus, great selection of bread, veggies, salmon. Perfect fuel for a day of shopping in the artists area. Cannospeak highly enough. And, there is parking!

Room Tip: Safed is beautiful. Third highest terrain feature in Israel. Dress appropriately. Use your GPS an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is not a hotel. You are a guest in someone's home. And indeed you feel very welcome. There are only 4 spacious and wonderful rooms. Breakfast is splendid and the Inn manager, Susan is the best. The building itself is made of stone and would be considered of historical significance any other place in the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I was only able to stay in Safed one night but this inn was well worth the drive. I chose the Avital room which was lovely and quite large with a comfortable king-sized bed, huge bathroom tub and a lovely private patio. Susan was warm and interesting to talk to and made a delicious breakfast the next morning. Highly recommended if your travels take you to Safed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We've heard about this B and B in Israel for years and finally were lucky enough to spend a couple of days there. Susan runs the Inn and her hospitality is outstanding. We chose our room fro m their website and it was perfect for us. We had our own terrace and a balcony to sit in at night and have a glass of wine overlooking a magnificent sunset. There are only four rooms so you become friendly with the other guests. Susan gave us a knowledgeable guided tour through the synagogues including all the mystycism. The one recommendation we have is to pack a small separate bag for your visit. Safed is all hills and the Inn is up many steps which lends to the fabulous view from all the terraces. A must stay place in Safed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was two memorable days in this B&B. The location is great after you find it. As many reviewers have already stated it is not easy to find it for the first time and to find the parking is challenging as well. But you forget about this small inconvenience as soon as you walk in and meet Susan. When we got in she offered a free room upgrade. The room we stayed for 2 nights was spacious for such places in old towns. It even had a den on the second floor, very nice balcony and outside area.

The breakfasts were very good with good variety of food and baked goods. The common area has nice sitting arrangement where you can have coffee and tea at any time of the day and night.

This B&B is going to be our place to stay when we visit the Safed next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros: Personable hostess, large room, comfortable, AC works well. Dehumidifier controls slight dampness. Lovely balconies.
Cons: 28 step walkup to Inn entrance, with your luggage, from the parking area.
Breakfast provided, but if you should make the mistake to be there on Shabbat, you're out of luck for dinner. Fortunately,we were able to find a 280NIS buffet at the Ruth Rimonim hotel down the street, on our own.
WiFi in lobby only.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanova, Owner at Artists' Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Shalom. Thank you for your feedback.
For anyone who reads this, please call us when you are on your way and we will meet you where you can unload your suitcases from your car. It is a place about 50 yards/meters from the inn and has only 2 steps to the inn.
As for the dinner options on a Friday night, for those of our guests who do not drive on the Sabbath, the buffet at the inn just down the road from us, is the only option other than being hosted by a local family. We highly recommend the buffet option and we offer vouchers for the restaurant. Should you want to be hosted by a local family, our manager can help you with that, as well. For those of our guests who do drive on the Sabbath, there are many excellent options just outside of Tzfat.
Again, we thank our guests for their feedback and hope to host them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artists' Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists' Colony Inn

Address: Simtat Yud Zayin 9, Safed 13231, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Safed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Safed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Artists' Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists` Colony Hotel Safed
Artists' Colony Inn Safed, Israel - Galilee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artists' Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.