We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of our lives!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tishreen

Tishreen
56, El-Bishara, Nazareth, Israel
04-6084666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Nazareth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Named after the month it was opened in 2004 ( tishreen is Arabic for October) this sophisticated restaurant has an autumnal atmosphere with its straw-encrusted walls lined with antiques and wine bottles. Locals enjoying long lunches and late dinners order Mediterranean-inspired dishes from the mosaic-tiled wood oven which turns out 'aborigine (aubergine) stuffed with pesto and cheese' as well as excellent muhammar , an Arabic pizza topped with chicken and onion slices
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best meal of our lives!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful friendly staff that worked together. Everything we ate was unbelievable, we even ordered an extra side of veggies because they tasted like candy! Good selection of alcohol, reasonable prices and great atmosphere. We enjoyed this restaurant much more than Al-Redy. SO DELICIOUS!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    58
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Delightful, highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Tishreen is a western-arab restaurant. The place resembles a bistro, it combines beautifully between the local and international.
For starters we had Rocket salad, which was a lovely twist on the watercress (garger) local salad,figs and sabra fruit green salad, very good humus, and from the wood oven an eggplant in red tehine - yamm...
For the main courses we took (again from the wooden oven) we had lamb chops, Muhammar, and Sinia (Kofta) all were delicious, full of taste and spices.

The dessert was ok, no more.
Excellent, attentive service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Delicious food, good service, classic atmosphere, this restaurant recommended to anyone who wants to eat good food in Nazareth...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A place where even the water is beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This dining experience was exceptional. The owner, manager and waitresses took care of my every need. For any comfort, a simple polite request was met with " no problem!" that being said, the food was remarkably good, I lingered for over 3 hours with a bottle of wine, 3 full courses and dessert served with tea. The entire bill (including tip was under 45.00 US $). The portions are ample enough to share between two people and still be quite satisfied. A meal , a good meal is in the entire experience, your atmosphere, willingness to take in the people and surroundings, to savor the bites one at a time. At Tishreen you are allowed to do this without pressures usually experienced to hurry up and clear the table....at Tishreen you can become a friend. I have already reserved my table for next week.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were a big party of over 18 adults and children,for dinner.
The place was evidently too small to accomodate our party and another simliar party, The place was very crowded, hot and noisy. The big long table was set in a clumsy manner and seating was a not far from a torture. We waited for long minutes to be served- too long- . Even the soft drinks for the hungry young children tarded to be brought to the table. Portions were big and abundant- the recommnded house speciality- Muchamar- quite tastey but not warm enough. In spite of the good will of the young waitresses, that birthday dinner was rather a disappointing event. Maybe we should retry this place when less crowded.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tishreen also viewed

Nazareth, Galilee
Nazareth, Galilee
 
Nazareth, Galilee
 

Been to Tishreen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tishreen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.