We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al-Mutran Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Al-Mutran Guest House to your Saves list
Al-Mutran Guest House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   The Old City, Bishop Square | POB 2654, Nazareth 16100, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights, with a group. Three of us shared a room with no problem. The bathroom was clean, the shower was great (others have mentioned that it was small) but I am a small person so had no problem there. The whole place is lovely. Potted plants are eveyrhwere, adding a colorful touch and a homey feel. Breakfast was delicious and the owners are generous and gracious hosts who make you feel welcome from the start. The location is also good, allowing you to walk to many local sites. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and I would recommend this to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    63
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
69
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Al-Mutran was the most expensive guest house we stayed in during our two weeks in Israel. The price was by no means outrageous. It's just that Nazareth is a tourist trap town, and everything is overpriced.

The building is beautiful. It must be lovely to sit outside in the communal area on a hot day with a cold drink, but I wouldn't know. The day we were there, it was freezing and rained non-stop. When we were in the guest house, we were confined to our room, as that was the only bit that was heated.

The room was small and basic. We're not large people, but the bathroom felt cramped. There was a soap dispenser in the shower, the kind you find in community gyms. I didn't mind (we brought our own), but it was a bit cheap for a three-star guest house.

The bed was comfortable, but we didn't like the fleece sheets/pillowcases. They kept us warm, but the synthetic fabric didn't feel nice on the skin.

Emil, the host, was lovely. He greeted us with coffee and made a delicious breakfast in the morning.

Overall, the guest house isn't bad, but the communal areas are nicer than the rooms, which are a bit basic for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed at Al Mutran twice and it was perfect each time! It is easy to find, the building is absolutely stunning and unique, and the rooms keep the beauty and character of the old building, but with the comfort of a modern hotel. Everyone working there is extremely helpful and pleasant, and the breakfast was really delicious too. I have stayed in a lot of guesthouses and hotels, around the country and in the world in general, and Al Mutran is definitely one of my favourites! And the fact that it was as good the second time I stayed there says a lot about the consistency of the quality of the place. I would DEFINITELY recommend staying at Al Mutran if you would be in Nazareth, and would even recommend a trip to Nazareth just to stay there (and ask them for their great recommendations of the best places to eat and what to see).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed for 2 days just before the new year (30-31 December, 2011). The location is very good, really close to the Greek church and about 10 minutes walk from the new Basilica and market. Breakfast is basic but pretty delicious. The host Emil is very friendly and useful. The hostel has a unique atmosphere, old Arabic house, with travellers coming in from all around the world. There are also common areas with tables, internet computer and hot drinks. The hostel has its own private parking which is quite useful.

Rooms - beware, there is no TV in the room (or elsewhere)! The shower (especially the sink) are really small. I think the rooms could use some extra furniture (a TV, another chair, more electrical sockets).

Price is reasonable, and I would recommend the hostel to unspoiled travellers.

Room Tip: Some rooms dont have a window.. so you should mention this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Was good weekend there ...i liked the location ,because it was close to the center of the city .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We only spent one night in Nazareth whilst traveling around Israel but what an amazing place to stay. The rooms are a good size, simply decorated with basic shared facilities, but this just adds to the charm of the place. The guest house excellently positioned in the Old City, right near the Greek Orthodox church and a number of restaurants. The reception and communal balconies/gardens were a beautiful place to relax before heading out. The owner, Emile, has fantastic local knowledge and makes the most amazing coffee. If you are planning a trip to Nazareth this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The location is great - you can walk to everything and there's parking in front. But our room wasn't much to look at, and the bathroom was very small (the tiniest sink I've ever seen!) The breakfast paled compared to the lavish breakfasts at other guest houses in Israel. That said, the manager, Emile, couldn't have been more accommodating and made up for what the hotel lacked in luxury.

Room Tip: Look at a photo of the bathroom, if possible, to make sure it's big enough for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al-Mutran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Mutran Guest House

Address: The Old City, Bishop Square | POB 2654, Nazareth 16100, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Al-Mutran Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Mutran guest house is a restored 200-year-old Arab mansion in the old city of Nazareth located in the Bishop Square. It offers a boutique-style atmosphere that is suitable for families, couples and individual travelers. The guest house is relaxed and cosy, the staff are welcoming and the rooms are elegant, offering panoramic views over the old city. All rooms have A/C. Free WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Al-Mutran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al-Mutran Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.