We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of two Halves” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Mount of Precipice, Nazareth 16000, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Nazareth
Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hotel of two Halves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here as part of a tour group just two nights in mid march. This hotel has a more corporate feel to it in that the reception, communal and dining areas are all finished to a reasonably high standard ie: lots of glass, mirrors and marble. The rooms however, are basic but comfortable. To be honest I really was torn between giving this hotel three and four stars, it is a hotel of two halves in many respects (it is in fact a square ‘c’ shape with the prongs of the ‘c’ pointing out towards the valley) and it was only the views and the additional facilities available that pushed me to four stars, and justly so if I may say.

It is located outside the main town of Nazareth, in fact the location and views to be had if you’re lucky or specifically ask for them are the best in Nazareth if you ask me. Make sure you ‘ASK’ for a room looking over the Armageddon Valley (or Jezreel Valley as it’s know as by some) if you want one. If you want to slightly compromise these views and prefer good access to the pool ask for pool access, whatever is your preference. I ended up in a room overlooking a building site with no building going on (suspended I suspect), because of a busy schedule I was unlikely to make the most of them in the hotel anyway so stayed put. I stayed as a single person (sadly my wife isn’t a believer in God - Yet) and my room was spacious and clean with a flat screen TV, switched on once to check English speaking channels, it’s was only BBC news telling me of the snow back home when we had 22 Celsius all week, a little cooler possibly with the elevation of the hotel built on the hillside. Double bed (two singles pushed together), large built in dresser with mirror and separate writing table with lamp but just one chair. The bathroom was a let down but clean, no separate shower gels etc, just a wall mounted liquid soap dispenser a basin, narrow bath and a puny shower head mounted ‘off centre’ to bath on a cheap plastic bracket that meant it kept falling out the bracket when in use, very disappointing and irritating indeed, I much prefer a really good invigorating shower! Good wardrobe space with a safe for passports and money.

Food was buffet style and a very good range for both east & western diets, it slightly irritates me to see some people moaning that they didn’t get 1-1 restaurant service in a hotel this size. No chipped plates, all very clean and a very good salad bar which pleased me as I’m vegetarian. Getting a good cup of tea or coffee was not possible, but in my experience it never is abroad, just remember you’re in a foreign country. There is a good seating area above the dining area but is a bit noisy due to the open plan design, this quietens down by 8.30pm, there are other rooms I think, so just ask reception (some bilingual) who will help if you’re assertive. They do have conference rooms too, we had our Revelation TV 10th Anniversary meal in one but again, buffet style.

Nazareth, and by definition the hotel are nearby to all the Northern Israel Christian tourist sites, such as Capernaum, Sea of Galilee, Jordan River baptism site (Yardenit for me - very good in value, safety and well organised), Megiddo, Church of Annunciation, Cana, Mount of Beatitudes, and wherever your car/bus takes you.

Trip Advisor have it rated as the second best in Nazareth, that may be true but do not confuse this with the five star hotels of the Caribbean or Maldives, remember that this is not an all inclusive beach resort so may well be five star by their own standards but It’s not competing with A/I beach resorts, and it very possibly does have many features that I simply didn’t get chance to use. Israel, apart from Tel Aviv attracts a more spiritually minded person anyway, so this hotel probably is the second best one if you’re stopping in Nazareth (remember – hotel of two halves) but I would still have a quick look at the others first, but that’s me … Enjoy Israel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    49
    46
    8
    11
See reviews for
16
33
3
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel. Beautiful view. Nice swimming pool. Polite and friendly staff. Quiet hotel. A good place to relax. It is situated on a hill and the fresh air you get near the pool is very refreshing.some of the staff talk are maltingual. The boufet is not that special but also i have no negative comment on it. They deserve mideterenean food mostly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel s over looking the Izrael Valley - Armageddon, it was built as a 5* hotel under the Renaissance chain however managed as a 4* property by a private label.

Rooms are quite big, plenty of conference rooms, nice lobby bar with great service, rooms are OK and quite large

Free WIFI available at public area which is quite important, bottom line value for money

Room Tip: Best hotel in Nazareth although not located at down town
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice and neat rooms. My room is located near the swimming pool and has access to it. Nice view of Nazareth in the poolside. The buffet is yummy and delicious...always looking forward to it. Desserts are great too. Wifi in lobby was strong. I had a good sleep here. Hotel is quite far from stores though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Golden Crown is located away from the commercial center of Nazareth. There’re no shops or even convenience stores nearby.

The room is reasonably spacious and clean but the interiors felt tired and dated. Bathroom is very basic with liquid soap available for use on both hair and body?! The bed was a bit too hard for my liking whilst the pillow was too soft and didn’t provide any support. The room feels damp and the lighting insufficient. Had some problem with the door lock (twice) – door could not automatically lock. Free wifi was only available in the hotel lobby and spotty in other parts of the hotel.

This hotel caters mainly to large package tour groups – so, don’t expect personalised service. In fact, the service from the staffs was largely unenthusiastic and most looked irritable and grouchy. This was my first stay in this country and after my subsequent stay at another city, I have realised that such service could be the norm here! Was surprised that this hotel was actually rated No. 2 in Nazareth?!

Dinner buffet spread was very decent with a good selection of dishes. The salads were well prepared, fresh and the varieties pretty good (especially for vegetarians). The other dishes were adequate too. However, the selection for breakfast was a bit lacking. For a hotel catering mainly to large tour groups, I could only see 2 – 3 staffs serving close to 150+ guests. They didn’t bother serving coffee as they seemed overwhelmed or just couldn’t be bothered. Almost all of us had our coffee self-served.

There are several must-visit historical/biblical sites in or nearby to Nazareth: Megiddo, Sea of Galilee, Church of Annunciation, Cana, Mount of Beatitudes etc. However, our stay in this hotel was very average at best in otherwise a very memorable visit to Nazareth.

Room Tip: There aren't many choices of hotels in Nazareth. If you've got to stay here, choose a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here with a group of pilgrims visiting the Holy Land for 3 nights. The first room assigned was on the 3rd floor overlooking a construction site. I requested a 'room with a view' of the Jezreel Valley. We were relocated to room 815 with a view to enjoy! The morning and evening buffets were plentiful, many fresh fruits and vegetables of the region, variety of entrees and desserts. Complimentary computers are available for internet access. There was evening entertainment. I did know the language the songs were being sung; the music was lovely and those present were enjoying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a very comfortable, efficiently run large, white stone hotel set on a quiet hill overlooking the Galilee, highly recommended for tours. A peaceful, rural change from the usual Tiberias venues down on the Sea of Galilee. Also convenient for touring the far north and Golan Heights. As a biblical health teacher, I was impressed by the sumptuous, healthy, Israeli buffet style vegetarian cuisine as well as the usual hard boiled eggs. There were also meat and fish on the menu which friends said was good Great private meeting room facilities where we had a delectable celebration dinner. We were entertained by the newly formed, exuberant Nazareth dance troupe Room service meals were efficiently delivered and the order correct - a small miracle in itself! Porterage was extremely efficient even for a party of 150 guests. The sunrises, sunsets and views over Galillean valley were stunning. Sleep quality good as rooms are very comfortable, however bathroom needs better lighting for makeup or shaving, and be prepared to awake at dawn to prayers from mosque! Delighted to find free WiFi working in my room. Overall, a great sanctuary on a busy tour.

Room Tip: The hotel has a broad facade and also long east and west wings. All overlook the large swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel

Address: 2015 Mount of Precipice, Nazareth 16000, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Nazareth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Crown Hotel Nazareth
Golden Crown Nazareth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.