We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean &Tidy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Bay Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Blue Bay Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   37 Hamelachim St, Netanya 42228, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Netanya
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Clean &Tidy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great value for money, clean quiet and friendly , good basic breakfast ,, simple self service, this hotel allows you to look after yourself it is a very easy place to stay in trips and tours can be arranged at a small fee.
Located next to a beautiful beach with easy access and gentle walks for the more adventurous kit is a reasonable, flat, walk into the town with good but simple amenities . A great place to chill out.

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    43
    39
    27
    37
See reviews for
26
23
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We came to Blue Bay Hotel with a whole school from Norway. We/I didn't have any clue of where we were gonna stay or what it Israel would be like. But the first impression of the hotel was just fabulous. Unfortunately we came just before the Easter Holiday, which is the peak season for Israel. So the hotel was under a little bit of renovation, the pool area was closed. The sea view is just magnificent, it took my breath away, the sea was blue, and the sky was blue.

The rooms was very nice, nothing outstanding but very nice. The only problem was that it's a bit far from Netanya Central but not a very big problem. We didn't eat any food there, so i can't say anything about that. Overall, nothing very special, but not the worst that have happend to me

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meitar, Israel
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The price is high for such a simple hotel. Windows of the rooms are dirty. No Wi Fi in the rooms. Old beds and small TV.
Need renovation. Mainly bathrooms . Breakfast Ok no more.
Very disapointing. Sorry guys

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

If you're specifically looking for a budget stay in netanya then you can't go wrong with this nice beachside hotel, with great pool, efficient bar, and a wonderful beach that includes a sheltered portion that is ideal for kids...
Great pension with excellent breakfast and dinner service, if food counts for you ..
Don't expect 4* service, but its more than adequate unless you're a hotel junkie - then you're in the wrong place.
Summary:
Pros: great beach, nice pool, great grub, great value for money, good A/C, decent rooms ...
Beware: Average service, 30 mins outside Tel Aviv by car, not for business - its a tour groupie hotel, don't expect super amenities

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The lobby and lounge are gorgeous
Swimming pool great
Food was fair. Breakfast very good dinner was poor.
Rooms small, poor tv options, hallways without a/c.
Front desk staff terrible during check in: rude, unhelpful, short tempered, obnoxious.
Security /doorman not welcoming or helpful
Called front desk during middle of night b/c of very noisy guests talking in hallway. No answer despite repeated attempts. Had to handle ourselves.
Overall, felt unwelcomed and paid more than it was worth.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I came with my good friend for a 3-day 2-night vacation at the Blue Bay in Netanya.
We heard that it is far from downtown but didn't care much to have access to restaurants and things of that nature since we assumed to be able to enjoy all the hotel has to offer food-wise, and just wanted to disconnect for a few days, and indulge in relaxation.
Unfortunately, soon we found out the place was far from one where we can feel like were on a real vacation.
We checked in fairly late, around 8pm, to receive an incredibly dirty hallway on the hotel's 6th floor. We called reception to complain and were told cleaning service will arrive at 6am to clean it. Aw well, we head for breakfast around 9:30 AM to find the hallway is still UNACCEPTABLY dirty from last night. It really looked so filthy it was hard to ignore it. When we complained again at the reception desk we were told there are a lot of Taglit groups in the hotel and that's the cause of the mess and dirt. Excuse me? Is that an appropriate answer to give to your guest? Is it also a legitimate excuse? Should there be ANY excuses at all for this filth? Absolutely disgraceful.
The dinner was so unbelievably horrible my friend ended up having stomach problems for the rest of the night, we were extremely disappointed.
Also, the dining room looked so un-inviting, felt like we are in a hostel, it did not feel like this is a respectable hotel that refers itself as one, the dining room at my military base back in my bootcamp days was more appealing than this one.
Breakfast made it up for the dinner, just a tad bit, but then again after than kinda dinner you could only go up from there.
The staff was overall nice, not very professional though, as we also had to requested at least 3 times in the course of 24 hrs for someone to replace our tea water boiler in the room, until someone finally came (after a very firm last request).
Also, if after reading this, you still choose this hotel as your preferable resort, know that public transportation is very uncomfortable, do not arrive without a car or you will be ripped off by the rude taxi drivers in Netanya who will charge you 30 shekels for a literally 2 minute ride, or in case you choose to go for the nearest shuttles you will have to schlep all of your stuff pretty far out of the hotel to receive a proper shuttle service.
One good thing I can say is the room was not too bad, you could tell everything is "renovated" and "taped up" but it didn't feel too bad, it was fairly clean and had a nice view.
The pool was nice too, and that's what saved this review from getting only 1 point.
This is very unfortunate for me to write this, being a hotel worker myself, but especially since I do know the depth of this business I find it absolutely unacceptable to keep quiet about my experience. I hope management can pay attention and take notes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The only decent thing about this hotel was the swimming pool.
My friend and I arrived for 2 nights, around 8pm. The corridor was filthy; nutshells and plastic wraps all over the place. although we were told this would be taken care of by 6am, it was still there at 10am.
At the counter, we were told that the hotel hosts 6 different groups of young travellers. When we went to the only "shop" nearby, a small tent with some fruit and a fridge, we were told the Blue Bay Hotel hosts groups such as these all the time. Indeed, there was noise in the corridor until 4am.
The food at dinner was very bad. breakfast was a bit better.
Service was kind but slow. The kettle was broken and someone came to check it only the next day. When the room was cleaned, they forgot to put back a few towels.
Bathroom looks like it was renewed recently by a bad handyman.
Nice beach nearby but very dirty.
There's a bus to the city once an hour but it doesn't arrive on time, usually earlier.
I couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Hotel & Spa

Address: 37 Hamelachim St, Netanya 42228, Israel
Location: Israel > Central District > Netanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Netanya
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Bay Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Bay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Netanya
Blue Bay Hotel And Spa
Blue Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.