We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City views and good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Gabriel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St Gabriel to your Saves list
St Gabriel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rouse Al Jabal Street 50 Neighborhood Salizian 2 | P.O. Box 2318, Nazareth 16000, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Nazareth
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“City views and good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A quiet place, good for contemplation or to be with friends. Large and accommodating.

Restaurant has Hebrew menu only but staff is happy to explain and translate. View is over entire city of Nazareth and should not be missed-- day or evening. Pleasant and accommodating staff.

Lovely detail in the furniture in the lobby--- worth taking a second look at if you are unfamiliar with that design of inlay furniture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
6
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel has one of the most breathtaking views of Nazareth so make sure you stay in a room with a view. My room overlooked a wooden plank!!

The rooms are EXTREMELY small - It would be next to impossible to share it between two people. This is not due to lack of space however, but just a bad use of it. I've stayed at hotels with smaller sized rooms that utilized the space well.

On the day we arrived we were served a buffet lunch in the attached restaurant. The food here was delicious. However, the rest of our meals were served in the hotel itself and were the most tasteless meals I've ever been subjected to. This was a consistent issue with a lot of the budget hotels I've stayed at in Israel/Palestine/Egypt - I would recommend stocking up on Cup Noodles or other tastier alternatives.

The hotel has a chapel nearby with a gorgeous sounding Grand Piano. Plan ahead to catch a concert at this venue.

For a budget traveler, this is an excellent option to crash out for a few days while touring the city. I'd definitely go back on my next visit.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view of the city. Some rooms have terrible views of service areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Buatiful location, great view. What a waste!
I stayed one night with a friend. it was freezing cold in the room, central heating was off, air condition not working properly, the room smells of damp. The people running the place are friendly but it seems they don't really care. cheap and nasty.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we just returned from a long weekend with friends at the St. Gabriel Hotel for the second time. the hotel that was formerly a church is located on the hights point in Nazareth with a breathtaking view of the city and the mountains. The owner and family are very friendly and make you feel at home immediatly, they share stories over a hot cup of coffee, tea and cake and offer a number of free tours and things to do in the area. the rooms are very basic but clean and tidy.
Don't miss having dinner at the hotel, the food is amazing they serve almost a 10 course dinner using local products for the price of a simple dinner. I would say that the friendly staff and the experience cover up for the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed one night (Friday) on Dec 28th, the monastery from outside looks great and it is on top of a hill so you could see all of Nazareth below, nice view especially at night. The hotel from inside looks like a regular hotel, especially the corridors and rooms. This was disappointing for me since I expected to feel that I am inside a monastery. The hotel itself is equivalent to a 2 start hotel (something like Motel 6 in the US). The room is small. There are no King beds so if you are a couple you need to sleep on 2 queen beds. The bath is small and functional.
We choose this hotel since we have read that the restaurant is amazing. We ate there on Friday night, it was average nothing more. The day after we choose a random restaurant in Nazareth main street that was far better than this restaurant.
Breakfast includes bred, vegetables, 2 types of serials, eggs, tuna, cake and cold/hot drinks. Was OK. The staff was very warn and helpfull.
To summarize for 150$ for a couple I would expect much better hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor with the City view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Up up up with a magnificent view of Nazereth. The rooms ate a bit spartan but for the price including breakfast it's a real bargain.
Like a two star hotel. If you will be satisfied with simplicity you can be happy there.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I am all for quaint, but must tell you that this hotel really disappointed. You can see the other comments, which pretty much mirror our experience. What was really weird is that the front desk told me they were having a problem with their credit card machine and I had to pay for the room in cash. Yet, when we went to the restaurant (nothing special) we paid with a credit card.

With all its historical significance, I was pretty amazed that a tour bus full of tourists from Sweden were staying here.... You might consider looking elsewhere.

BTW - bring your own shampoo.....and ask for extra towels.

Room Tip: ask for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Gabriel

Address: Rouse Al Jabal Street 50 Neighborhood Salizian 2 | P.O. Box 2318, Nazareth 16000, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Nazareth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Gabriel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Gabriel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.