We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beit Miriam, Nazareth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centre International Marie de Nazareth

Centre International Marie de Nazareth
15A Casa Nova Street | Pob 50199, Nazareth 16161, Israel
046461266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Nazareth
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let Mary be your guide to Jesus through the Scriptures. - A one-hour multimedia show in 11 languages, (HE,FR,AR,EN,IT,ES,PL,RU,PT,DE,JP) - Three 30’ movies to deepen the mystery of Mary (16 languages)- Chapel- Gardens roof with a breathtaking view of old Nazareth- Archeological site : ruins of a house from Jesus’time- CafeteriaOpening hours : Monday – Saturday: 9:30-12:00 AM and 2:30-5:00 PM.Private booking available at any time.Fees : donation 50 NIS
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beit Miriam, Nazareth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The International Marian Center in Nazareth (Beit Miriam to the locals) is an attractive oasis of beauty and quiet in the middle of a bustling city, and often equally bustling churches as the tourist buses unload their waves of camera-clicking pilgrims into the streets.
Some of the features I like most are: the remains of a first-century house near the entrance, the chapel, and the rooftop gardens with spectacular views over the city.
The center exists to promote a particular (RC) view of Mary, the mother of Jesus. A well-produced multimedia show in four successive theatres presents the biblical and non-biblical traditions relating to Mary.
The hour needed to view all four of these shows probably excludes all but the most ardent devotees of Our Lady as very few pilgrims spend more than two hours in the city. For most visitors, a visit to Nazareth includes little more than the Basilica of the Annunciation and a trip to Mt Precipice. Even the Greek Orthodox Church with its ancient well is often omitted. Those with a little extra time will often choose to spend an hour and a half walking through the model farming community at Nazareth Village Farm rather than watching the multimedia presentation at Beit Miriam.
At the same time, the series of small theatres has already proved to be a great resource for the local churches. I enjoyed seeing an Easter play presented by Sabeel Nazareth in one of these well designed theatres a couple of months ago.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    22
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Is a very nacy people and place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Eduardo from Mexico.
I like very much this place because is a very good quality in all of their services and they are very nice and kind people.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The people were wonderful and so giving and generous with their explanations and time. The multi media show is interesting although we are not believers, but could be skipped. the building is lovely - dont miss the little capel on the top floor next to the little garden

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Walk on Walkway Above Ancient Village Ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

When we visited, there was no greeters or staffs at all so we just walked in & took pictures above the ancient ruins. We didn't go to the roof nor watched the video but it was still a worthwhile stop ancient Nazareth was made accessible to us.

It was a close walk from the churches & we found it by accident. Like the rest of Nazareth & other holy sites, not every place is advertised or published widely & this really was a "hidden jewel."

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIMDN, Gérant at Centre International Marie de Nazareth, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are sorry to have miss you when you came. Usually there is always somebody to welcome you at the reception just behind the doors. Actually, we prefer to leave the excavations free for the vistors but all the leaflets, in eight languages, are available at the entrance to explain you what you can find in the Center : excavation, multimedia show, gardens on the roof terraces, chapel.....
We are pleased you find the Center as a jewel. Thanks for your comment. It can help us to make it more visible !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A must see when traveling to NAzareth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Beautifull place telling the story of Mary mother of Jesus. The volunteers are very welcoming and every thing looks super fine... Do not miss the amayzing state of the art multimedia show.
A true must see while in Nazareth.
The multimedia show takes about an hour and consider another 30-60 min at list to spend there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centre International Marie de Nazareth also viewed

 

Been to Centre International Marie de Nazareth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centre International Marie de Nazareth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.